DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims1-20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 7 in substance that "The combination of Chen and Ingale fails to teach or suggest a first network device adding a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface through a first packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device. The Office action contends that these claimed elements can be found in the description in Chen regarding encapsulating service data into a non- access stratum data packet at [0033]- [0041] and FIG. 4. In support of its allegations, the Office action expressly construes "Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, [and] a Zigbee protocol" as described in Chen at [0033] as "a form of data radio bearer."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches a procedure of signaling interaction with the network where encapsulates the plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment, which examiner is construing that adding plurality of service data in different containers over a radio channel in the radio protocol eg, Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol etc. Chen further teaches the first network device 5 can encapsulate the plurality of service data by including (adding when encapsulation) the terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments which can be identified based on the protocol as data radio bearer (DRB) identifier and network device can also determine the number of service data from the terminal equipment or identify the data based on a predetermined time duration length, e.g., a time duration sliding window, etc., and obtains a plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a in the range of the time duration sliding window. The claim do not recite any details of why adding a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface through a first packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. Claim 1 is broadly recited that one of ordinary skill in the art will not understand why adding information ((DRB) identifier) is a novel. To advance prosecution examiner request to recite specifics from the instant specification as per fig. 11 However, claim 1 merely recites …adding by a first network device… a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded…
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 7 in substance that "Chen, however, merely discusses that a first network device (the alleged "first network device") encapsulates (the supposed "adding") a plurality of service data transmitted from a terminal equipment respectively at different moments of time into a non-access stratum (NAS) data packet (the purported "data packet") at [0035]. Nowhere does Chen ever hint at a PDAP entity or a DRB identifier, never mind a first network device adding a DRB identifier through a PDAP entity above a PDCP laver of the first network device. At most, Chen mentions that a non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer at [0035], but at no point adds any DRB identifier through NAS for instance. Chen expressly defines this protocol as a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, or a 3GPP based radio communication protocol at [0033]. Even then, the NAS cannot be equated to the PDAP entity above the PDCP layer, nor can any of the Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, or a 3GPP-based radio communication protocol can be equated to the data radio bearer… There is no contemplation in Chen of a PDAP entity or a DRB identifier, let alone adding a DRB identifier into a data packet through any PDAP entity above a PDCP layer. “
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches in [0035] that procedure of signaling interaction with the network side is required for the non-access stratum data packet and specifically teaches that the non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer. Chen further teaches the application operating on the terminal equipment 1a, 1b or 1c is specific, communicates respectively with a specific application server as discussed in Table 1 the first network device 5 obtains service data A1, service data B1 and service data C1, the first network device 5 can encapsulate the plurality of service data by including only the terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments based on the protocol identifier and extracting data packets as in step S42 a non-access stratum data packet signaling interaction with the network side to communicate with the specific application server. However, claim 1 merely recites …a first packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Chen hereafter) (US 20120218965 A1) in view of Ingale et al. (Ingale hereafter) (US 20150208235 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Chen teaches, A method, comprising:
adding (encapsulates the plurality of service data), by a first network device (first network device 5), through a first packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device (non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer.), a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded ([0033] encapsulated respectively in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, …e.g., a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, a 3GPP based radio communication protocol, ) (Chen; [0033-0042] encapsulated respectively in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, in the radio protocol, that is, the protocol corresponding to the terminal equipment 1a, e.g., a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, a 3GPP based radio communication protocol, …in the step S42, the first network device 5 encapsulates the plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a respectively at different moments of time into a non-access stratum data packet. The non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer. [0038] the first network device 5 receives a plurality of service data from the terminal equipments [0039] i) The relevant identification information includes only terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments transmitting the respective service data. [0040] The terminal equipment identifier is an identifier to identify uniquely a terminal equipment [0041] Then in the step S42, the first network device 5 a encapsulates the plurality of service data from the terminal equipment [0048] the first network device 5 encapsulates all the identifiers 1a, 1b and 1c of the terminal equipments, the plurality of service data and the server identifiers 3a, 3b and 3c of the destination servers corresponding to the respective service data correspondingly into a non-access stratum data packet.) (See Fig. 4); and
cause, by the first network device, a second PDAP entity ([0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network …further transmits NAS signaling) of a second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated (servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response) with the data packet according to the DRB identifier (upon successful authentication) (Chen; [0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network,…the first network device 5 further transmits NAS signaling to the core network (including the servers 3a, 3b and 3c) for authentication, and the servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response signaling to the first network device 5 upon successful authentication)
{Examiner is construing that Bluetooth, Zigbee, infrared can be considered a form of data radio bearer which are encapsulated}
Chen fails to explicitly teach, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ingale teaches, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface (Ingale; [0065] The method includes providing assistance information over the X2 interface related to DRB-ID and PDCP COUNT associated with DRB handled by the SeNB 106 for both uplink and downlink DRBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ingale in order to detect intruder attack (Ingale; [0093]).
Regarding claim 7 Chen teaches, A method, comprising:
at least one processor (Chen; Fig.7) configured to:
add (encapsulates the plurality of service data), by a first network device (first network device 5), through a first packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device (non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer.), a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded ([0033] encapsulated respectively in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, …e.g., a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, a 3GPP based radio communication protocol, ) (Chen; [0033-0042] encapsulated respectively in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, in the radio protocol, that is, the protocol corresponding to the terminal equipment 1a, e.g., a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, a 3GPP based radio communication protocol, …in the step S42, the first network device 5 encapsulates the plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a respectively at different moments of time into a non-access stratum data packet. The non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer. [0038] the first network device 5 receives a plurality of service data from the terminal equipments [0039] i) The relevant identification information includes only terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments transmitting the respective service data. [0040] The terminal equipment identifier is an identifier to identify uniquely a terminal equipment [0041] Then in the step S42, the first network device 5 a encapsulates the plurality of service data from the terminal equipment [0048] the first network device 5 encapsulates all the identifiers 1a, 1b and 1c of the terminal equipments, the plurality of service data and the server identifiers 3a, 3b and 3c of the destination servers corresponding to the respective service data correspondingly into a non-access stratum data packet.) (See Fig. 4); and
cause, by the first network device, a second PDAP entity ([0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network …further transmits NAS signaling) of a second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated (servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response) with the data packet according to the DRB identifier (upon successful authentication) (Chen; [0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network,…the first network device 5 further transmits NAS signaling to the core network (including the servers 3a, 3b and 3c) for authentication, and the servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response signaling to the first network device 5 upon successful authentication)
{Examiner is construing that Bluetooth, Zigbee, infrared can be considered a form of data radio bearer which are encapsulated}
Chen fails to explicitly teach, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ingale teaches, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface (Ingale; [0065] The method includes providing assistance information over the X2 interface related to DRB-ID and PDCP COUNT associated with DRB handled by the SeNB 106 for both uplink and downlink DRBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ingale in order to detect intruder attack (Ingale; [0093]).
Regarding claim 12 Chen teaches, A method, comprising:
matching, by a second packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity ([0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network …further transmits NAS signaling) of a second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated (transmits NAS response) with the data packet according to a DRB (upon successful authentication) (Chen; [0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network …the first network device 5 further transmits NAS signaling to the core network (including the servers 3a, 3b and 3c) for authentication, and the servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response signaling to the first network device 5 upon successful authentication)
wherein the DRB is added ([0077]encapsulates the plurality of service data in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, in the radio protocol, that is, the protocol corresponding to the terminal equipment), by a first network device (first network device 5), through a first PDAP entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device (non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer.), to the data packet (Chen; [0033-0042] step S41, the first network device 5 obtains a plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a, … encapsulated respectively in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, in the radio protocol, that is, the protocol corresponding to the terminal equipment 1a, e.g., a Bluetooth protocol, an infrared protocol, a Zigbee protocol, a 3GPP based radio communication protocol, ..in the step S42, the first network device 5 encapsulates the plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a respectively at different moments of time into a non-access stratum data packet. The non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer. [0038] the first network device 5 receives a plurality of service data from the terminal equipments [0039] i) The relevant identification information includes only terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments transmitting the respective service data. [0040] The terminal equipment identifier is an identifier to identify uniquely a terminal equipment [0041] Then in the step S42, the first network device 5 a encapsulates the plurality of service data from the terminal equipment [0048] the first network device 5 encapsulates all the identifiers 1a, 1b and 1c of the terminal equipments, the plurality of service data and the server identifiers 3a, 3b and 3c of the destination servers corresponding to the respective service data correspondingly into a non-access stratum data packet); and
{Examiner is construing that Bluetooth, Zigbee, infrared can be considered a form of data radio bearer which are encapsulated}
Chen fails to explicitly teach, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ingale teaches, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface (Ingale; [0065] The method includes providing assistance information over the X2 interface related to DRB-ID and PDCP COUNT associated with DRB handled by the SeNB 106 for both uplink and downlink DRBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ingale in order to detect intruder attack (Ingale; [0093]).
Regarding claim 17 Chen teaches, A method, comprising:
at least one processor(Chen; Fig.7) configured to match, by a second packet data association protocol (PDAP) entity ([0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network …further transmits NAS signaling) of a second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated ( further transmits NAS response) with the data packet according to a DRB (upon successful authentication) (Chen; [0096] After the first network device 5 is synchronized with the network… the first network device 5 further transmits NAS signaling to the core network (including the servers 3a, 3b and 3c) for authentication, and the servers 3a, 3b and 3c further transmits NAS response signaling to the first network device 5 upon successful authentication)
wherein the DRB is added ([0077]encapsulates the plurality of service data in different containers, etc., over a radio channel, in the radio protocol, that is, the protocol corresponding to the terminal equipment), by a first network device (first network device 5), through a first PDAP entity above a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the first network device (non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer.), to the data packet (Chen; [0035-0042] in the step S42, the first network device 5 encapsulates the plurality of service data transmitted from the terminal equipment 1a respectively at different moments of time into a non-access stratum data packet. The non-access stratum (NAS) is a protocol above the PDCP layer. [0038] the first network device 5 receives a plurality of service data from the terminal equipments [0039] i) The relevant identification information includes only terminal equipment identifiers of the terminal equipments transmitting the respective service data. [0040] The terminal equipment identifier is an identifier to identify uniquely a terminal equipment [0041] Then in the step S42, the first network device 5 a encapsulates the plurality of service data from the terminal equipment [0048] the first network device 5 encapsulates all the identifiers 1a, 1b and 1c of the terminal equipments, the plurality of service data and the server identifiers 3a, 3b and 3c of the destination servers corresponding to the respective service data correspondingly into a non-access stratum data packet); and
{Examiner is construing that Bluetooth, Zigbee, infrared can be considered a form of data radio bearer which are encapsulated}
Chen fails to explicitly teach, a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ingale teaches a data radio bearer (DRB) identifier into a data packet forwarded by an Xn interface (Ingale; [0065] The method includes providing assistance information over the X2 interface related to DRB-ID and PDCP COUNT associated with DRB handled by the SeNB 106 for both uplink and downlink DRBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ingale in order to detect intruder attack (Ingale; [0093]).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 14, and 19, Chen-Ingale teaches, the claims 1, 7, 12 and 17,
Chen fails to explicitly teach, further comprising performing, by the first network device, data forwarding to the second network device based on the Xn interface
However, in the same field of endeavor Ingale teaches, further comprising performing, by the first network device, data forwarding to the second network device based on the Xn interface (Ingale; 0027] Provided herein is a second evolved NodeB (eNB) connected to a wireless communication network, wherein the second eNB is connected to at least one first evolved NodeB (eNB) by an X2 interface) (See fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ingale in order to detect intruder attack (Ingale; [0093]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen- Ingale as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Uemura et al. (Uemura hereafter) (US 20160353507 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16 Chen-Ingale teaches, The claims 1 and 12,
Chen-Ingale fails to explicitly teach, wherein: the first network device includes a primary base station comprising the first PDCP entity, the second network device is a secondary base station comprising the second PDCP entity, and the Xn interface is between the first network device and the second network device
However, in the same field of endeavor Uemura teaches, wherein: the first network device includes a primary base station comprising the first PDCP entity, the second network device is a secondary base station comprising the second PDCP entity, and the Xn interface is between the first network device and the second network device (Uemura; [0169] In FIG. 3, [0170] in a case where DRB #1 to DRB #3 are configured for the terminal device 1 in order to receive a data service that is provided through the cell in the SCG, the base station apparatus2 can configure PDCP #1-1, RLC #1-1, DRB-Id #1 and LCH-Id #1 that correspond to DRB #1, can configure PDCP #1-2, RLC #1-2, DRB-Id #2 and LCH-Id #2 that correspond to DRB #2, and can configure PDCP #1-3, RLC #1-3, DRB-Id #3 and LCH-Id #3 that correspond to DRB #3) (See fig. 6)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen-Ingale to include the above recited limitations as taught by Uemura in order to receive a data service (Uemura; [0169]).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Ingale as applied to claims 1, and 7, above, and further in view of Shi et al. (Shi hereafter) (US 20190208380 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 8 Chen-Ingale teaches, The claims 1 and 7,
Chen-Ingale fails to explicitly teach, further comprising transmitting, by the first network device to a core network, an indication message to indicate a splitting of a protocol data unit (PDU) session, in response to receiving a message from the second network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shi teaches, transmitting, by the first network device to a core network, an indication message to indicate a splitting of a protocol data unit (PDU) session, in response to receiving a message from the second network device (Shi; [0224] …the UE is handed over from the source LTE eNB that is performing data split with the 5G base station to the target LTE eNB, to ensure data split continuity, the target LTE eNB determines to add the 5G base station to continue performing data split. The target LTE eNB sends, to the MME, the path switch request message that carries the first indication. After receiving the path switch request message that carries the first indication, the MME adds the first indication to the bearer modification request message or the create session request message and sends the bearer modification request message or the create session request message to the gateway in the LTE core network, so that the gateway in the LTE core network completes, according to the first indication, charging on the service that is carried by the UE and that is communicated by using the 5G air interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen-Ingale to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shi in order to ensure data split continuity (Shi; [0224]).
Claims 4, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Ingale as applied to claims 1, 7, 12 and 17, above, and further in view of Yang et al. (Yang hereafter) (US 20120289220 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 15, and 20 Chen-Ingale teaches, The claims 1, 7, 12, and 17,
Chen-Ingale fails to explicitly teach, further comprising transmitting, by the first network device, the data packet from a quality of service (QoS) flow via the Xn interface based on the DRB identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang teaches, further comprising transmitting, by the first network device, the data packet from a quality of service (QoS) flow via the Xn interface based on the DRB identifier (Yang; [0111]… specific bearer corresponding to specific QoS parameter has been setup, base station and RN transmit S1-AP messages is and X2-AP messages which need to be transmitted on Un interface in corresponding RN DRB, and the RN DRB has been activated integrity protection. A RN radio bearer could transmit S1-AP messages and X2-AP messages or transmit one of them barely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen-Ingale to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yang in order to ensure integrity protection (Yang; [0113]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Ingale as applied to claims 1, and 7 above, and further in view of Futaki et al. (Futaki hereafter) (US 20180352468 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 11 Chen-Ingale teaches, The claims 1 and 7,
Chen-Ingale fails to explicitly teach, wherein causing the second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated with the data packet according to the DRB identifier further comprises causing a second PDCP entity of the second network device to match each data packet of a plurality of data packets associated with the DRB.
However, in the same field of endeavor Futaki teaches, wherein causing the second network device to match the data packet with a DRB associated with the data packet according to the DRB identifier further comprises causing a second PDCP entity of the second network device to match each data packet of a plurality of data packets associated with the DRB (Futaki; [0058] The integrated PDCP layer 602 includes one or more PDCP entities. Each PDCP entity transports data of one radio bearer. Each PDCP entity is associated with either the user plane or the control plane depending on which radio bearer (i.e., a data radio bearer (DRB) or a signalling radio bearer (SRB)) it transports data from. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the integrated PDCP layer 602 includes three PDCP entities 6021, 6022, and 6023 that correspond to three data radio bearers DRB #1,
DRB #2, and DRB #3, respectively.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen-Ingale to include the above recited limitations as taught by Futaki in order to integrates the LTE lower layers and the New 5G lower layers (Futaki; [0056]).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Ingale as applied to claims 12 and 17, above, and further in view of Ohara et al. (Ohara hereafter) (US 20180176839 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 18 Chen-Ingale teaches the claim 12 and 17,
Chen-Ingale fails to explicitly teach, further comprising determining, by a second PDCP entity of the second network device, that a quality of service (QoS) flow is completed according to a QoS flow identifier received in an end marker from the first network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohara teaches, further comprising determining, by a second PDCP entity of the second network device, that a quality of service (QoS) flow is completed according to a QoS flow identifier received in an end marker from the first network device (Ohara; [0212] In step ST965, the T-MeNB may provide an end marker to the data and forward the data to the SeNB. This allows the SeNB to release the forwarding buffer at economical timing. [0213] As to the end marker, whether to provide an end marker may be determined in accordance with a bearer type or QoS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chen-Ingale to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ohara in order to inform about the completion of the forwarding process (Ohara; [0211]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416