DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 9, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 9, and 16 in line 2,
“from an open orientation and to a closed orientation” or
“[[from]] between an open orientation and a closed orientation.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, 7, and 14, the term “user specific ionization profile” is interpreted under BRI as merely any user entered setting that adjusts the operation/function of the air ionizer. Support appears to be found in the specification at paragraph [0025].
Regarding claim 6, the claim language “a housing defining a plurality of modular mounting elements” is interpreted under BRI as merely a housing with mounting holes/fixtures for attachment. Support appears to be illustrated in Fig. 1 a “mounting flange.”
Regarding the language recited in the preamble “an aircraft suite” recited in claim 7 and “an aircraft suite air quality control system” recited in claim 14, the language recited in the preamble, related to an aircraft, does not further limit the structure recited in the body of the claims and is not considered necessary to give live, meaning, and vitality to the claim. Under BRI the claims would read on any ionizer with user-specified controls. The body of the claims do not require aircraft integration. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mowris (US 20230160586 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 14, Mowris discloses a controller for an ionizer related to air treatment with examples including applications to improve indoor air quality in building, automobiles, airplanes, vehicles, appliance systems, or enclosed heating, ventilation, air conditioning (HVAC) systems (Abstract; [0002]). Claims 1, 7, and 14 are listed below with citations from the prior art to Mowris in paratheses.
Claim 1. An air ionizer (ionizer 301, 301a-h; Figs. 1-7, 11-12 illustrate various embodiments of an ionizer) comprising: an electrode (322, 324); a power supply (transformer 310; [0090]-[0091], [0094] “power supply or transformer”; Fig. 3); a control unit (microprocessor 312, thermostat 396, Air Quality Monitor (AQM) system 370; [0023]–[0024], [0038], [0048], [0055], [0086]-[0091]; Figs. 12-13) configured to receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile ([0020]-[0024], [0046]-[0048] [0088], [0095]).
Claim 7. An aircraft suite comprising an air ionizer (ionizer 301, 301a-h; Figs. 1-7, 11-12 illustrate various embodiments of an ionizer) comprising an electrode (322, 324); a power supply (transformer 310; [0090]-[0091], [0094] “power supply or transformer”; Fig. 3); a control unit (microprocessor 312, thermostat 396, Air Quality Monitor (AQM) system 370; [0023]–[0024], [0038], [0048], [0055], [0086]-[0091]; Figs. 12-13) configured to receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile ([0020]-[0024], [0046]-[0048] [0088], [0095]).
Claim 14. An aircraft suite air quality control system comprising: an air ionizer (ionizer 301, 301a-h; Figs. 1-7, 11-12 illustrate various embodiments of an ionizer) comprising: an electrode (322, 324); a power supply (transformer 310; [0090]-[0091], [0094] “power supply or transformer”; Fig. 3); a control unit (microprocessor 312, thermostat 396, Air Quality Monitor (AQM) system 370; [0023]–[0024], [0038], [0048], [0055], [0086]-[0091]; Figs. 12-13) configured to receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile ([0020]-[0024], [0046]-[0048] [0088], [0095]).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Mowris discloses the air ionizer (301h illustrated in Fig. 11) further comprises a second electrode (322, 324); and the electrode and second electrode are disposed in separate aircraft suites. The phrase “the electrode and second electrode are disposed in separate aircraft suites” is interpreted as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114. Nonetheless, Mowris teaches applications for the air ionizer to improve air quality in airplanes ([0002]).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galbreath (US 10786818 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 14, Galbreath discloses an air ionizer (ionization device 10; Figs 1-9, 11; col. 3, ll. 31-35) comprising an electrode (65; col. 6, ll.15-33 ); a power supply (col. 5, l. 63-col. 6, l. 14); a control unit (col. 5, ll. 32-35; col. 6, ll. 15-21) configured to receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile (“existing environmental control system (ECS)” ).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Galbreath discloses a housing defining a plurality of modular mounting elements (col. 3, ll. 45-58).
Claim(s) 7, 12, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anno (US 20040184975).
Regarding claims 7, 12, 14 and 19, Anno discloses an air ionizer (air cleaning device A including a negative ion generator or ozone generator 21 or 21A; Fig. 3; Abstract, [0077]) comprising an electrode (electrode 23; Fig. 2; [0058]); a power supply (Abstract; [0002], [0012]-[0013], [0053]); a control unit (remote controller 52; Fig. 27; [0141])-[0142], [0161]-[0162] ) configured to receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile ([0141])-[0142], [0161]-[0162]) and further comprising a reading lamp assembly, wherein the electrode is disposed within the reading lamp assembly (Figs. 25-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mowris in view of Durfee (US 20180133356 A1).
For claims 2, 8, ad 15, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Mowris illustrates schematics for embodiments of ionizer 301, 301a-h (Fig. 1-7, 11) with large dashed lines and does not explicitly state “comprising an electrode enclosure.” Durfee does disclose an electrode enclosure (receptacle 3; Figs. 1-2, 4-6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to utilize the electrode enclosure of Durfee with the ionizer of Mowris to provide protection of the electrical components with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claims 4, 10, and 17, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Durfee further discloses a non-conductive mesh disposed around the electrode (vents 21; Figs. 1-5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include the non-conductive mesh, i.e. vent, of Durfee with the ionizer of Mowris to allow ions to move freely, which Durfee teaches ([0037]). NOTE: The word around is interpreted under BRI as “near” because the language in the claim does not recite a spatial relationship.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mowris and Durfee in view of Kim (US 20180066867 A1).
For claims 3, 9, and 16, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above and does not specifically disclose wherein the electrode enclosure comprises a swivel mechanism to switch the enclosure from an open orientation and a closed orientation. Kim discloses a swivel mechanism (vanes 22 and 24 shown in an open position in Fig. 4) which are rotatably coupled to the enclosure ([0029], [0033]; Figs. 1, 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to use the swivel mechanism of Kim with the ionizer disclosed from the combined teaching of Mowris and Durfee to close the enclosure to prevent exposure of the enclosure when not in use.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mowris in view of Kim (US 20180066867 A1).
For claims 5, 11, and 18, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Mowris does not specifically state a user interface configured to adjust the user specific ionization profile. Kim teaches a user may operate a management system comprising a plurality of ionizers in a desired mode ([0033]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include the user interface of Kim with the ionizer of Mowris for a user to select the desired mode for user selected outcomes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/401090 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed to an air ionizer with minor differences between the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims 1, 7, and 14 recite: Claim 1. An air ionizer comprising: an electrode; a power supply; a control unit configured to: receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile.
Claim 7. An aircraft suite comprising: an air ionizer comprising: an electrode; a power supply; a control unit configured to: receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile. Claim 14. An aircraft suite air quality control system comprising: an air ionizer comprising: an electrode; a power supply; a control unit configured to: receive a user specific ionization profile; and actuate the electrode to provide the user specific ionization profile.
Claim 1 in the copending application recites: Claim 1. A smart air ionizer, comprising: a power circuit; a high voltage circuit; an electrode coupled to the high voltage circuit, the electrode being exposed to an airflow to ionize the air in the airflow; and a controller circuit coupled to the power circuit and the high voltage circuit, the controller circuit including a controller configured to control a voltage output of the high voltage circuit to the electrode based on a feedback received from the high voltage circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. However, Applicant should consider the references below in response to this Office Action:
US 20130258543 A1: ionizer 10; remote controller 40 controls the ionizer 10; housing 22; electrodes 44a-c; high voltage source; Figs. 1-4.
US 20130299717 A1: Figs. 2, 4, 6, 10, 11A-C; body 40 forming the ion generator 30; casing 42; electrodes 44; power-supply unit 50.
US 10974256 B1; US 11141740 B2; US 11491496 B1: cavity 20 of the ionization device 10 contains an ion generator 72 and circuit board 74; power connector 50; light emitting diode (LED) 54; ions emitted from one brush 66 or electrode 65.
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
April 2, 2026
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776