DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1 and 24 contain reference numerals without any lead-line. Fig 1 shows numeral “17” without a lead-line, while fig 24 shows numeral “16” without a lead-line.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “formed as a multiple layers”, Examiner suggests removing “a”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "each said telescopic leg" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that claim 7 introduces telescopic legs. Examiner notes that an amendment with proper antecedent basis would be required if this claim remains dependent from claim 3, or the dependency should change to claim 7. Examiner assumes that claim 8 was meant to be dependent from claim 7, and is treated such in prosecution below.
Claim 9 recites “wherein front and rear shells are formed…”. Examiner notes that it is unclear and indefinite as to what structure these shells are part of, or associated with. It appears that this claim should be dependent from claim 2, where front and rear shells are already set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duncan (US 534,389).
Re Clm 13: Duncan discloses a portable security fence comprising: a plurality of support posts (1, plural posts disclosed in line 63) spaced at predetermined distances (on either end of panel), each said support post including a stabilizing apparatus (2) to maintain the support post in a vertical orientation; a vertically oriented panel (horizontal rails with vertical cross-members constitute a panel, as described) positioned between each pair of support posts (lines 61-64) , each said panel being received by (attached to) the corresponding support posts; and a securement device (bolts 3 with nuts 4) corresponding to each said support post to draw each panel into engagement with the adjacent support post (at least in line 49).
Re Clm 16: Duncan discloses wherein said stabilizing apparatus is formed as an elongated base member (bottom base) oriented with said support post being substantially in the center thereof (fig 1), said base member including a web member (diagonal support) extending upward from said base member on opposing sides of said support post and being secured to the corresponding side of said support post (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 534,389).
Clm 1: Duncan discloses a bullet resistant security fence (as shown, the fence of Duncan is capable of resisting a bullet, i.e. bullet hitting a rail or post would at least resist or slow down the bullet), comprising: a plurality of support posts (1), said support posts being spaced apart a predetermined distance (on either end of panel), each said support post having a stabilizing apparatus (2) operable to keep the support post in an upright orientation; a plurality of formed panels (including horizontal and vertical members) oriented in a vertical manner between adjacent support posts to define a bullet resistant portion of said security fence, each said panel having a length dimension corresponding to said predetermined distance so that said panels can extend between said adjacent support posts (as disclosed); and a securement device (at least bolts 3 with nuts 4) corresponding to each said intermediate support post to integrate adjacent panels on each opposing side into said intermediate support post.
Duncan discloses multiple posts, but fails to explicitly disclose multiple end support posts and multiple intermediate support posts between said end support posts. Examiner notes that fences are known to have any number of posts, as would be required by the length of fence needed. Providing additional posts to have multiple end support posts and multiple intermediate support posts between said end support posts would have an obvious modification with a reasonable expectation of success to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the purpose of strengthening a length of a fence.
Re Clm 5: Duncan as modified above discloses wherein said stabilizing apparatus is formed as an elongated base member (bottom base) oriented with said support post being substantially in the center thereof (fig 1), said base member including a web member (diagonal support) extending upward from said base member on opposing sides of said support post and being secured to the corresponding side of said support post (fig 1).
Re Clm 6: Duncan as modified above discloses said web member and said support post are integral parts of said stabilizing apparatus (see fig).
Claims 2-4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 534,389) in view of Melin (US 2007/0028758).
Re Clms 2-4 and 14-15: Duncan fails to disclose wherein each said panel includes a front shell, a rear shell and a ballistic core in a cavity between said front and rear shells, said ballistic core is formed as a multiple layers of ballistic material, wherein said ballistic core is formed from multiple layers of ballistic material pressed into a sheet.
Melin teaches (figs 2 and 5a-5f) a bullet resistant ballistic panel (201) with a front shell and a rear shell (203 and 207) having a ballistic core (205 with 209) in a cavity between said front and rear shells and formed as multiple layers of ballistic material pressed into a sheet (inner layers 205 and 209 being compressed). This is taught for the purpose of enveloping a specific projectile striking the panel in a predetermined configuration.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the panel of Duncan to be equipped with a front shell, a rear shell and a ballistic core in a cavity between said front and rear shells, said ballistic core is formed as a multiple layers of ballistic material, wherein said ballistic core is formed from multiple layers of ballistic material pressed into a sheet, as taught by Melin with reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of enveloping a specific projectile striking the panel in a predetermined configuration.
Claims 10-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 534,389) in view of EP 0381289, hereafter ‘389.
Re Clms 10-12 and 18: Duncan fails to disclose at least one anti-scaling device secured to an upper edge of each said panel, wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a strip of saw-tooth blades secured to said upper edge of each said panel / wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a formed deflector member.
‘389 teaches the well-known use of an anti-scaling device (see figs 3-6, top of rail 1) wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a strip of saw-tooth blades secured to said upper edge of each said panel / wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a formed deflector member. Examiner notes that the anti-scale device is both a strip of saw-tooth blades secured to said upper edge and a formed deflector member. This is taught for the purpose of preventing unwanted movement over the fence or prevent birds from landing on the top of the fence.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the system of Duncan with at least one anti-scaling device secured to an upper edge of each said panel, wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a strip of saw-tooth blades secured to said upper edge of each said panel / wherein said at least one anti-scaling device is a formed deflector member, as taught by ‘389 with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing unwanted movement over the fence or prevent birds from landing on the top of the fence.
Claims 7, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 534,389) in view of Westfahl (US 10337205).
Re Clms 7, 8, and 17: Duncan fails to disclose wherein said stabilizing apparatus is formed with a pair of adjustable length telescopic legs pivotally connected, respectively, to opposing sides of said support post (clm 7); wherein each said telescopic leg is connected to a stabilizing arm pivotally attached to the corresponding side of said support post (clm 8); and wherein said stabilizing apparatus is formed with a pair of adjustable length telescopic legs pivotally connected, respectively, to opposing sides of said support post.
Westfahl teaches the use of a fence system with a stabilizing apparatus (fig 3) formed with a pair of adjustable length telescopic legs (top and bottom legs) pivotally connected, respectively, to opposing sides of said support post (330, 335); wherein each said telescopic leg is connected to a stabilizing arm (320)pivotally attached to the corresponding side of said support post (see fig 3). This is taught for the purpose to “accommodate grades and still provide upright posts and associated panels” (top col 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the stabilizing apparatus of Duncan to be formed with a pair of adjustable length telescopic legs pivotally connected, respectively, to opposing sides of said support post; wherein each said telescopic leg is connected to a stabilizing arm pivotally attached to the corresponding side of said support post, as taught by Westfahl with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose to “accommodate grades and still provide upright posts and associated panels”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not anticipate all the limitations of independent claim 19.
The prior art does not provide any teaching, suggestion or motivation (TSM) to modify the prior art as such other than Applicant's own disclosure.
Examiner notes that the closest prior art references disclose a similar fence having posts, panel, a stabilizing apparatus, a securement device as claimed, but fail to disclose wherein each support post is mounted on a flat base member having a central set of tangs arranged for the support post to “fit between and to wrap around said tangs”.
There is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant’s invention.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the front and rear shells are formed from strips of aluminum welded together at seams with aluminum lath covering said seams.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678