OBJECTIONS
2. The specification is objected to because of the following informality: the continuation information must be updated to indicate the issue of the parent ‘640 application as US 11,926,866.
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
NON-PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) Claims 7-8 are indefinite because ‘the cleavage site’ in claim 7 lacks proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
B) Claim 9 is indefinite because ‘the 3’ oxygen atom’ lacks proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
C) Claim 10 is indefinite because ‘the blocking group’ lacks proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
8. Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walder et al. (US 2009/0325169).
Regarding independent claim 1, Walder discloses a blocked-cleavable primer for rhPCR comprising 5’-A-B-C-D-E-3’, wherein A is optional, B is complementary to a target, C is a discrimination domain, D is a cleavage domain comprising an RNA base which is cleavable by RNase H2, and E is a blocking domain.
Regarding claim 2, Walder discloses separation of the RNA base from the discrimination domain by one base position.
Regarding claim 3, Walder discloses that the RNA base is within the discrimination domain.
Regarding claim 4, Walder discloses that the RNA base is adjacent to the discrimination domain.
Regarding claim 5, Walder discloses that the cleavage domain is 1-3 RNA bases.
Regarding claim 6, Walder discloses that the cleavage domain comprises DNA, abasic residues, modified nucleosides, or modified phosphate internucleotide linkages.
Regarding claims 7-8, Walder discloses the use of internucleoside linkages that are resistant to nuclease cleavage, including phosphorothioate.
Regarding claim 9, Walder discloses substitution of an RNA residue with an amino, thiol, or methylene group.
Regarding claim 10, Walder discloses attachment of the blocking group to the 3’-terminal of the primer.
Regarding claim 12, Walder discloses overlap between the discrimination and cleavage domains.
See Figs. 18 and 27, and paragraphs 0027-0034 and 0116-0172.
The claimed primer cannot be distinguished from the primer of Walder.
12. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walder in view of Spier et al. (WO 2014/110528).
The teachings of Walder are discussed above.
Walder does not disclose a primer comprising at the 5’-end a tail extension not complementary to a target nucleic acid that has a region identical to a universal forward primer.
Spier discloses, for the purpose of facilitating sequencing by NGS, the use of blocked primers comprising at the 5’-end a tail extension not complementary to a target nucleic acid that has a region identical to a universal forward primer. See Fig. 8 and paragraph 0056.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the primer of Walder by adding a 5’-end tail extension not complementary to a target nucleic acid that has a region identical to a universal forward primer because Spier disclosed that such a 5’-end tail extension was useful in facilitating sequencing by NGS. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to make and use the claimed primer.
CONCLUSION
13. No claims are free of the prior art.
14. Behlke et al. (WO 2015/073931) is made of record as a reference of interest.
08/18/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681