DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 06/22/26 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 17-18 are currently pending. In light of the claim amendments, the previous 112, 102 and 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, a revised 102 rejection of the claims are detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Mizuno
Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuno (U.S. Patent No. 9,777,790). Mizuno is directed to a shock absorber. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Mizuno discloses a non-return valve (12) for a vibration damper [see Figs. 2, 3] comprising: a valve body (3) having at first control edge (20) and a second control edge (19) which are offset from one another in terms of height and a flow channel formed between the first and second control edges; a cover disc (28 next to 26), which covers the flow channel in a shut-off state of the non-return valve; a bypass disc (24) is arranged between the cover disc and the first and second control edges, wherein the bypass disc has a bypass channel (18) which forms a passage to the flow channel in the shut-off state of the non-return valve [see col. 3, lines 47-53 (constantly communicating” the chambers)], wherein the bypass disc is annular and the bypass channel is formed radially on the inside and/or radially on the outside of the bypass disc, and at least one spring element (bottom 28) lying against the cover disc, wherein the spring element elastically deforms the cover disc from the first control edge in such a way that the cover disc lies sealingly against the second control edge. See Fig. 2.
Claim 2: Mizuno discloses that the valve body includes an inwardly recessed bottom surface, from which the control edges rise. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 3: Mizuno discloses that the first control edge projects above the second control edge proceeding from the bottom surface, wherein the first control edge is formed radially on the inside or radially on the outside of the second control edge. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 4: Mizuno discloses that the valve body has at least one central through-opening (10, 11) for the fluid, wherein the control edges annularly encircle the through-opening. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 5: Mizuno discloses that the valve body has a recess in which the cover disc and the spring element are arranged, and the control edges (19, 20, 21) project into the recess. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 6: Mizuno discloses at least one insert element (30) is arranged in the recess and forms a counter-bearing for the spring element. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 7: Mizuno discloses that the valve body includes at least one first sealing region (at 19), which encircles the recess and is intended to provide sealing with respect to a mating piece (24). See Fig. 2 (or 21 and 30).
Claim 8: Mizuno discloses that the valve body includes at least one collar (19 or 21), which is arranged on a circumference of the valve body and at least partially extends in the circumferential direction. See Fig. 2.
Claim 9: Mizuno discloses that the valve body includes at least one elevation (21), in particular a support ridge, which is arranged between the control edges, wherein the elevation delimits a deformation travel of the cover disc. See Fig. 2.
Claim 10: Mizuno discloses that the elevation rises from the second control edge towards the first control edge, wherein the elevation extends below a reference line (R) which connects the highest points of the control edges. See Fig. 2.
Claim 11: Mizuno discloses that the valve body includes at least one extension (21), which extends along a centre axis (M) of the valve body and at the longitudinal end of which at least one second sealing region is formed. See Fig. 2.
Claim 12: Mizuno discloses that the spring element lies against a surface of the cover disc that is situated opposite the control edges, wherein the spring element introduces its spring force (FF) radially inwardly, radially outwardly and/or radially centrally into the cover disc. See Fig. 2.
Claim 13: Mizuno discloses that the spring element comprises a frustoconical spring, a barrel spring, a cylindrical spring and/or a plate spring. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 14: Mizuno discloses that the cover disc includes a flat or frustoconical form in the non-deformed state. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 17: Mizuno discloses a vibration damper [Fig. 1] comprising: a non-return valve of claim 1, wherein the non-return valve is arranged between at least two piston working chambers (2A, 2B) of the vibration damper and, during a compression stage and/or a rebound stage, fluidically connects the two piston working chambers to one another or shuts them off from one another. See Fig. 1.
Claim 18: Mizuno discloses a system for using a non-return valve of claim 1 comprising: an adjusting valve, at least one base valve, at least one rectifying valve arrangement and/or at least one valve flange (13), in combination with the non-return valve. See Fig. 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 17-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 July 21, 2026