DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 06/04/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a coaptation element” in claim 5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Basude et al. US 20200383782 A1, herein referred to as Basude, in view of Wei et al. WO 2016099650 A1, herein referred to as Wei.
Regarding claim 1, Basude discloses a sensing valve repair device (Fig 70; see annotated figure below) comprising: a pair of inner paddles (13,191,195/15,197,193); a pair of outer paddles (102/101) connected to the pair of inner paddles (Fig 34 shows connection via 176/177); a pair of clasps (12,192/14,194), each clasp having a fixed arm (see annotated Figure 70 below) attached to one of the pair of inner paddles (see annotated Fig 70 below), a movable arm (125/126), and a hinge portion (283) connecting the movable arm to the fixed arm (Fig 70); and a sensor ([0476]).
However, Basude does not explicitly disclose a pair of sensors wherein each sensor of the pair of sensors is attached to one or more of one the fixed arms.
Additionally, in the same field of invention, Wei discloses a similar sensing valve repair device (Fig 9a-b) comprising; inner (402) and outer paddles (18’), a pair of clasps (416), each clasp having a fixed arm (74’) attached to one of the pair of inner paddles. Wei teaches a pair of sensors wherein each sensor of the pair of sensors is attached to one or more of one the fixed arms of the pair of clasps and one of the pair of inner paddles ([0091]; Wei teaches attaching on each side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Basude incorporate a pair of sensors wherein each sensor of the pair of sensors is attached to one or more of one the fixed arms, as taught and suggested by Wei in order to aid in device placement (Wei [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the sensor is configured to sense one or more of pressure, capacitance, and inductance (Basude ([00483).
Regarding claim 3, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally wherein at least a portion of each sensor is disposed in a space between the movable arm and the fixed arm of one of the pair of clasps (Wei [0091]).
Regarding claim 4, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein at least a portion of each sensor is closer to the hinge portion than a free end of the movable arm of one of the pair of clasps (Wei Fig 9a; [0091).
Regarding claim 5, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches a coaptation element (this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a “spacer, coaption element, gap filler” or “spacer, plug, filler, foam, sheet, membrane”, see [0089] and [0096] of the instant application, and equivalents thereof; Basude Fig 30,70) attached to the pair of inner paddles.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basude, in view of Wei, and in further view of Charthad WO 2020210490 A1 et al., herein referred to as Charthad.
Regarding claim 6, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a transmitter configured to a transmit sensed data from at least one of the pair sensors to a receiver.
However, in the same field of invention, Charthad discloses a similar heart repair sensor ([0017] and [0022]). Further, Charthad teaches a transmitter (Fig 3, 334) configured to a transmit sensed data from at least one of the pair sensors to a receiver (Fig 3, 338; [0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Basude as modified by Wei and incorporate a transmitter configured to a transmit sensed data from at least one of the pair sensors to a receiver, as taught by Charthad, in order to allow analyzing of physiological data (Charthad [0127]).
Regarding claim 7, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose a ventricular pressure sensor disposed at a distal end of the device and an atrial pressure sensor disposed at a proximal end of the device.
However, in the same field of invention, Charthad discloses a similar heart repair sensor ([0017] and [0022]). Further, Charthad teaches a ventricular pressure sensor and an atrial pressure sensor (Charthad teaches measure both ventricular and atrial pressure changes [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Basude as modified by Wei and include a ventricular pressure sensor disposed at a distal end of the device and an atrial pressure sensor disposed at a proximal end of the device, as suggested by Charthad, as doing so would have yielded predictable results, namely provided providing sensing to both areas of the heart.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basude in view of Wei, and further in view of Metchik al. US 20190209297 A1, herein referred to as Metchik.
Regarding claim 8, Basude as modified by Wei discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the sensing valve repair device is configured for implantation within a mitral valve.
Metchik discloses a similar sensing valve repair device. Metchik teaches wherein the sensing valve repair device is configured for implantation within a mitral valve (Metchik Fig 14b [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Basude as modified by Wei to be configured for implantation within a mitral valve, as taught and suggested by Metchik, in order monitor leaflet condition in the mitral valve (Metchik [0091]).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774