DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments in the Amendment filed May 22, 2026 (herein “Amendment”) with respect to the rejection of claims 13–18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed towards non-statutory subject matter have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 13–18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed in the Amendment have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Zhang do not teach or suggest the claimed “adjusting parameters of the M image processing modules and the Y prompt modules based on the N prediction results and N reference results corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules,” because Wang’s training of it’s different image processing tasks is separate from Wang’s teachings of prompt tunings. These arguments are not persuasive because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “adjusting parameters of the M image processing modules and the Y prompt modules based on the N prediction results and N reference results corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules,” does not require such a limited interpretation that the training/updating happens simultaneously or “occurring together.” Rather, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation at issue is that the parameters of the M modules and the Y modules are adjusted (no specific reference to this adjustment being simultaneously) and that the adjustments are based on the prediction and reference results from the image processing modules, which, in the freezing of the whole model and using the training loss would have the basis of the prompt tuning be in the prediction and reference results of the training of the image processing module. Therefore, Wang does teach at least adjusting parameters of the M image processing modules and some basis of the adjusting of the Y prompt modules from the N prediction results and N reference results corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules. Zhang is relied upon for explicitly teaching adjustable parameters of the Y prompt module, which is disclosed on page 2588, section 3.4 of Zhang, and for which Applicant does not appear to contest from their remarks on page 8 that Zhang at best relates to adjusting the prompt parameters.
Therefore, while all of Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, they are not persuasive and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is herein maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., "Images Speak in Images: A Generalist Painter for In-Context Visual Learning," 2023 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR), Vancouver, BC, Canada, 2023, pp. 6830-6839, doi: 10.1109/CVPR52729.2023.00660 (herein “Wang”) in view of Zhang et al., "Instruct Me More! Random Prompting for Visual In-Context Learning," 2024 IEEE/CVF Winter Conference on Applications of Computer Vision (WACV), Waikoloa, HI, USA, January 8, 2024, pp. 2585-2594, doi: 10.1109/WACV57701.2024.00258 (herein "Zhang”).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, with claim 1 as exemplary, substantive differences between the claims noted in curly brackets {}, and deficiencies of Wang noted in square brackets [], Wang teaches {an apparatus for training an image processing model, wherein the image processing model is a convolutional neural network model including Y prompt modules and M image processing modules, each of the M image processing modules corresponding to at least one of the Y prompt modules, the apparatus comprising: a memory for storing instructions; and [one or more processors] for executing the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform: - claim 1 / a method for training an image processing model, wherein the image processing model is a convolutional neural network model including Y prompt modules and M image processing modules, each of the M image processing modules corresponding to at least one of the Y prompt modules, the method comprising: - claim 7 / a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed by an apparatus for training an image processing model, cause the apparatus to perform:} (Wang pages 6830–6831, fig. 1, Abstract and Introduction section, and page 6834, Architecture section (teaching a vision Transformer with convolutional layers head (convolutional neural network)), a generalist image processing model called “Painter” which is trained, and is comprised of multiple processing paths (shown as rows in fig. 1), each path for executing different image processing tasks thus the Painter model embodying M image processing models (one model for each different image processing task performed) with Y prompt inputs respective to the task model associated with the prompt input, where Wang’s title section includes a Github repository https://github.com/baaivision/Painter, and thus teaches an apparatus of storage with instructions intended to be executed on a processor)
acquiring sample data including N sample images {corresponding to M image processing modules – claim 13} and a reference result corresponding to each of the N sample images { and the image processing model is a convolutional neural network model including the M image processing modules and Y prompt modules – claim 13} (Wang page 6833, fig. 2 image pairs, section 3.2 Input format, during training, each input sample includes a pairs of images, each image pair consisting of one image (sample image) and its corresponding task output (reference result), where page 6834, Architecture section teaches a vision Transformer with convolutional layers head (convolutional neural network)));
[adding corresponding prompt information to the N sample images] based on the Y prompt modules, [to obtain N prompt sample images] corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules, wherein the prompt information is related to each image processing task of each image processing module of the M image processing modules (Wang page 6833, fig. 2 two pairs, an input sample comprised of the concatenation of two pairs of images is masked in patches and replaced by learnable token-vectors, where page 6836, section 4.3 teaches that in a prompt tuning step, the learnable tensors define the task prompt (prompt information), and pages 6832–6833, section 3.1 teaching that the learnable tensor is redefined for each task (related to each image processing task)) ;
predicting the N prompt sample images corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules, to obtain N prediction results corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules (Wang pages 6834–6835, section 4.1 training details and figure 3, from multiple input images respective to different tasks, a prediction is made for each task (each image processing module) in a one-to-one correlation (N prediction results for N prompt sample images)); and
adjusting parameters of the M image processing modules and [the Y prompt modules] based on the N prediction results and N reference results corresponding to each image processing module of the M image processing modules (Wang pages 6834–6835, section 4.1, training details, and section 3.2 loss function, an AdamW optimizer with a cosine learning rate scheduler is employed during training with a simple regression loss computed on the masked pixels, where different sampling weights are used respective to the different tasks).
Although Wang discloses its image processing methodology as embodied in software, stored on a Github repository https://github.com/baaivision/Painter, and thus teaches an apparatus of storage with instructions intended to be executed on a processor (see Wang title information), Wang nonetheless does not explicitly teach one or more processors, however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included one or more processors into the architecture of Wang at least because Wang does at least teach the results of the execution of its software (see page 6835, results section), and therefore, such a modification would have been applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See MPEP §2143(I)(D).
Further, while Wang teaches prompt information respective to each image processing task, Wang does not explicitly teach “add corresponding prompt information to the N sample images” “to obtain N prompt sample images.” Still further, while Wang does teach respective input paths for each task, and different prompt tuning for each task, thus at least teaching Y prompt modules, Wang does not teach a prompt module having parameters that are adjusted, and thus does not explicitly teach “adjust parameters of the Y prompt modules,” as claimed.
Zhang teaches add corresponding prompt information to the N sample images to obtain N prompt sample images (Zhang pages 2587–2588, figure 3, section 3.2 prompt enhancer adapts the input data by making a pixel-level perturbation (adding corresponding prompt information) to make learnable prompts as a task identifier).
Zhang further teaches adjust parameters of the Y prompt modules (Zhang page 2588, section 3.4, the learnable prompt is trained for a specific task according to a Loss function which adjusts weights/probabilities of respective tokens as part of the training process).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Wang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-task image processing prompt tuning model disclosed in Wang to include adding prompt information to input images and adjusting parameters of the prompt processing as disclosed in Zhang at least because doing so would allow for more fine-grain details in predictions and overcome the interference caused by low-quality in-context pairs that are not sufficient similar to query images, and also provide robustness against domain shift. See Zhang page 2592, section 5.
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, with claim 2 as exemplary, Wang teaches wherein the adding the corresponding prompt information to the N sample images based on the Y prompt modules comprises one of: changing pixel values of at least a portion of pixels in the N sample images; or, adding image areas around the N sample images to expand the N sample images (given that the claim recites limitations in the alternative, Wang teaches changing pixel values on pages 6833–6834 in that a mask is applied to the images used for training, thus removing and changing the pixel value information from the mask region (at least a portion)).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, with claim 3 as exemplary, Wang teaches wherein an image processing task corresponding to an image processing module of the M image processing modules is image recognition (Wang page 6833, keypoint detection section, one of the prediction tasks handled by the disclosed model includes detecting object (such as humans) and localizing their detailed keypoints). Wang does not explicitly teach, but Zhang teaches and prompt information corresponding to the image processing task is added to the N sample images by changing pixel values of outline of each object to be recognized in the N sample images (Zhang pages 2587–2588, fig. 3, and page 6837, fig. 4, sections 3.2, and 3.5, prompt enhancer adding perturbations to the in-context pair to a set of pixels around the edges of the image that are learnable to predict visual tokens in a vocabulary including animals like horse monkey and inanimate objects like broom (objects to be recognized)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Wang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-task image processing prompt tuning model disclosed in Wang to include the prompt information changing pixel values of the outline of objects as disclosed in Zhang at least because doing so would allow for more fine-grain details in predictions and overcome the interference caused by low-quality in-context pairs that are not sufficient similar to query images, and also provide robustness against domain shift. See Zhang page 2592, section 5.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, with claim 4 as exemplary, and deficiencies of Wang noted in square brackets [], Wang teaches wherein an image processing task corresponding to an image processing module of the M image processing modules is semantic segmentation (Wang page 6833, semantic segmentation section, one of the prediction tasks performed by the disclosed model includes semantic segmentation); and prompt information corresponding to the image processing task [is added to the N sample images] by changing pixel values of at least a portion of pixels [of each object to be segmented] in the N sample images (Wang page 6833, fig. 2 two pairs, an input sample comprised of the concatenation of two pairs of images is masked in patches (changing pixel values of at least a portion – the masked portion) and replaced by learnable token-vectors, where page 6836, section 4.3 teaches that in a prompt tuning step, the learnable tensors define the task prompt (prompt information), and pages 6832–6833, section 3.1 teaching that the learnable tensor is redefined for each task (related to each image processing task)).
While Wang masks pixel values to indicate more prompting information, to the extent such masking is not explicitly “adding to the N sample images,” at least Zhang teaches “is added to the N sample images” (Zhang pages 2587–2588, figure 3, section 3.2 prompt enhancer adapts the input data by making a pixel-level perturbation (adding corresponding prompt information) to make learnable prompts as a task identifier). Zhang further teaches changing pixel values of each object to be segmented (Zhang pages 2587–2588, fig. 3, sections 3.2, and 3.5, prompt enhancer adding perturbations to the in-context pair to a set of pixels around the edges of the image that are learnable to predict visual tokens in a vocabulary (objects to be recognized)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Wang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-task image processing prompt tuning model disclosed in Wang to include the prompt information changing pixel values of objects as disclosed in Zhang at least because doing so would allow for more fine-grain details in predictions and overcome the interference caused by low-quality in-context pairs that are not sufficient similar to query images, and also provide robustness against domain shift. See Zhang page 2592, section 5.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, with claim 5 as exemplary, and deficiencies of Wang noted in square brackets [], Wang teaches wherein an image processing task corresponding to an image processing module of the M image processing modules is depth estimation (Wang pages 6832–6833 monocular depth estimation section, one of the prediction tasks handled by the disclosed model includes depth estimation to estimate a per-pixel depth value); and prompt information corresponding to the image processing task [is added] to the N sample images by changing pixel values of pixels of each object to be estimated in the N sample images to increase color comparisons between objects to be estimated (Wang pages 6832–6833 monocular depth estimation section, and page 6845, fig. 3, RGB pixel values in a greater value range 0 to 255 are mapped to a depth range of lesser values range 0-10, thus increasing color comparisons/contrast, where fig. 3 illustrates the effect in the row labeled “NYUv2-Depth”).
While Wang masks pixel values to indicate more prompting information, to the extent such masking is not explicitly “adding to the N sample images,” at least Zhang teaches “is added to the N sample images” (Zhang pages 2587–2588, figure 3, section 3.2 prompt enhancer adapts the input data by making a pixel-level perturbation (adding corresponding prompt information) to make learnable prompts as a task identifier).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Wang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-task image processing prompt tuning model disclosed in Wang to include the added prompt information changing pixel values as disclosed in Zhang at least because doing so would allow for more fine-grain details in predictions and overcome the interference caused by low-quality in-context pairs that are not sufficient similar to query images, and also provide robustness against domain shift. See Zhang page 2592, section 5.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, with claim 6 as exemplary, Wang teaches wherein the image processing model further comprises a feature extraction module configured to: perform feature extraction on the N prompt sample images output by each prompt module of the Y prompt modules (Wang pages 6833–6834, architecture section, and page 6836, section 4.3 prompt tuning, feature maps are evenly sampled (feature extraction) using a vanilla vision transformer (module) on the input image including the patches, some of which are masked by way of the learnable tensors from the prompt tuning), and input extracted feature into the M image processing modules corresponding to the Y prompt modules (Wang page 6834 Architecture and In-Context Inference sections, the task prompt as the learnable tensors, where the feature maps are input to be added patch by patch in the vanilla vision transformer, where page 6832–6833, section 3.1 teaches that for each task, a tensor is redefined, thus providing different processing (modules) corresponding to the different learnable tensors defining different task prompts (Y prompt modules), see also fig. 1 illustrating separate processing paths for different task prompts).
Claims 19–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhang, as set forth above regarding claim 1, further in view of Wang et al., "TSP-Transformer: Task-Specific Prompts Boosted Transformer for Holistic Scene Understanding," 2024 IEEE/CVF Winter Conference on Applications of Computer Vision (WACV), Waikoloa, HI, USA, January 8, 2024, pp. 914-923, doi: 10.1109/WACV57701.2024.00097 (herein “Wang2”).
Regarding claim 19, Wang as modified does not teach, where Wang2 teaches wherein each of the Y prompt modules is connected to a corresponding image processing module of the M image processing modules such that an output of each prompt module of the Y prompt modules is input to the corresponding image processing module (Wang2 figs. 1 and 2, page 916, section 3.2, with fig. 1 reproduced below for reference and convenience:
as shown, the individual task prompt modules (Y prompt modules) are connected to respective scene understanding task modules (M image processing modules) via the multi-task Transformer, the task specific prompts forward separately (separate modules) to the next processing step in the system, which are scene understanding tasks specific to the task-specific prompt).
Therefore taking the teachings of Wang as modified above and Wang2 together as a whole it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prompt and image processing modules of Wang to be connected and correspond to each other as disclosed in Wang2 at least because doing so would provide tailored results for specific requirements and is better adapted to the data distribution, and largely improves the performance (Wang page 915, left column).
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified does not teach, where Wang2 teaches wherein the image processing model further comprises a single shared feature extraction module connected between the Y prompt modules and the M image processing modules, wherein the single shared feature extraction module receives outputs from each of the Y prompt modules and inputs extracted features into each corresponding image processing module of the M image processing modules (Wang2 figs. 1 and 2, page 917, section 3.3, as shown, the multi-task transformer layer is between the Y task-prompt modules and the M image processing (scene understanding task) modules, and fig. 2 illustrates the multi-task features fusion module between the task-specific prompt modules and the multi-head (module) transformer decoder for the tasks, where the multi-task features fusion module is a single shared extraction module for all the task-prompts).
Therefore taking the teachings of Wang as modified above and Wang2 together as a whole it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prompt and image processing modules of Wang to have a shared multi-task features fusion as disclosed in Wang2 at least because doing so would provide tailored results for specific requirements and is better adapted to the data distribution, and largely improves the performance (Wang page 915, left column).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHELLE M. KOETH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/MICHELLE M KOETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671