DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15 and 20) in the reply filed on November 6, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration as directed toward a non-elected invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The following limitations are being interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each limitation recites a function and a generic placeholder without reciting sufficient structure for performing the function: “an e-liquid filling assembly,” “a moving assembly,” “a control assembly,” and “a heating system.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,440,989 to Gardella et al. (Gardella).
Regarding claim 1, Gardella discloses an e-liquid filling apparatus (20) configured for providing e-liquid (abstract) to at least one device (cartridges) having a reservoir configured to hold e-liquid, and an e-liquid filling inlet (the inlet of the cartridges) in communication with the reservoir, comprising: a workbench (the surface on which positionable table 21 is mounted can be considered a workbench which holds the cartridges to be filled in the cartridge rack) configured to hold the at least one device; an e-liquid filling assembly (liquid injection mechanism 25) configured to provide e-liquid to the at least one device; a moving assembly (positionable table 21 and gantry 32) configured to adjust a position of a filling portion of the e-liquid filling assembly and the at least one device relative to each other (col. 5, lines 23-49); and a control assembly (the controller and user interface 30; see col. 3, lines 8-22 and col. 12, lines 24-36) configured to control operation of the e-liquid filling apparatus.
Regarding claims 2-4, Gardella discloses the control assembly includes a user interface having a display configured as an input device (the control assembly includes a user interface 30 which has an interactive display; see col. 13, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 5, Gardella discloses the control assembly is configured to control the moving assembly (the control assembly controls all functions of the apparatus, including the moving assembly).
Regarding claim 6, Gardella discloses the control assembly is configured to monitor and control a heating system (heaters 27 and 29 which are monitored and controlled by the controller).
Regarding claim 8, Gardella discloses the e-liquid filling assembly includes an e-liquid storage container (26), an e-liquid filling head (39), and an e-liquid delivery pipeline (see Fig. 4; the fluid path between the container 26 and filling head 39) providing fluidic communication between the e-liquid storage container and the e-liquid filling head.
Regarding claim 10, Gardella discloses the e-liquid filling assembly includes an e-liquid filling head (39); and wherein the moving assembly includes a Z-axis movement module (gantry 32) configured to move the e-liquid filling head back and forth along a Z-axis to at least partially align the e-liquid filling head with the at least one device (the gantry 32 allows for adjustment in the Z-axis for aligning the filling head with cartridges having different heights).
Regarding claim 11, Gardella discloses the e-liquid filling device further comprises a heating system (heaters 27 and 29) configured to heat at least one portion of the e-liquid filling assembly (the heaters heat at least portions of the filling assembly).
Regarding claim 12, Gardella discloses the control assembly is configured to regulate temperature of at least one portion of the e-liquid filling assembly (the controller operates the heaters which regulate the temperature of at least one portion of the filling assembly).
Regarding claim 14, Gardella discloses the filling portion of the e-liquid filling assembly comprises an e-liquid filling head (39).
Regarding claim 15, Gardella discloses the workbench is configured to hold a rack assembly (tray 22), and the rack assembly is configured to hold the at least one device in position for providing a pre-determined amount of e-liquid to the at least one device (cartridges are held in tray 22 during filling).
Regarding claim 20, Gardella discloses a method for providing e-liquid to at least one device having a reservoir configured to hold e-liquid (the cartridges to be filled), and an e-liquid filling inlet (inlet opening of the cartridges) in communication with the reservoir, comprising: providing an e-liquid filling apparatus (20) comprising a workbench (the surface to which positionable table 21 is mounted); an e-liquid filling assembly (25) configured to provide e-liquid to the at least one device; a moving assembly (table 21 and gantry 32) configured to adjust a filling portion of the e-liquid filling assembly and the at least one device relative to each other; and a control assembly (the controller and user interface 30) configured to control operation of the e-liquid filling apparatus; configuring the control assembly to fill the at least one device with e- liquid, including setting a pre-determined amount of e-liquid the e-liquid filling assembly provides to the at least one device (the controller is configured to operate the apparatus to deliver a pre-determined amount of e-liquid); positioning the at least one device in a rack assembly configured to hold the at least one device (cartridges are positioned in tray 22 for filling); operationally engaging the rack assembly with the workbench (see Fig. 2); and filling the at least one device with the pre-determined amount of e- liquid (when the filling assembly is operated to fill the desired amount of liquid to the reservoir).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardella.
Regarding claim 9, Gardella discloses the e-liquid filling assembly includes an e-liquid filling head (39); and wherein the moving assembly includes a Y-axis movement module configured to move the cartridge rack back and forth along a Y-axis to at least partially align the e-liquid filling head with the at least one device. Gardella does not disclose the Y-axis movement module moves the filling head relative to the cartridges. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the Y-axis movement module to move the filling head relative to the cartridges rather than moving the cartridges relative to the filling head, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A).
Regarding claim 13, Gardella discloses the e-liquid filling assembly includes an e-liquid filling head (39); and wherein the moving assembly includes a Z-axis movement module (gantry 32) configured to move the e-liquid filling head back and forth along a Z-axis to at least partially align the e-liquid filling head with the at least one device (the gantry 32 allows for adjustment in the Z-axis for aligning the filling head with cartridges having different heights). Gardella does not disclose the Z-axis movement module configured to move the workbench along the Z-axis. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the Z-axis movement module to move the workbench relative to the filling assembly rather than moving the filling assembly relative to the workbench, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardella in view of US Patent 10,759,554 to Sebastian et al. (Sebastian).
Regarding claim 7, Gardella does not disclose the workbench includes a clamp assembly configured for holding the at least one device in position for providing a pre-determined amount of e-liquid to the at least one device. Sebastian teaches an apparatus for filling containers which includes a clamp assembly (suction cups 146) for holding the containers in position during filling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a clamp assembly as taught by Sebastian in the apparatus of Gardella to hold the cartridges in position during filling, to prevent undesired movement of the cartridge which could cause spillage of the product and/or damage to the filling apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 November 17, 2025