DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 (and claim 11) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regards to claim 10, it is unclear as to which port the claim is referring to. Is it for the battery charger? Or for the jumper, or both? Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nook et al. 2021/0075235.
Regarding claim 1, Nook discloses a combined battery charger and engine jump start system (system 1010), comprising: a battery charger subsystem configured to charge a battery; an engine jump start subsystem (cam-locks 1024 a/b) configured to output sufficient power to jump start an engine [303][FIG 7]; a battery charger port (1020) configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to a battery charger cable to charge a battery [FIG 7] [299]; an engine jump start port (port 1024 a/b) configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to an engine jump start cable to jump start an engine [FIG 7]; wherein the system automatically determines in which operating mode to operate based on which port is occupied by the at least one output plug [abstract][38][264][370].
Regarding claim 2, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses comprising a port protector (cup 1026 for cam-locks 1024 a/b) (cover 1022 for port 1020) configured to prevent plugs from being positioned in both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at a same time [299] [303].
Regarding claim 3, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Nook further discloses the port protector comprises at least one cover configured to prevent plugs from being positioned in both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at a same time [FIG 7).
Regarding claim 4, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Nook further discloses at least one cover is slidably positioned on a housing of the combined battery charger and engine jump start system, whereby, in a first cover position (closed position for 1022), the at least one cover blocks the battery charger port but not the engine jump start port, and in a second cover position (closed position for 1026), the at least one cover blocks the engine jump start port but not the battery charger port [FIG 7].
Regarding claim 5, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses at least one cover the engine jump start subsystem is configured to detect a presence of a battery in electrical communication with the system, determine a voltage of the system and apply a voltage to the battery to charge the battery to a target voltage [0125] [263-264] [0372].
Regarding claim 6, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Nook further discloses the engine jump start subsystem is configured to apply voltage to the battery in alternating cycles of short duration jump start charge period and off period until the system determines that a target voltage of the battery has been reached [304-310].
Regarding claim 7, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 6. Nook further discloses a safety system configured to disconnect the engine jump start subsystem from the engine jump start cable during an off period [372].
Regarding claim 8, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Nook further discloses the safety system comprises at least one relay positioned inline in the engine jump start cable and configured to provide a continuous electrical connection between the engine jump start subsystem and a terminal end of the engine jump start cable during a short jump charge period and to disconnect the continuous electrical connection between the engine jump start subsystem and the terminal end of the engine jump start cable during an off period [372].
Regarding claim 9, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses the engine jump start subsystem further comprises an internal battery (battery jump starter) [abstract].
Regarding claim 10, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses a combined input and output port [abstract].
Regarding claim 11, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Nook further discloses the combined input and output port comprises a USB C input and output port [330] [ FIG 7].
Regarding claim 12, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses a combined battery charger and jump start controller configured to control operation of the battery charger subsystem and the engine jump start subsystem[ abstract] [FIG 7].
Regarding claim 13, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses the combined battery charger and jump start controller is formed from a battery charger controller configured to control the battery charger subsystem and a jump pack controller configured to control the engine jump start subsystem [abstract] [081-92].
Regarding claim 14, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses an AC input configured to receive AC power to provide power to the battery charger subsystem and the engine jump start subsystem [369].
Regarding claim 16, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Nook further discloses a combined battery charger and jump start cable configured to be inserted into both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at different times (when one is open) [FIG 7].
Regarding claim 17, Nook discloses a combined battery charger and engine jump start system, comprising: a battery charger subsystem configured to charge a battery; an engine jump start subsystem configured to output sufficient power to jump start an engine, wherein the engine jump start subsystem comprises at least one internal battery; a battery charger port configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to a battery charger cable to charge a battery; an engine jump start port configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to an engine jump start cable to jump start an engine; wherein the system automatically determines in which operating mode to operate based on which port is occupied by the at least one output plug [abstract][38][264][370].; a port protector (cup 1026 for cam-locks 1024 a/b) (cover 1022 for port 1020) configured to prevent plugs from being positioned in both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at a same time [FIG 7].
Regarding claim 18, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 17. Nook further discloses the port protector comprises at least one cover configured to prevent plugs from being positioned in both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at a same time [FIG 7).
Regarding claim 20, Nook discloses A combined battery charger and engine jump start system, comprising: a battery charger subsystem configured to charge a battery; an engine jump start subsystem configured to output sufficient power to jump start an engine, wherein the engine jump start subsystem comprises at least one internal battery; a battery charger port configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to a battery charger cable to charge a battery; an engine jump start port configured to releasably receive at least one output plug coupled to an engine jump start cable to jump start an engine [abstract][38][264][370]; a port protector (cup 1026 for cam-locks 1024 a/b) (cover 1022 for port 1020 configured to prevent plugs from being positioned in both the battery charger port and the engine jump start port at a same time [FIG 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nook et al. 2021/0075235 in view of Miller et al. 2023/0010475.
Regarding claim 15, Nook discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Nook fails to explicitly disclose a wireless charging system configured to charge the engine jump start subsystem.
Miller discloses a wireless charging system configured to charge the engine jump start subsystem [024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Miller discloses, “Additionally, there is a need for such a charger that is portable and easily used in various conditions and locations to charge one or more devices simultaneously, including but not limited to in a house or office, a car or an airplane. Accordingly, it is a general object of the present invention to provide a portable charger that improves upon conventional power chargers currently on the market and that overcomes the problems and drawbacks associated with such prior art chargers.”. [013]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the cited prior art of record discloses the at least one cover is slidably positioned on a housing of the combined battery charger and engine jump start system, whereby, in a first cover position, the at least one cover blocks the battery charger port but not the engine jump start port, and in a second cover position, the at least one cover blocks the engine jump start port but not the battery charger port.
Claim 21 depends from objected claim 19 and is furthermore objected.
Conclusion
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876