DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. ( US 2025/0280341 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gu, in view of Kim et al. ( US 2024/0147328 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figure 4, Terminal), comprising:
one or more memories (inherent, essential component of user equipment (UE));
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (inherent, essential component of user equipment (UE)), configured to:
receive, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell and a candidate layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) cell ( see ¶[0100], Step S301: A CU sends pre-configuration information of an LTM candidate cell (pre-configuration of candidate cells) to the terminal. It may be understood that a message sent by the CU to the terminal needs to be sent via the DU. The pre-configuration information includes a parameter of one or more candidate cells of the cell ; ¶ [0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information; ¶[0107] ) ;
receive, from the network node, a measurement or reporting configuration for the cell that is the serving cell and the candidate LTM cell ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device; ¶0108] ); and
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report based at least in part on the measurement or reporting configuration ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device (the DU in the figure) to which the current serving cell belongs, where the layer 1 measurement report includes the measurement result. For example, the measurement result is an L1 measurement result, and includes at least one of the following: an L1 measurement result of the current serving cell and an L1 measurement result of at least one candidate cell; ¶[0108]).
Although Gu teaches the terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device ( see ¶[0101] ), Gu, however, fails to explicitly teach information related receive, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell .
However, Kim, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: receive, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell and a candidate layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) cell ( see ¶[0558], A wireless device may perform a method comprising multiple operations. The wireless device may receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a configuration for layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM). The configuration for LTM may indicate: a configuration of one or more candidate cells for LTM; a first parameter associated with a serving cell; and a second parameter associated with the one or more candidate cells for LTM; ¶[0559] ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu's teachings with Kim’s above teaching, enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM ( see ¶[0534] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Gu prior art) based on design incentives ( enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Gu teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (see ¶[0311], As shown in FIG. 14 , a communication apparatus 1400 includes a processor 1410 and an interface circuit 1420. The processor 1410 and the interface circuit 1420 are coupled to each other. It may be understood that the interface circuit 1420 may be a transceiver or an input/output interface. Optionally, the communication apparatus 1400 may further include a memory 1430, configured to: store instructions to be executed by the processor 1410, store input data needed by the processor 1410 to run instructions):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell and a candidate layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) cell ( see ¶[0100], Step S301: A CU sends pre-configuration information of an LTM candidate cell (pre-configuration of candidate cells) to the terminal. It may be understood that a message sent by the CU to the terminal needs to be sent via the DU. The pre-configuration information includes a parameter of one or more candidate cells of the cell ; ¶ [0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information; ¶[0107] );
transmit, to the UE, a measurement or reporting configuration for the cell that is the serving cell and the candidate LTM cell ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device; ¶0108] ); and
receive, from the UE, a measurement report based at least in part on the measurement or reporting configuration ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device (the DU in the figure) to which the current serving cell belongs, where the layer 1 measurement report includes the measurement result. For example, the measurement result is an L1 measurement result, and includes at least one of the following: an L1 measurement result of the current serving cell and an L1 measurement result of at least one candidate cell; ¶[0108]).
Although Gu teaches the terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device ( see ¶[0101] ), Gu, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell .
However, Kim, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell ( see ¶[0558], A wireless device may perform a method comprising multiple operations. The wireless device may receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a configuration for layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM). The configuration for LTM may indicate: a configuration of one or more candidate cells for LTM; a first parameter associated with a serving cell; and a second parameter associated with the one or more candidate cells for LTM; ¶[0559] ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu's teachings with Kim’s above teaching, enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM ( see ¶[0534] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Gu prior art) based on design incentives ( enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Gu teaches: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell and a candidate layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) cell ( see ¶[0100], Step S301: A CU sends pre-configuration information of an LTM candidate cell (pre-configuration of candidate cells) to the terminal. It may be understood that a message sent by the CU to the terminal needs to be sent via the DU. The pre-configuration information includes a parameter of one or more candidate cells of the cell ; ¶ [0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information; ¶[0107] );
receiving, from the network node, a measurement or reporting configuration for the cell that is the serving cell and the candidate LTM cell ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device (the DU in the figure) to which the current serving cell belongs, where the layer 1 measurement report includes the measurement result. For example, the measurement result is an L1 measurement result, and includes at least one of the following: an L1 measurement result of the current serving cell and an L1 measurement result of at least one candidate cell; ¶0108]); and
transmitting, to the network node, a measurement report based at least in part on the measurement or reporting configuration ( see ¶[0101], Step S302: The terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device (the DU in the figure) to which the current serving cell belongs, where the layer 1 measurement report includes the measurement result. For example, the measurement result is an L1 measurement result, and includes at least one of the following: an L1 measurement result of the current serving cell and an L1 measurement result of at least one candidate cell; ¶[0108]).
Although Gu teaches the terminal measures a reference signal of a current serving cell and/or the candidate cell based on the configuration information, and reports a measurement result to the current serving cell (for example, the cell 1 in the figure), in other words, sends a layer 1 measurement report (L1 report) to an access network device ( see ¶[0101] ), Gu, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell .
However, Kim, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: receiving, from a network node, a configuration of a cell that is a serving cell ( see ¶[0558], A wireless device may perform a method comprising multiple operations. The wireless device may receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a configuration for layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM). The configuration for LTM may indicate: a configuration of one or more candidate cells for LTM; a first parameter associated with a serving cell; and a second parameter associated with the one or more candidate cells for LTM; ¶[0559] ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu's teachings with Kim’s above teaching, enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM ( see ¶[0534] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Gu prior art) based on design incentives ( enable the wireless device to improve the speed and/or efficiency of subsequent LTM) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu, in view of Kim, and further in view of Yi et al. ( WO2024/145854A1), hereinafter referred to as Yi.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the cell is a serving primary cell (PCell) and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM secondary cell (SCell); or the cell is a serving SCell and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM PCell, and wherein the serving SCell is an activated serving SCell.
However, Yi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the cell is a serving primary cell (PCell) ( see Yi, ¶[0073], the UE's serving cell may include a primary cell and a secondary cell; the UE's serving cell group may include a primary cell group and a secondary cell group; ¶[0074], The UE supports both PCell and SCell of MCG simultaneously through Carrier Aggregation (CA); similarly, the UE supports both PSCell and SCell of SCG simultaneously through CA ) and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM secondary cell (SCell) ( see ¶[0226], The UE determines whether to retain or delete the stored LTM configuration based on the indication information, such as the candidate cell configuration corresponding to the LTM, for example, the LTM configuration of the primary cell group MCG or the primary cell PCell (such as the candidate MCG configuration), and the LTM configuration of the secondary cell group SCG or the primary and secondary cell PSCell (such as the candidate SCG configuration; ¶[0413] ); or the cell is a serving SCell and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM PCell, and wherein the serving SCell is an activated serving SCell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Yi's above teachings, improving the access success rate and/or the communication quality of the UE (see Yi, Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Yi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Gu prior art) based on design incentives (improving the access success rate and/or the communication quality of the UE ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 17. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the cell is a serving primary cell (PCell) and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM secondary cell (SCell) ; or the cell is a serving SCell and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM PCell, and wherein the serving SCell is an activated serving SCell.
However, Yi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein: the cell is a serving primary cell (PCell) ( see Yi, ¶[0073], the UE's serving cell may include a primary cell and a secondary cell; the UE's serving cell group may include a primary cell group and a secondary cell group; ¶[0074], The UE supports both PCell and SCell of MCG simultaneously through Carrier Aggregation (CA); similarly, the UE supports both PSCell and SCell of SCG simultaneously through CA ) and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM secondary cell (SCell) see ¶[0226], The UE determines whether to retain or delete the stored LTM configuration based on the indication information, such as the candidate cell configuration corresponding to the LTM, for example, the LTM configuration of the primary cell group MCG or the primary cell PCell (such as the candidate MCG configuration), and the LTM configuration of the secondary cell group SCG or the primary and secondary cell PSCell (such as the candidate SCG configuration; ¶[0413] ); or the cell is a serving SCell and the candidate LTM cell is a candidate LTM PCell, and wherein the serving SCell is an activated serving SCell.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Yi's above teachings, improving the access success rate and/or the communication quality of the UE (see Yi, Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Yi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Gu prior art) based on design incentives (improving the access success rate and/or the communication quality of the UE ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-16 and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. ( US 2025/0338161 A1), Channel State Information Report for Mobility Enhancement
Kim et al. ( US 2025/0261064 A1), Early Timing Advance Acquisition
Zhang et al. ( US 2024/0406811 A1), Inter-cell mobility triggered by the network
Zhou et al. ( US 2024/0267820 A1), Early Channel State Information Reporting
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476