DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
This Office action is in response to the Election filed on 1/12/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/19/2024, 1/19/2024, 1/19/2024, 4/11/2024, 11/4/2024, 2/11/2025, 10/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species X (Figures 14 and 18-19) in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9, 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 15, 17, 20, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2019/0045287).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: 1600, see ¶ 0167) for use with a vibration member (100), comprising:
a support member (301) including a first hole (hole of 301 that 1600-1 exists in) and a second hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in) (Fig. 11);
a first vibration device (1600-1) disposed at the first hole (Fig. 11);
a second vibration device (1600-2) disposed at the second hole (Fig. 11); and
an enclosure member (410) connected to a rear surface of the vibration member (Fig. 11 shows 410 connected to 301 and 302 which are parts of 300, and Fig. 5B shows 300 connected to rear surface of vibration member 100) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first vibration device is configured to output a first sound pressure level to the vibration member via the first hole, and
wherein the second vibration device is configured to output a second sound pressure level, different from the first sound pressure level, to the vibration member via the second hole (Fig. 7 shows that sound pressure level varies with frequency, and thus the first vibration device outputs a SPL at a first frequency that is different from an SPL output from the second vibration device at a second frequency).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first vibration device is disposed between the support member and the enclosure member and overlaps with the first hole (Fig. 11: the 610 portion of 1600-1 is between 301 and 410, and overlaps the hole of 301), and
wherein the second vibration device is disposed between the support member and the enclosure member and overlaps with the second hole (Fig. 11: the 610 portion of 1600-2 is between 301 and 410, and overlaps the hole of 301).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the enclosure member comprises:
a bottom portion (Fig. 11: horizontal portion of 410; alternatively, 610 and 610’) covering a rear surface of each of the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11); and
a lateral portion (Fig. 11: vertical portion of 410) connected to the vibration member (via 301 and 302 therebetween) and disposed at a periphery of the bottom portion (see Fig. 11) to cover a lateral surface of each of the support member (support member can be 301 and 310 combined, in which case the vertical portion of 410 covers a portion of 310 that is lateral), the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 5, wherein the bottom portion (horizontal portion of 410) and the lateral portion of the enclosure member are disposed at (e.g., near) the rear surface of the vibration member (see Fig. 11) (note: definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 5,
wherein the bottom portion (610 and 610’) includes a hole (Fig. 11: 610’ defines a hole), and
wherein the second vibration device is inserted into the hole (Fig. 11: 620, 630, 650, 660 of second vibration member are inserted in the hole).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first vibration device comprises:
a plate (the 610 portion of 1600-1) overlapping with the first hole (see Fig. 11), and
a vibration generator (e.g., 620-670), and
wherein the plate is disposed between the vibration generator and the enclosure member (see Fig. 11), or the vibration generator is disposed between the plate and the enclosure member.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an air gap provided at the enclosure member (Fig. 11: gap between 410 and 610).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member (100) includes one of a display panel (100) including a plurality of pixels (¶ 0052-0053) configured to display an image (¶ 0058), a screen panel for displaying an image projected from a display apparatus, a lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular glass window, a vehicular exterior material, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, an aircraft glass window, and a mirror.
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a vibration member (100);
a first cover (302) disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member and including a first hole (hole of 302 that 1600-1 exists in) (Fig. 11); and
a vibration generating apparatus (1600, see ¶ 0167) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover (see Fig. 11) and configured to cover the first hole (see Fig. 11), an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: e.g., space between 610’ and 310 is also between 100 (vibration member) and 610 (of vibration generating apparatus)), and the vibration generating apparatus being spaced apart (via 400) from the vibration member (see Fig. 11), configured to vibrate the vibration member (¶ 0188), and comprising:
a support member (301) including a second hole (hole of 301 that 1600-1 exists in) and a third hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in) (Fig. 11);
a first vibration device (1600-1) at the second hole (Fig. 11); and
a second vibration device (1600-2) at the third hole (Fig. 11); and
an enclosure member (410) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member via the first cover (Fig. 11 shows 410 connected to 301 and 302 which are parts of 300, and Fig. 5B shows 300 connected to rear surface of vibration member 100) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 26, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising an air gap between the first cover and the vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: e.g., gap between 302 and 640).
Regarding claim 27, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058); and
a gap space between the display member and the vibration generating apparatus, the first hole being configured to provide the gap space (Fig. 12: space between 310 and 610’ also serves as a space between 100 and the 610 portion of 1600-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham et al. (US 2019/0098411).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first vibration device includes a vibration generator (¶ 0089)
wherein the second vibration device includes a coil type vibration generator (¶ 0167).
Lee is not relied upon to disclose wherein the first vibration device includes a vibration generator including a piezoelectric device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses a vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2) that includes a coil type vibration generator (1200-1) as well as a piezoelectric device (1200-2) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first vibration device to include the coil type vibration generator as well as a piezoelectric device, as taught by Ham,
which would result in: wherein the first vibration device includes a vibration generator including a piezoelectric device,
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0128).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 8.
Lee is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses a vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2) that includes a coil type vibration generator (1200-1) as well as a piezoelectric device (1200-2) (Fig. 10),
wherein the piezoelectric device comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion (¶ 0133: “a piezoelectric element between two electrodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first vibration device to include the coil type vibration generator as well as a piezoelectric device, as taught by Ham,
which would result in: wherein the vibration generator (which comprises the piezoelectric device) comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0128).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi (US 2014/0210309) and as evidenced by Takahashi (US 4517490). See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 8.
Lee is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions including an inorganic material and a plurality of second portions disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an organic material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses a vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2) that includes a coil type vibration generator (1200-1) as well as a piezoelectric device (1200-2) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first vibration device to include the coil type vibration generator as well as a piezoelectric device, as taught by Ham,
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0128).
Additionally, Miyoshi discloses a piezoelectric device (Fig. 1) including a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions (26) including an inorganic material (¶ 0103-0104) and a plurality of second portions (24, which can be considered as made up of a plurality of different portions between different directly adjacent pairs of 26’s) disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol
a first electrode layer (14) disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer (16) disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion (see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piezoelectric device (1200-2 of Ham) with that of Fig. 1 of Miyoshi,
which would result in:
wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions including an inorganic material and a plurality of second portions disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an organic material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one piezoelectric device for use as a speaker (Ham - ¶ 0128) for another (Miyoshi - ¶ 0083) to obtain predictable results of a piezoelectric device for use as a speaker. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Miyoshi does not explicitly disclose that cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is an organic material. As evidenced by Takahashi, an inherent characteristic of cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is that it is an organic material (bstx6, col. 1, lines 46-51). Thus, Takahashi provides extrinsic evidence that cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is an organic material. See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi.
Regarding claim 13, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 12.
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first protection member disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miyoshi discloses a piezoelectric device comprising:
a vibration portion (24 and 26) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0117);
a first electrode layer (14) disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer (16) disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion.
a first protection member (18) disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member (20) disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer (¶ 0117 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piezoelectric device (1200-2 of Ham) with that of Fig. 1 of Miyoshi,
which would result in:
wherein the vibration generator (which comprises the piezoelectric device) comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion
wherein the vibration generator (which comprises the piezoelectric device) further comprises:
a first protection member disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one piezoelectric device for use as a speaker (Ham - ¶ 0128) for another (Miyoshi - ¶ 0083) to obtain predictable results of a piezoelectric device for use as a speaker. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi in view of Jeong et al. (US 2011/0064250).
Regarding claim 14, Lee-Ham-Miyoshi discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 13.
Lee-Ham-Miyoshi is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line disposed at a rear surface of the first protection member facing the vibration portion and electrically connected to the first electrode layer;
a second power supply line disposed at a front surface of the second protection member facing the vibration portion and electrically connected to the second electrode layer; and
a pad part electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeong discloses wherein a vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line (132a) electrically connected to a first electrode layer (132);
a second power supply line (136a) electrically connected to a second electrode layer (136); and
a pad part (132b and 136b) electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line (see Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line electrically connected to the first electrode layer (14 of Miyoshi);
a second power supply line electrically connected to the second electrode layer (16 of Miyoshi); and
a pad part electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line,
which would also result in:
the first power supply line disposed at (near) a rear surface of the first protection member (18 of Miyoshi) facing the vibration portion;
the second power supply line disposed at (near) a front surface of the second protection member (20 of Miyoshi) facing the vibration portion;
(note: definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”),
the motivation being to provide a way to apply signals to the electrodes of Miyoshi (Jeong - ¶ 0042).
Claim(s) 16, 18, 19, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shin et al. (US 2019/0182573).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1.
Lee is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration member includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses a vibration member (100) that includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather (¶ 0081: 131 which is part of 100 includes plastic or glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: wherein the vibration member includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member (100) includes a display member (100) comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee is not relied upon to disclose the display member comprising:
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel; and
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses a vibration member (100) (¶ 0063) includes a display member (100) comprising:
a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044);
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0068); and
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0084: diffuses and collects light, thus guiding it’s direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: wherein the vibration member includes a display member comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image;
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel; and
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 19, Lee-Shin discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 18, and Shin discloses further comprising a sound transfer space between the display panel (100) and the guide member (137) (Figs. 3/4/8 show there is a gap between 137 and 115 of 110) (¶ 0063: 100 vibrates to generate panel vibration sound vibration as far back as AG1, which implies that the sound passed through the space between 110 and 137, thus making the space a sound transfer space).
The teachings of Shin relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Shin for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 18 rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee is not relied upon to disclose
a front member disposed at a front surface of the display member; and
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a display member (100) including a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044) (Figs. 3/4/8);
a front member (900) disposed at a front surface of the display member (see Figs. 3/4/8); and
a second cover (700) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate everything (see Figs. 3/4/8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a front member disposed at a front surface of the display member (100 of Lee); and
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member (100, 302, 1600, and 301 of Lee, respectively),
the motivation being to cover a periphery of a front surface of the display panel (100 of Lee) (Shin - ¶ 0104) and accommodate the apparatus of Lee (Shin - ¶ 0058).
Regarding claim 22, Lee-Shin discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Additionally, Shin discloses further comprising:
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (110) (see Fig. 4);
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Fig. 4);
a first connection member (170) between the front member (900) and the second cover (700) (see Fig. 4, and ¶ 0091); and
a second connection member (160) between the display member (110) and the guide member (137) (¶ 0090: may be tape, which is a connection-providing element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (100 of Lee);
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight;
a first connection member between the front member (900) and the second cover (700); and
a second connection member between the display member (100 of Lee) and the guide member,
the motivation being to display an image using light (Shin - ¶ 0092), enhance a luminance characteristic of light (Shin - ¶ 0084), provide a way to attach the display panel to a panel guide (Shin - ¶ 0091), and reduce or prevent light leakage (Shin - ¶ 0090).
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee is not relied upon to disclose
a backlight disposed at a rear surf ace of the display panel;
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight; and
a sound transfer space between the display panel and the guide member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a display member (110) including a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044);
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0068);
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0084: diffuses and collects light, thus guiding it’s direction); and
a sound transfer space between the display panel (110) and the guide member (137) (Figs. 3/4/8 show there is a gap between 137 and 115 of 110) (¶ 0063: 100 vibrates to generate panel vibration sound vibration as far back as AG1, which implies that the sound passed through the space between 110 and 137, thus making the space a sound transfer space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: further comprising:
a display member including a display panel configured to display an image;
a backlight disposed at a rear surf ace of the display panel;
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight; and
a sound transfer space between the display panel and the guide member,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058); and
Lee is not relied upon to disclose
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a second cover (700) disposed at a rear surface of an apparatus to accommodate everything (see Figs. 3/4/8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member (100, 302, 1600, and 301 of Lee, respectively),
the motivation being to accommodate the apparatus of Lee (Shin - ¶ 0058).
Regarding claim 25, Lee-Shin discloses the apparatus of claim 24, and Shin discloses wherein the second cover comprises a cover box (Figs. 3/4/8) for providing a closed space between a rear portion of the first cover and the second cover (it would provide such).
The teachings of Shin relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Shin for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Conclusion
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692