DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 4/30/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 12, 15, 17, 20, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0045287) in view of Ham et al. (US 2019/0098411).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: 1600, see ¶ 0167) for use with a vibration member (100), comprising:
a support member (301) including a first hole (hole of 301 that 1600-1 exists in) and a second hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in) (Fig. 11);
a first vibration device (1600-1) disposed in the first hole (Fig. 11);
a second vibration device (1600-2) disposed at the second hole (Fig. 11), ; and
an enclosure member (410) connected to a rear surface of the vibration member (Fig. 11 shows 410 connected to 301 and 302 which are parts of 300, and Fig. 5B shows 300 connected to rear surface of vibration member 100) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Lee is not relied upon to disclose the second vibration device overlapping the second hole without being disposed in the second hole.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses a vibration device (Fig. 10: 1200-1 and 1200-2; or Fig. 11: 1300-1 and 1300-2) that is made up of two vibration devices in order to achieve both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (¶ 0128, 0147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (i) substitute the vibration device (1600-2) of Lee with the vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2; or 1300-1 and 1300-2) of Ham; or (ii) substitute each of the vibration devices (1600-1 and 1600-2) of Lee with a vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2; or 1300-1 and 1300-2) of Ham
which would result in: a second vibration device (1200-2 or 1300-2 of Ham) disposed at the second hole (of Lee) (similar to how it is disposed at the hole of 300 in Figs. 10/11 of Ham), the second vibration device overlapping the second hole without being disposed in the second hole (similar to how it does so in Figs. 10/11 of Ham),
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0128).
Regarding claim 2, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first vibration device is configured to output a first sound pressure level to the vibration member via the first hole, and
wherein the second vibration device is configured to output a second sound pressure level, different from the first sound pressure level, to the vibration member via the second hole (Fig. 7 of Lee and Fig. 12 of Ham each show that sound pressure level varies with frequency, and thus the first vibration device outputs a SPL at a first frequency that is different from an SPL output from the second vibration device at a second frequency).
The teachings of Ham relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 3, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Ham discloses
wherein the first vibration device includes a vibration generator including a piezoelectric device (Fig. 10: 1200-2), and
wherein the second vibration device includes a coil type vibration generator (Fig. 11: 1300-2).
The teachings of Ham relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 5, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Lee discloses wherein the enclosure member comprises:
a bottom portion (Fig. 11: horizontal portion of 410; alternatively 610 and 610’) covering a rear surface of each of the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11); and
a lateral portion (Fig. 11: vertical portion of 410) connected to the vibration member (via 301 and 302 therebetween) and disposed at a periphery of the bottom portion (see Fig. 11) to cover a lateral surface of each of the support member (support member can be 301 and 310 combined, in which case the vertical portion of 410 covers a portion of 310 that is lateral), the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 5, wherein the bottom portion (horizontal portion of 410) and the lateral portion of the enclosure member are disposed at (e.g., near) the rear surface of the vibration member (see Fig. 11) (note: definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”).
Regarding claim 8, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Lee discloses wherein the first vibration device comprises:
a plate (the 610 portion of 1600-1) overlapping with the first hole (see Fig. 11), and
a vibration generator (e.g., 620-670), and
wherein the plate is disposed between the vibration generator and the enclosure member (see Fig. 11), or the vibration generator is disposed between the plate and the enclosure member.
Regarding claim 12, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 8, and Ham discloses wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material (Fig. 10: 1200-2);
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion (¶ 0133: “a piezoelectric element between two electrodes”).
The teachings of Ham relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Lee discloses further comprising an air gap provided at the enclosure member (Fig. 11: gap between 410 and 610).
Regarding claim 17, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Lee discloses wherein the vibration member (100) includes one of a display panel (100) including a plurality of pixels (¶ 0052-0053) configured to display an image (¶ 0058), a screen panel for displaying an image projected from a display apparatus, a lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular glass window, a vehicular exterior material, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, an aircraft glass window, and a mirror.
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a vibration member (100);
a vibration generating apparatus (1600, see ¶ 0167)
a support member (301) including a second hole (hole of 301 that 1600-1 exists in) and a third hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in) (Fig. 11);
a first vibration device (1600-1) at the second hole (Fig. 11); and
a second vibration device (1600-2) at the third hole (Fig. 11); and
an enclosure member (410) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member
Lee is not relied upon to disclose
a first cover disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member and including a first hole; and
the vibration generating apparatus (1600) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole, an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus;
the enclosure member (410) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member via the first cover .
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses
a first cover (1504) disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member (100) and including a first hole (hole inside 1504) (see Fig. 11); and
a vibration generating apparatus (1300-1 and 1300-2, excluding 1504) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover (see Fig. 11) and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole (see Fig. 11), an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus (see Fig. 11), and the vibration generating apparatus being spaced apart (via 1504) from the vibration member (see Fig. 11), configured to vibrate the vibration member (¶ 0153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: substitute the elements between 100 and 612 of 1600-1 of Fig. 11 of Lee with the elements between 100 and 612 of 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Fig. 11 of Ham,
which would result in:
a first cover (1504 of Ham) disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member (100 of Lee) and including a first hole; and
the vibration generating apparatus (1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham (excluding 1504 of Ham) and 1600-2 of Lee) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole, an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus, and the vibration generating apparatus being spaced apart (via 1504 of Ham and 400 of 1600-2 of Lee) from the vibration member, configured to vibrate the vibration member, and comprising:
a support member (301 of Lee) including a second hole (hole of 301 that 1600-1 of Lee (now 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham) exists in) and a third hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 of Lee exists in);
a first vibration device (1300-1 of Ham; or 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham excluding 1504 of Ham) at the second hole; and
a second vibration device (1600-2 of Lee) at the third hole; and
the enclosure member (410 of Lee) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member via the first cover (Fig. 11 of Lee shows 410 connected to 100 via 400, and thus similarly would be connected to 100 via 1504 of Ham since 400 of Lee and 1504 of Ham are similar components) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11 of Lee),
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0147).
Regarding claim 26, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising an air gap between the first cover and the vibration generating apparatus (Ham - Fig. 11: e.g., gap between 1504 and 1350).
The teachings of Ham relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 20 rejection.
Regarding claim 27, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, and Lee discloses further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058); and
Ham discloses
a gap space between the display member and the vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: gap space between 100 and 1530), the first hole being configured to provide the gap space (Fig. 11: hole of 1504 is part of the gap space between 100 and 1530).
The teachings of Ham relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 20 rejection.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi (US 2014/0210309) and as evidenced by Takahashi (US 4517490). See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Regarding claim 11, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 8.
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions including an inorganic material and a plurality of second portions disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an organic material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miyoshi discloses a piezoelectric device (Fig. 1) including a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions (26) including an inorganic material (¶ 0103-0104) and a plurality of second portions (24, which can be considered as made up of a plurality of different portions between different directly adjacent pairs of 26’s) disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol
a first electrode layer (14) disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer (16) disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion (see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piezoelectric device (1200-2 of Ham) with that of Fig. 1 of Miyoshi,
which would result in:
wherein the vibration generator comprises:
a vibration portion including a plurality of first portions including an inorganic material and a plurality of second portions disposed between the plurality of first portions and including an organic material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one piezoelectric device for use as a speaker (Ham - ¶ 0128) for another (Miyoshi - ¶ 0083) to obtain predictable results of a piezoelectric device for use as a speaker. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Miyoshi does not explicitly disclose that cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is an organic material. As evidenced by Takahashi, an inherent characteristic of cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is that it is an organic material (bstx6, col. 1, lines 46-51). Thus, Takahashi provides extrinsic evidence that cyanoethylated polyvinyl alcohol is an organic material. See MPEP § 2131.01.III.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi.
Regarding claim 13, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 12.
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first protection member disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miyoshi discloses a piezoelectric device comprising:
a vibration portion (24 and 26) including a piezoelectric material (¶ 0117);
a first electrode layer (14) disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer (16) disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion.
a first protection member (18) disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member (20) disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer (¶ 0117 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piezoelectric device (1200-2 of Ham) with that of Fig. 1 of Miyoshi,
which would result in:
wherein the vibration generator (which comprises the piezoelectric device) comprises:
a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material;
a first electrode layer disposed at a first surface of the vibration portion; and
a second electrode layer disposed at a second surface of the vibration portion
wherein the vibration generator (which comprises the piezoelectric device) further comprises:
a first protection member disposed above the first electrode layer and covering the first electrode layer; and
a second protection member disposed below the second electrode layer and covering the second electrode layer,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one piezoelectric device for use as a speaker (Ham - ¶ 0128) for another (Miyoshi - ¶ 0083) to obtain predictable results of a piezoelectric device for use as a speaker. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Miyoshi in view of Jeong et al. (US 2011/0064250).
Regarding claim 14, Lee-Ham-Miyoshi discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 13.
Lee-Ham-Miyoshi is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line disposed at a rear surface of the first protection member facing the vibration portion and electrically connected to the first electrode layer;
a second power supply line disposed at a front surface of the second protection member facing the vibration portion and electrically connected to the second electrode layer; and
a pad part electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jeong discloses wherein a vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line (132a) electrically connected to a first electrode layer (132);
a second power supply line (136a) electrically connected to a second electrode layer (136); and
a pad part (132b and 136b) electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line (see Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein the vibration generator further comprises:
a first power supply line electrically connected to the first electrode layer (14 of Miyoshi);
a second power supply line electrically connected to the second electrode layer (16 of Miyoshi); and
a pad part electrically connected to the first power supply line and the second power supply line,
which would also result in:
the first power supply line disposed at (near) a rear surface of the first protection member (18 of Miyoshi) facing the vibration portion;
the second power supply line disposed at (near) a front surface of the second protection member (20 of Miyoshi) facing the vibration portion;
(note: definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”),
the motivation being to provide a way to apply signals to the electrodes of Miyoshi (Jeong - ¶ 0042).
Claim(s) 16, 18, 19, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham in view of Shin et al. (US 2019/0182573).
Regarding claim 16, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1.
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose wherein the vibration member includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses a vibration member (100) that includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather (¶ 0081: 131 which is part of 100 includes plastic or glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: wherein the vibration member includes a metal material or includes a single or composite nonmetal material having one or more of wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, and leather,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 18, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member (100) includes a display member (100) comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose the display member comprising:
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel; and
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses a vibration member (100) (¶ 0063) includes a display member (100) comprising:
a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044);
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0068); and
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0084: diffuses and collects light, thus guiding it’s direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: wherein the vibration member includes a display member comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image;
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel; and
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 19, Lee-Ham-Shin discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 18, and Shin discloses further comprising a sound transfer space between the display panel (100) and the guide member (137) (Figs. 3/4/8 show there is a gap between 137 and 115 of 110) (¶ 0063: 100 vibrates to generate panel vibration sound vibration as far back as AG1, which implies that the sound passed through the space between 110 and 137, thus making the space a sound transfer space).
The teachings of Shin relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham-Shin for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 18 rejection.
Regarding claim 21, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, and Lee discloses further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose
a front member disposed at a front surface of the display member; and
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a display member (100) including a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044) (Figs. 3/4/8);
a front member (900) disposed at a front surface of the display member (see Figs. 3/4/8); and
a second cover (700) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate everything (see Figs. 3/4/8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a front member disposed at a front surface of the display member (100 of Lee); and
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover (definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster dictionary include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”, and note that the second cover (700 of Shin) will be near the first cover (1504 of Ham)) to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member,
the motivation being to cover a periphery of a front surface of the display panel (100 of Lee) (Shin - ¶ 0104) and accommodate the apparatus of Lee-Ham (Shin - ¶ 0058).
Regarding claim 22, Lee-Ham-Shin discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Additionally, Shin discloses further comprising:
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (110) (see Fig. 4);
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Fig. 4);
a first connection member (170) between the front member (900) and the second cover (700) (see Fig. 4, and ¶ 0091); and
a second connection member (160) between the display member (110) and the guide member (137) (¶ 0090: may be tape, which is a connection-providing element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a backlight disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (100 of Lee);
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight;
a first connection member between the front member (900) and the second cover (700); and
a second connection member between the display member (100 of Lee) and the guide member,
the motivation being to display an image using light (Shin - ¶ 0092), enhance a luminance characteristic of light (Shin - ¶ 0084), provide a way to attach the display panel to a panel guide (Shin - ¶ 0091), and reduce or prevent light leakage (Shin - ¶ 0090).
Regarding claim 23, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, and Lee discloses further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058);
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose
a backlight disposed at a rear surf ace of the display panel;
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight; and
a sound transfer space between the display panel and the guide member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a display member (110) including a display panel (110) configured to display an image (¶ 0044);
a backlight (all elements of 130 except 137) disposed at a rear surface of the display panel (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0068);
a guide member (137) between the display panel and the backlight (see Figs. 3/4/8) (¶ 0084: diffuses and collects light, thus guiding it’s direction); and
a sound transfer space between the display panel (110) and the guide member (137) (Figs. 3/4/8 show there is a gap between 137 and 115 of 110) (¶ 0063: 100 vibrates to generate panel vibration sound vibration as far back as AG1, which implies that the sound passed through the space between 110 and 137, thus making the space a sound transfer space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibration member (100 of Lee) with the vibration member (100 of Shin),
which would result in: further comprising:
a display member including a display panel configured to display an image;
a backlight disposed at a rear surf ace of the display panel;
a guide member between the display panel and the backlight; and
a sound transfer space between the display panel and the guide member,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one vibration member for displaying an image for another to obtain predictable results of a vibration member that displays an image. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 24, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, and Lee discloses further comprising:
a display member (100) including a display panel (100) configured to display an image (¶ 0058); and
Lee-Ham is not relied upon to disclose
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin discloses
a second cover (700) disposed at a rear surface of an apparatus to accommodate everything (see Figs. 3/4/8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: further comprising:
a second cover disposed at a rear surface of the first cover (definitions of “at” in the Merriam-Webster dictionary include “used as a function word to indicate presence or occurrence in, on, or near”, and note that the second cover (700 of Shin) will be near the first cover (1504 of Ham)) to accommodate the display member, the first cover, the vibration generating apparatus, and the support member,
the motivation being to accommodate the apparatus of Lee-Ham (Shin - ¶ 0058).
Regarding claim 25, Lee-Ham-Shin discloses the apparatus of claim 24, and Shin discloses wherein the second cover comprises a cover box (Figs. 3/4/8) for providing a closed space between a rear portion of the first cover and the second cover (it would provide such).
The teachings of Shin relied upon above are combinable with Lee-Ham-Shin for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 24 rejection.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0037164).
Regarding claim 1, Ham discloses a vibration generating apparatus for use with a vibration member (Fig. 11: 100), comprising:
a first vibration device (Fig. 11: 1300-2, excluding 1504) disposed in the first hole (Fig. 11: a portion of 1550 is in the hole defined by 1502);
a second vibration device (1300-1, excluding 1502) disposed at the second hole (see Fig. 11), the second vibration device overlapping the second hole without being disposed in the second hole (see Fig. 11); and
an enclosure member (Fig. 1B: 400 and 300; and Fig. 11: 300, 320, 330, 612) connected to a rear surface of the vibration member (100) (see Fig. 1B) and configured to cover
Ham is not relied upon to disclose a support member including the first hole and the second hole; and
the enclosure member configured to cover the support member.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses adding a support member (200) between a vibration member (100) and a vibration device (300) (Figs. 11-13, 16-17), where the support member is vibrated by a vibration device (300) to directly transfer the vibration to vibrate a vibration member (110) (¶ 0169, 0155) which overcomes issues of reduction in sound characteristic in a middle-high-pitched sound band due to non-rigidity and vibration damping ability of a reflective sheet (135) of a vibration member (100) (¶ 0144).
It would have been obvious to add a support member (200 of Kim) between the vibration member (100 of Ham) and 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham,
which would result in: a support member (200 of Kim and 1502 and 1504 of Ham) including the first hole (of 1502, on the bottom side of 200) and the second hole (of 1504, on the bottom side of 200); and
the enclosure member configured to cover the support member (enclosure member covers vibration member which means it also will cover support member which is between vibration member and enclosure member),
the motivation being to overcomes issues of reduction in sound characteristic in a middle-high-pitched sound band due to non-rigidity and vibration damping ability of a reflective sheet of a vibration member (Kim - ¶ 0144).
Regarding claim 4, Ham-Kim discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Ham discloses
wherein the first vibration device is disposed between the support member and the enclosure member and overlaps with the first hole (Fig. 11: 1300-2 is between 1504 and 612), and
wherein the second vibration device is disposed entirely behind a rear surface of the support member and between the support member and the enclosure member and overlaps with the second hole (Fig. 11: 1300-1 is behind 1502 as well as between 1502 and 612; and overlaps with 1504).
Regarding claim 5, Ham-Kim discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Ham discloses wherein the enclosure member comprises:
a bottom portion (300 and 612) covering a rear surface of each of the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Figs. 11 and 1B); and
a lateral portion (400) connected to the vibration member (see Fig. 1B) and disposed at a periphery of the bottom portion (see Fig. 1B) to cover a lateral surface of each of the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (seen from Figs. 1B and 11).
Regarding claim 7, Ham-Kim discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 5, and Lee discloses
wherein the bottom portion includes a hole (Fig. 11: hole in 300), and
wherein the second vibration device is inserted into the hole (Fig. 11: 1300-1 is in the hole in 300).
Claim(s) 1, 29, 20, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ham.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a vibration generating apparatus (Fig. 11: 1600, see ¶ 0167) for use with a vibration member (100), comprising:
a support member (Figs. 11, 15B, 14B: 301, 1700, 1700’, and 1700”) including a first hole (Fig. 15B: hole defined by 1700 and 1700’) and a second hole (Fig. 11: hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in);
a first vibration device (Fig. 11: 1600-1) disposed in the first hole (seen from Figs. 15B and 14B);
a second vibration device (Fig. 11: 1600-2) disposed at the second hole (seen from Fig. 11), ; and
an enclosure member (410) connected to a rear surface of the vibration member (Fig. 11 shows 410 connected to 301 and 302 which are parts of 300, and Fig. 5B shows 300 connected to rear surface of vibration member 100) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11).
Lee is not relied upon to disclose the second vibration device overlapping the second hole without being disposed in the second hole.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses a vibration device (Fig. 10: 1200-1 and 1200-2; or Fig. 11: 1300-1 and 1300-2) that is made up of two vibration devices in order to achieve both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (¶ 0128, 0147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (i) substitute the vibration device (1600-2) of Lee with the vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2; or 1300-1 and 1300-2) of Ham; or (ii) substitute each of the vibration devices (1600-1 and 1600-2) of Lee with a vibration device (1200-1 and 1200-2; or 1300-1 and 1300-2) of Ham
which would result in: a second vibration device (1200-2 or 1300-2 of Ham) disposed at the second hole (of Lee) (similar to how it is disposed at the hole of 300 in Figs. 10/11 of Ham), the second vibration device overlapping the second hole without being disposed in the second hole (similar to how it does so in Figs. 10/11 of Ham),
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0128).
Regarding claim 29, Lee-Ham discloses the vibration generating apparatus of claim 1, and Lee discloses wherein the first hole has a different planar shape from the second hole (Fig. 15B shows first hole has quadrilateral planar shape, and Figs. 5A/B show that second hole has a circular planar shape).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a vibration member (100);
a vibration generating apparatus (1600, see ¶ 0167)
a support member (Figs. 11, 15B, 14B: 301, 1700, 1700’, and 1700”) including a second hole (Fig. 15B: hole defined by 1700 and 1700’) and a third hole (Fig. 11: hole of 301 that 1600-2 exists in);
a first vibration device (Fig. 11: 1600-1) at the second hole (seen from Figs. 15B and 14B); and
a second vibration device (Fig. 11: 1600-2) at the third hole (seen from Fig. 11); and
an enclosure member (410) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member
Lee is not relied upon to disclose
a first cover disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member and including a first hole; and
the vibration generating apparatus (1600) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole, an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus;
the enclosure member (410) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member via the first cover .
In a similar field of endeavor, Ham discloses
a first cover (1504) disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member (100) and including a first hole (hole inside 1504) (see Fig. 11); and
a vibration generating apparatus (1300-1 and 1300-2, excluding 1504) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover (see Fig. 11) and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole (see Fig. 11), an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus (see Fig. 11), and the vibration generating apparatus being spaced apart (via 1504) from the vibration member (see Fig. 11), configured to vibrate the vibration member (¶ 0153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: substitute the elements between 100 and 612 of 1600-1 of Fig. 11 of Lee with the elements between 100 and 612 of 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Fig. 11 of Ham,
which would result in:
a first cover (1504 of Ham) disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member (100 of Lee) and including a first hole; and
the vibration generating apparatus (1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham (excluding 1504 of Ham) and 1600-2 of Lee) disposed at a rear surface of the first cover and configured to cover the first hole without being disposed in the first hole, an unoccupied space formed in the first hole between the vibration member and the vibration generating apparatus, and the vibration generating apparatus being spaced apart (via 1504 of Ham and 400 of 1600-2 of Lee) from the vibration member, configured to vibrate the vibration member, and comprising:
a support member (301, 1700, 1700’, and 1700” of Lee) including a second hole (hole defined by 1700 and 1700’ of Lee) and a third hole (hole of 301 that 1600-2 of Lee exists in);
a first vibration device (1300-1 of Ham; or 1300-1 and 1300-2 of Ham excluding 1504 of Ham) at the second hole; and
a second vibration device (1600-2 of Lee) at the third hole; and
the enclosure member (410 of Lee) connected to the rear surface of the vibration member via the first cover (Fig. 11 of Lee shows 410 connected to 100 via 400, and thus similarly would be connected to 100 via 1504 of Ham since 400 of Lee and 1504 of Ham are similar components) and configured to cover the support member, the first vibration device, and the second vibration device (see Fig. 11 of Lee),
the motivation being to output both a low-pitched sound band and a high-pitched sound band (Ham - ¶ 0147).
Regarding claim 28, Lee-Ham discloses the apparatus of claim 20, and Lee discloses wherein the second hole has a different planar shape from the third hole (Fig. 15B shows second hole has quadrilateral planar shape, and Figs. 5A/B show that third hole has a circular planar shape).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692