DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 6/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cls. 1, 11 and 20, the limitation “extending between the side face and each of (i) a plurality of interior surfaces that partially define the plurality of cylindrical channels and (ii) a plurality of exterior surfaces of the plurality of wall” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Previously in each claim, Applicant establishes “the edge is between an interior and an exterior surface of the wall” and therefore it is unclear in the limitation cited above if the Applicant is referring back to the interior and exterior surfaces previously mentioned or if they are different surfaces altogether. If the interior and exterior surfaces mentioned in both limitations are the same it is suggested that the Applicant amend the claims to use antecedent basis terminology to link the limitations. On the other hand, if the Applicant intends the limitations to refer to different structures, it is suggested that the Applicant clearly point out which structures are being referred to and use differentiating language in the claims.
Re. Cls. 2-5 and 13-16, the limitations “an interior surface,” “an exterior surface,” and “a profiled edge” render the claims indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Similarly to as discussed above, these limitations are previously established in claims 1 and 11 and therefore it is unclear if the Applicant is intending to refer back to the same structures or establish a different structure. It is suggested that the Applicant amend the claims to use antecedent basis terminology or otherwise distinguish the structures to overcome this issue.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 8 and 19 include limitations which are already included in claims 1 and 11 and therefore do not further limit the subject matter from the claims they depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson US 2022/0390042 (hereinafter Peterson) in view of Egts US 11724057 (hereinafter Egts).
Re. Cl. 1, Peterson discloses: An apparatus (Fig. 1a) comprising: a plurality of extensions (see annotated figure 1a) extending from a center of the bundle clip (see Fig. 1a), each extension of the plurality of extensions partially forming a pair of cylindrical channels (Fig. 1a) of a plurality of cylindrical channels (106, Fig. 1a) to support a pair of cables of the plurality of cables (see Fig. 2a-c); a plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a) extending from the plurality of extensions, wherein a pair of walls of the plurality of walls extend from each extension (see annotated figure 1a), each wall partially forming a respective one of the cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a);wherein each wall comprises: an edge (see annotated figure 1a), wherein the edge is between an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wall (see annotated figure 1a); and wherein an opening of each cylindrical channel forms an entrance spacing (see Fig. 1a, between 108s) between the pair of walls that is less than a diameter of a cable insert into the cylindrical channel (see Paragraph 0037), and wherein the pair of walls are resiliently deflectable (Paragraph 0036), to temporarily enlarge the entrance spacing during insertion of the cable and to return to re-establish the entrance spacing less than the diameter to retain the cable in the cylindrical channel (see Fig. 1a, by being made out of the material cited in Paragraph 0036, being used with the conduits as described in Paragraph 0037,the device is temporary deflectable to increase the entrance spacing during insertion of a cable due to the flexible qualities of the materials, and thereafter flexing back to the original spacing); and a side face (104, Fig. 1a) intersected by the plurality of cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a); and a profiled edge extending around the side face (see annotated figure 1a), the profiled edge being separate from the edge of the wall and extending between the side face and each of (i) a plurality of interior surfaces that partially define the plurality of cylindrical channels and (ii) a plurality of exterior surfaces of the plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cl. 2, Peterson discloses: : an interior surface of the wall extending to a second wall (see annotated figure 1a, the interior surface of one of the walls extends to a second wall opposite the extension to form the channel 106)
Re. Cl. 3, Peterson discloses: an exterior surface of the wall extending to a third wall (see Fig. 1a, due to the opening 109, the exterior surface of the wall extends to a third wall of a different channel 106)
Re. Cl. 4, Peterson discloses: a profiled edge between a side face of the bundle clip and a plurality of interior surfaces including the interior surface (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cl. 5, Peterson discloses: a profiled edge between a side face of the bundle clip and a plurality of exterior surfaces, including the exterior surface (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cl. 6, Peterson discloses: the plurality of cables comprising at least three cables and filling the plurality of cylindrical channels (see Fig. 2a-c)
Re. Cl. 8, Peterson discloses: an opening of the cylindrical channel forming an entrance spacing that is less than a diameter of a cable, of the plurality of cables, insert into the cylindrical channel (Paragraph 0037)
Re. Cl. 9, Peterson discloses: the wall forming a flexible channel support (see Fig. 1a)
Re. Cl. 10, Peterson discloses: a rounded tip of the wall to prevent damaging the plurality of cables (see Fig. 1a, the tip at portions 108 are rounded).
Re. Cl. 1, Peterson does not disclose the edge of the wall having a double curvature shape comprising a convex curvature that is proximal to a center of the bundle clip and a concave curvature distal to the center of the bundle clip. Egts discloses a cable support (10, Fig. 1) which includes a cylindrical channel (see Fig. 8, where the nasal cannula is positioned), wherein an edge of the wall having a double curvature shape (see annotated figure 5, concave and convex shapes) comprising a convex curvature (see annotated figure 5) that is proximal to a center of the bundle clip (see annotated 5, closer to the center of 10) and a concave curvature that is distal to the center of the bundle clip (see annotated figure 5, closer to tops of 82,84); wherein the edge is between an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wall (see annotated figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Peterson device to have the curvature of the walls of Egts with reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of the cables obscured by the bundle clips. Such a modification would expose more of the cables from the bundle clips which would be useful to enable the user to inspect potential damage to the cables or reorganize the cables.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Egts as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-10 above, and further in view of Welch US 9837802 (hereinafter Welch).
Re. Cl. 7, Peterson does not disclose a void at the center of the bundle clip. Welch discloses a bundle clip (Fig. 1) which includes a center (see Fig. 2, where 65 is located) which has a void at the center (see 65, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Peterson device to include the void at the center as disclosed by Welch with reasonable expectation of success since Welch states that such a modification reduces the amount of material and the cost (Col. 4, Lines 24-26). Such a modification would make the device cheaper to manufacture.
Claims 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Egts in view of Womack US 8744228 (hereinafter Womack).
Re. Cl. 11, Peterson discloses: A system (Fig. 2a) comprising: a bundle clip (Fig. 1a), wherein the bundle clip comprises a plurality of extensions (see annotated figure 1a) extending from a center of the bundle clip (see Fig. 1a), each extension of the plurality of extensions partially forming a pair of cylindrical channels (Fig. 1a) of a plurality of cylindrical channels (106, Fig. 1a) to support a pair of cables of the plurality of cables (see Fig. 2a-c); a plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a) extending from the plurality of extensions, wherein a pair of walls of the plurality of walls extend from each extension (see annotated figure 1a), each wall partially forming a respective one of the cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a);wherein each wall comprises: an edge (see annotated figure 1a), wherein the edge is between an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wall (see annotated figure 1a); and wherein an opening of each cylindrical channel forms an entrance spacing (see Fig. 1a, between 108s) between the pair of walls that is less than a diameter of a cable insert into the cylindrical channel (see Paragraph 0037), and wherein the pair of walls are resiliently deflectable (Paragraph 0036), to temporarily enlarge the entrance spacing during insertion of the cable and to return to re-establish the entrance spacing less than the diameter to retain the cable in the cylindrical channel (see Fig. 1a, by being made out of the material cited in Paragraph 0036, being used with the conduits as described in Paragraph 0037,the device is temporary deflectable to increase the entrance spacing during insertion of a cable due to the flexible qualities of the materials, and thereafter flexing back to the original spacing); and a side face (104, Fig. 1a) intersected by the plurality of cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a); and a profiled edge extending around the side face (see annotated figure 1a), the profiled edge being separate from the edge of the wall and extending between the side face and each of (i) a plurality of interior surfaces that partially define the plurality of cylindrical channels and (ii) a plurality of exterior surfaces of the plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a), a plurality of cables disposed within the plurality of channels (see 200, Fig. 2a-c).
Re. Cl. 13, Peterson discloses: an interior surface of the wall extending to a second wall (see annotated figure 1a, the interior surface of one of the walls extends to a second wall opposite the extension to form the channel 106)
Re. Cl. 14, Peterson discloses: an exterior surface of the wall extending to a third wall (see Fig. 1a, due to the opening 109, the exterior surface of the wall extends to a third wall of a different channel 106)
Re. Cl. 15, Peterson discloses: a profiled edge between a side face of the bundle clip and a plurality of interior surfaces including the interior surface (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cl. 16, Peterson discloses: a profiled edge between a side face of the bundle clip and a plurality of exterior surfaces, including the exterior surface (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cl. 17, Peterson discloses: the plurality of cables comprising at least three cables and filling the plurality of cylindrical channels (see Fig. 2a-c)
Re. Cl. 19, Peterson discloses: an opening of the cylindrical channel forming an entrance spacing that is less than a diameter of a cable, of the plurality of cables, insert into the cylindrical channel (Paragraph 0037).
Re. Cl. 20, Peterson discloses: A method (see Fig. 2a-c) comprising: inserting a plurality of cables (200, Fig. 2a) into a plurality of channels (106, Fig. 1a-2c) of one or more bundle clips (see Fig. 1a-2c), wherein the bundle clip of the one or more bundle clips comprises: a plurality of extensions (see annotated figure 1a) extending from a center of the bundle clip (see Fig. 1a), each extension of the plurality of extensions partially forming a pair of cylindrical channels (Fig. 1a) of a plurality of cylindrical channels (106, Fig. 1a) to support a pair of cables of the plurality of cables (see Fig. 2a-c); a plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a) extending from the plurality of extensions, wherein a pair of walls of the plurality of walls extend from each extension (see annotated figure 1a), each wall partially forming a respective one of the cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a);wherein each wall comprises: an edge (see annotated figure 1a), wherein the edge is between an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wall (see annotated figure 1a); and wherein an opening of each cylindrical channel forms an entrance spacing (see Fig. 1a, between 108s) between the pair of walls that is less than a diameter of a cable insert into the cylindrical channel (see Paragraph 0037), and wherein the pair of walls are resiliently deflectable (Paragraph 0036), to temporarily enlarge the entrance spacing during insertion of the cable and to return to re-establish the entrance spacing less than the diameter to retain the cable in the cylindrical channel (see Fig. 1a, by being made out of the material cited in Paragraph 0036, being used with the conduits as described in Paragraph 0037,the device is temporary deflectable to increase the entrance spacing during insertion of a cable due to the flexible qualities of the materials, and thereafter flexing back to the original spacing); and a side face (104, Fig. 1a) intersected by the plurality of cylindrical channels (see Fig. 1a); and a profiled edge extending around the side face (see annotated figure 1a), the profiled edge being separate from the edge of the wall and extending between the side face and each of (i) a plurality of interior surfaces that partially define the plurality of cylindrical channels and (ii) a plurality of exterior surfaces of the plurality of walls (see annotated figure 1a).
Re. Cls. 11-12 and 20, Peterson does not disclose a plurality of bundle clips, the edge of the wall having a double curvature shape comprising a convex curvature that is proximal to a center of the bundle clip and a concave curvature distal to the center of the bundle clip; at least one module connected to the plurality of cables and comprising a plurality of adapters corresponding to the plurality of cables and to the plurality of channels of the bundle clip (Cl. 11); a panel comprising the module, a rack comprising the panel and a cabinet comprising the rack (Cl. 12); the edge of the wall having a double curvature shape comprising a convex curvature that is proximal to a center of the bundle clip and a concave curvature distal to the center of the bundle clip; installing the plurality of cables to a set of telecommunications equipment (Cl. 20). Egts discloses a cable support (10, Fig. 1) which includes a cylindrical channel (see Fig. 8, where the nasal cannula is positioned), wherein an edge of the wall having a double curvature shape (see annotated figure 5, concave and convex shapes) comprising a convex curvature (see annotated figure 5) that is proximal to a center of the bundle clip (see annotated 5, closer to the center of 10) and a concave curvature that is distal to the center of the bundle clip (see annotated figure 5, closer to tops of 82,84); wherein the edge is between an interior surface and an exterior surface of the wall (see annotated figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Peterson device to have the curvature of the walls of Egts with reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of the cables obscured by the bundle clips. Such a modification would expose more of the cables from the bundle clips which would be useful to enable the user to inspect potential damage to the cables or reorganize the cables.
Re. Cls. 11-12 and 20, Peterson does not disclose a plurality of bundle clips, at least one module connected to the plurality of cables and comprising a plurality of adapters corresponding to the plurality of cables and to the plurality of channels of the bundle clip (Cl. 11); a panel comprising the module, a rack comprising the panel and a cabinet comprising the rack (Cl. 12); installing the plurality of cables to a set of telecommunications equipment (Cl. 20). Re. Cl. 11, Womack discloses a system (Fig. 7, 9), comprising: a plurality of bundle clips (130, Fig. 7) comprising a bundle clip (see Fig. 8), wherein the bundle clip comprises: a plurality of cylindrical channels (136, Fig. 5) of the bundle clip to secure a plurality of cables (see Fig. 7, 9); a plurality of cables disposed within the plurality of channels (see Fig. 7, 9); and at least one module (108, Fig. 7-9) connected to the plurality of cables and comprising a plurality of adapters (112, Fig. 3) corresponding to the plurality of cables and to the plurality of channels of the bundle clip (see Fig. 7, 9). Re. Cl. 12, Womack discloses a panel comprising the module (see Fig. 3); a rack comprising the panel (see Fig. 3, 100); and a cabinet comprising the rack (Col. 2, Lines 62-64 or Col. 4, Lines 3-8). Re. Cl. 20, Womack discloses a method (Fig. 7, 9) comprising: inserting a plurality of cables (152, Fig. 7) into a plurality of channels (36, Fig. 5) of one or more bundle clips (see 130 Fig. 7, 9), and installing the plurality of cables to a set of telecommunications equipment (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the combined Peterson and Egts device in the cable scenario disclosed by Womack with reasonable expectation of success since Womak discloses that it is known to use bundle clips in telecommunications systems for cable organization and securing (Col. 2, Lines 6-12).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of Egts in view of Womack as applied to claims 11-17 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Welch.
Re. Cl. 18, Peterson does not disclose a void at the center of the bundle clip. Welch discloses a bundle clip (Fig. 1) which includes a center (see Fig. 2, where 65 is located) which has a void at the center (see 65, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Peterson device to include the void at the center as disclosed by Welch with reasonable expectation of success since Welch states that such a modification reduces the amount of material and the cost (Col. 4, Lines 24-26). Such a modification would make the device cheaper to manufacture.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bulloch US 2020/0108200, Cripps US 9534708, Hicks US 2014/0259620, Martinez US 2007/0120023, St. John US 2015/0034776, and Walter US 2011/0042529 disclose other known cable bundle holders which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632