DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2024, 05/04/2024, and 12/29/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, on lines 1-2, there is a redundant “barometric pressure barometric pressure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland et al. (US 10876920 B1) in view of Dormody et al. (US 20200116483 A1)
.
Regarding claim 1, McFarland teaches A method (Abstract; Fig. 3) comprising:
receiving (col 5 lines 13-16 “As is shown in FIG. 1D, each of the main aerial vehicle 110 and the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 is in communication with a server 182 over a network 190.”), from a first barometer (barometer 232), a first measurement of absolute barometric pressure p1 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”) for a first moment-in-time t1 (col 6 lines 53-57 “Information or data captured by sensors aboard the aerial vehicle, and sensors aboard one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles placed in selected positions with respect to the aerial vehicle may be stored in one or more data stores (e.g., logged and time-stamped)”);
measuring, with a second barometer (barometer 272-i) in a wireless terminal (Fig. 2B, auxiliary arial vehicle 250-i; col 15 lines 5-7 “The network 290 may be any wired network, wireless network, or combination thereof, and may comprise the Internet in whole or in part.”):
(i) a second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 for a second moment-in-time t2 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”), and
(ii) a change in barometric pressure ∆p (col 4 lines 48-54 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may capture any information or data regarding flow conditions within a vicinity of the position (x, y, z).sub.0 of the main aerial vehicle 110, including but not limited to airspeeds and directions of flows of air, as well as temperatures, barometric pressures, humidities of the air, or concentrations of one or more particulates within the air.”) during a time-interval ∆t (col 6 lines 8-14 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0, or any other positions of the main aerial vehicle 110 during the evolutions.”);
generating, with an accelerometer in the wireless terminal (motion sensor 268-i; col 13 lines 48-54 “the raw information or data may reflect localized variations in acceleration, velocity or position due to erratic or temporary eccentricities of the motion of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i, or noise or drift that may be associated with an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a compass or another aspect of the motion sensors 268-i over time”), an estimate of whether or not the wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t (Fig. 3, step 345; col 18 lines 29-31 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles may be programmed to hover, e.g., to operate at constant altitudes and with zero velocities, at the selected positions.”; col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”);
when the estimate of whether or not the wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t indicates that the wireless terminal was indeed stationary, generating, with a processor in the wireless terminal (Fig. 2B, processor 252-i), an estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal (Fig. 2B altimeter 264-i, barometer 272-i; col 11 lines 7-9 “The altimeter 224 may be any device, component, system, or instrument for determining an altitude of the main aerial vehicle 210”; col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”); and
transmitting (network 290), to a location-based-application server (data processing system 280, server 282), the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal (col 16 lines 27-32 “the main aerial vehicle 210 and/or the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-1, 250-2 . . . 250-n may be adapted to transmit or receive information or data in the form of synchronous or asynchronous messages to or from one another directly, to or from the data processing system 280 via the network 290”).
McFarland does not teach the method, comprising: an estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal based on:
(i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2, and
(ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p, and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer
Dormody teaches an analogous method, comprising:
an estimate of the altitude (Equation 5) of the wireless terminal (mobile device) based on:
(i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 ([0021] lines 10-12, “P.sub.mobile is an estimate of pressure at the location of the mobile device 120 by a pressure sensor of the mobile device 120”), and
(ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p (reference pressure sensors 130; Fig. 2; Fig. 9, step 920; [0054] lines 14-16, “a measured pressure trend over the predefined time period (e.g., a change in pressure between the two most recently-received reference-level pressures)”), and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer (reference-level altitude h.sub.ref).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McFarland to include the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal of Dormody because the use of known pressures and altitudes to estimate an altitude is well known in the art and yields predictable results, such as determining a relative altitude of a mobile device compared to a known position and barometric pressures.
Regarding claim 2, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal is expressed in building floors above local ground level (Dormody: [0021] lines 3-5, “Floor-level accuracy is possible using a barometric-based location determination system, such as the network of reference pressure sensors 130 shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 3, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal is expressed in meters (Dormody: [0004] lines 15-18, “It follows that reliable reference-level pressures are needed for sensor calibration and altitude estimation when floor-level altitude accuracy to within 3 meters of error (or preferably 1 meter of error) from true altitude is desired.”) above mean sea level (Dormody: Equation 5; [0002] lines 43-44, “The reference-level altitude h.sub.ref may be any altitude and is often set at mean sea-level (MSL)”).
Regarding claim 4, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the time-interval ∆t is concurrent with the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”).
Regarding claim 5, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 1 wherein:
(i) the time-interval ∆t overlaps the majority of the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”), and
(ii) the time-interval from t1 to t2 overlaps the majority of the time-interval ∆t (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”). The measurements occurring during evolutions, at discrete times, is the time intervals being the same, and therefore overlapping for the majority of the interval.
Regarding claim 6, McFarland teaches A method comprising:
Receiving (col 5 lines 13-16 “As is shown in FIG. 1D, each of the main aerial vehicle 110 and the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 is in communication with a server 182 over a network 190.”), from a first barometer (barometer 232), a first measurement of absolute barometric pressure p1 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”) for a first moment-in-time t1 (col 6 lines 53-57 “Information or data captured by sensors aboard the aerial vehicle, and sensors aboard one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles placed in selected positions with respect to the aerial vehicle may be stored in one or more data stores (e.g., logged and time-stamped)”);
measuring, with second barometer (barometer 272-i) in a first wireless terminal (Fig. 2B, auxiliary arial vehicle 250-i; col 15 lines 5-7 “The network 290 may be any wired network, wireless network, or combination thereof, and may comprise the Internet in whole or in part.”), a second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 for a second moment-in-time t2 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”);
receiving, from a second wireless terminal (auxiliary arial vehicles 250-i, network 290):
(i) an indication of a change in barometric pressure ∆p (col 4 lines 48-54 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may capture any information or data regarding flow conditions within a vicinity of the position (x, y, z).sub.0 of the main aerial vehicle 110, including but not limited to airspeeds and directions of flows of air, as well as temperatures, barometric pressures, humidities of the air, or concentrations of one or more particulates within the air.”) at a third barometer in the second wireless terminal (barometers 272-i) during a time-interval ∆t (col 6 lines 8-14 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0, or any other positions of the main aerial vehicle 110 during the evolutions.”), and
(ii) an indication of whether or not the second wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t (Fig. 3, step 345; col 18 lines 29-31 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles may be programmed to hover, e.g., to operate at constant altitudes and with zero velocities, at the selected positions.”; col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”);
when the indication of whether or not the second wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t indicates that the second wireless terminal was indeed stationary, generating an estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal at the second moment-in-time t2 (Fig. 2B altimeter 264-i, barometer 272-i; col 11 lines 7-9 “The altimeter 224 may be any device, component, system, or instrument for determining an altitude of the main aerial vehicle 210”; col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”; col 13 lines 40-54, “raw information or data obtained from the motion sensors 268-i of any of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i may be fused or otherwise aggregated into a common set and filtered or processed in order to remove any variations or fluctuations expressed therein, and to identify net accelerations, velocities or orientations of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i based on such raw information or data, e.g., according to one or more sensor fusion algorithms or techniques. For example, the raw information or data may reflect localized variations in acceleration, velocity or position due to erratic or temporary eccentricities of the motion of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i, or noise or drift that may be associated with an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a compass or another aspect of the motion sensors 268-i over time.”); and
transmitting (network 290), to a location-based-application server (data processing system 280, server 282), the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal (col 16 lines 27-32 “the main aerial vehicle 210 and/or the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-1, 250-2 . . . 250-n may be adapted to transmit or receive information or data in the form of synchronous or asynchronous messages to or from one another directly, to or from the data processing system 280 via the network 290”).
McFarland does not teach the method, comprising:
generating an estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal at the second moment-in-time t2, based on: (i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2, and (ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p, and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer.
Dormody teaches an analogous method, comprising:
generating an estimate of the altitude (Equation 5) of the first wireless terminal (mobile device) at the second moment-in-time t2, based on:
(i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 ([0021] lines 10-12, “P.sub.mobile is an estimate of pressure at the location of the mobile device 120 by a pressure sensor of the mobile device 120”), and
(ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p (reference pressure sensors 130; Fig. 2; Fig. 9, step 920; [0054] lines 14-16, “a measured pressure trend over the predefined time period (e.g., a change in pressure between the two most recently-received reference-level pressures)”), and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer (reference-level altitude h.sub.ref).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McFarland to include the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal of Dormody because the use of known pressures and altitudes to estimate an altitude is well known in the art and yields predictable results, such as determining a relative altitude of a mobile device compared to a known position and barometric pressures.
Regarding claim 7, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal is expressed in building floors above local ground level (Dormody: [0021] lines 3-5, “Floor-level accuracy is possible using a barometric-based location determination system, such as the network of reference pressure sensors 130 shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 8, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal is expressed in meters (Dormody: [0004] lines 15-18, “It follows that reliable reference-level pressures are needed for sensor calibration and altitude estimation when floor-level altitude accuracy to within 3 meters of error (or preferably 1 meter of error) from true altitude is desired.”) above mean sea level (Dormody: Equation 5; [0002] lines 43-44, “The reference-level altitude h.sub.ref may be any altitude and is often set at mean sea-level (MSL)”).
Regarding claim 9, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the time-interval ∆t is concurrent with the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”).
Regarding claim 10, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein:
(i) the time-interval ∆t overlaps the majority of the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”), and
(ii) the time-interval from t1 to t2 overlaps the majority of the time-interval ∆t (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”). The measurements occurring during evolutions, at discrete times, is the time intervals being the same, and therefore overlapping for the majority of the interval.
Regarding claim 11, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the indication of a change in barometric pressure barometric pressure ∆p is provided by the wireless terminal explicitly (McFarland: col 5 lines 22-27 “The main aerial vehicle 110 or the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may transmit any information or data captured during the evolutions to the server 182, or receive one or more instructions regarding the evolutions or any other operations from the server 182.”; col 6 lines 8-13 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0”). The transmission of data captured, including the barometric pressure during intervals of time (which is used in the model), is the explicit providing of the indication of a change in the barometric pressure.
Regarding claim 12, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the time-interval ∆t extends from a third moment-in-time t3 to a fourth moment-in-time t4 (McFarland: col 6 lines 8-14 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0, or any other positions of the main aerial vehicle 110 during the evolutions.”; col 6 lines 53-57 “Information or data captured by sensors aboard the aerial vehicle, and sensors aboard one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles placed in selected positions with respect to the aerial vehicle may be stored in one or more data stores (e.g., logged and time-stamped)”);
wherein the indication of a change in barometric pressure barometric pressure ∆p is provided by the second wireless terminal as:
(i) a third measurement of absolute barometric pressure p3 for the third moment-in-time t3 (McFarland: col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”), and
(ii) a fourth measurement of absolute barometric pressure p4 for the fourth moment-in-time t4 (McFarland: col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”); and
further comprising determining the change in barometric pressure ∆p at the second barometer in the wireless terminal during the time-interval ∆t based on the difference of p4 minus p3 (McFarland: col 4 lines 48-54 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may capture any information or data regarding flow conditions within a vicinity of the position (x, y, z).sub.0 of the main aerial vehicle 110, including but not limited to airspeeds and directions of flows of air, as well as temperatures, barometric pressures, humidities of the air, or concentrations of one or more particulates within the air.”).
Regarding claim 13, McFarland teaches A method comprising:
receiving (col 5 lines 13-16 “As is shown in FIG. 1D, each of the main aerial vehicle 110 and the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 is in communication with a server 182 over a network 190.”), from a first barometer (barometer 232), a first measurement of absolute barometric pressure p1 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”) for a first moment-in-time t1 (col 6 lines 53-57 “Information or data captured by sensors aboard the aerial vehicle, and sensors aboard one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles placed in selected positions with respect to the aerial vehicle may be stored in one or more data stores (e.g., logged and time-stamped)”);
measuring, with a second barometer (barometer 272-i) in a first wireless terminal (Fig. 2B, auxiliary arial vehicle 250-i; col 15 lines 5-7 “The network 290 may be any wired network, wireless network, or combination thereof, and may comprise the Internet in whole or in part.”; col 5 lines 49-50 “The auxiliary aerial vehicle 150-i may further include any number of additional sensors (not shown).”; Fig. 5, one or more barometers 572), a second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 for a second moment-in-time t2 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”);
receiving (network 290), from a third barometer (barometers 272-i), an indication of a change in barometric pressure ∆p1 at the third barometer during a first time-interval ∆t1 (col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”; col 13 lines 40-54, “raw information or data obtained from the motion sensors 268-i of any of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i may be fused or otherwise aggregated into a common set and filtered or processed in order to remove any variations or fluctuations expressed therein, and to identify net accelerations, velocities or orientations of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i based on such raw information or data, e.g., according to one or more sensor fusion algorithms or techniques. For example, the raw information or data may reflect localized variations in acceleration, velocity or position due to erratic or temporary eccentricities of the motion of the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-i, or noise or drift that may be associated with an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a compass or another aspect of the motion sensors 268-i over time.”);
receiving, from a second wireless terminal (auxiliary arial vehicles 250-i, network 290):
(i) an indication of a change in barometric pressure ∆p2 (col 4 lines 48-54 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may capture any information or data regarding flow conditions within a vicinity of the position (x, y, z).sub.0 of the main aerial vehicle 110, including but not limited to airspeeds and directions of flows of air, as well as temperatures, barometric pressures, humidities of the air, or concentrations of one or more particulates within the air.”) at a fourth barometer in a second wireless terminal (Fig. 2B, auxiliary arial vehicle 250-i; col 15 lines 5-7 “The network 290 may be any wired network, wireless network, or combination thereof, and may comprise the Internet in whole or in part.”; col 5 lines 49-50 “The auxiliary aerial vehicle 150-i may further include any number of additional sensors (not shown).”; Fig. 5, one or more barometers 572) during a second time-interval ∆t2 (col 6 lines 8-14 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0, or any other positions of the main aerial vehicle 110 during the evolutions.”);
(ii) an indication of whether or not the second wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t2 (Fig. 3, step 345; col 18 lines 29-31 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles may be programmed to hover, e.g., to operate at constant altitudes and with zero velocities, at the selected positions.”; col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”);
when the indication of whether or not the second wireless terminal was stationary during the time-interval ∆t indicates that the second wireless terminal was indeed stationary, generating an estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal (Fig. 2B altimeter 264-i, barometer 272-i; col 11 lines 7-9 “The altimeter 224 may be any device, component, system, or instrument for determining an altitude of the main aerial vehicle 210”; col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”); and
transmitting (network 290), to a location-based-application server (data processing system 280, server 282), the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal (col 16 lines 27-32 “the main aerial vehicle 210 and/or the auxiliary aerial vehicles 250-1, 250-2 . . . 250-n may be adapted to transmit or receive information or data in the form of synchronous or asynchronous messages to or from one another directly, to or from the data processing system 280 via the network 290”).
McFarland does not teach the method, comprising: generating an estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal based on:
(i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2, and
(ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p1 +∆p2, and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer
Dormody teaches an analogous method, comprising: generating an estimate of the altitude (Equation 5) of the first wireless terminal (mobile device) based on:
(i) the second measurement of absolute barometric pressure p2 ([0021] lines 10-12, “P.sub.mobile is an estimate of pressure at the location of the mobile device 120 by a pressure sensor of the mobile device 120”), and
(ii) a reference barometric pressure p0 that is based on: (1) the sum of p1 +∆p1 +∆p2 (reference pressure sensors 130; Fig. 2), and (2) an estimate of the altitude of the first barometer(reference-level altitude h.sub.ref).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McFarland to include the estimate of the altitude of the wireless terminal of Dormody because the use of known pressures and altitudes to estimate an altitude is well known in the art and yields predictable results, such as determining a relative altitude of a mobile device compared to a known position and barometric pressures.
Regarding claim 14, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal is expressed in building floors above local ground level (Dormody: [0021] lines 3-5, “Floor-level accuracy is possible using a barometric-based location determination system, such as the network of reference pressure sensors 130 shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 15, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the estimate of the altitude of the first wireless terminal is expressed in meters (Dormody: [0004] lines 15-18, “It follows that reliable reference-level pressures are needed for sensor calibration and altitude estimation when floor-level altitude accuracy to within 3 meters of error (or preferably 1 meter of error) from true altitude is desired.”) above mean sea level (Dormody: Equation 5; [0002] lines 43-44, “The reference-level altitude h.sub.ref may be any altitude and is often set at mean sea-level (MSL)”).
Regarding claim 16, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the first time-interval ∆t1 together with the second time-interval ∆t2 are concurrent with the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”).
Regarding claim 17, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the first time-interval ∆t1 and the second time-interval ∆t2 together overlap a majority of the time-interval from t1 to t2 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”); and
wherein the time-interval from t1 to t2 overlaps a majority of the first time-interval ∆t1 and the second time-interval ∆t2 together (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”). The measurements occurring during evolutions, at discrete times, is the time intervals being the same, and therefore overlapping for the majority of the interval.
Regarding claim 18, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the indication of a change in barometric pressure barometric pressure ∆p1 is provided by the third barometer explicitly (col 5 lines 22-27 “The main aerial vehicle 110 or the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may transmit any information or data captured during the evolutions to the server 182, or receive one or more instructions regarding the evolutions or any other operations from the server 182.”; col 6 lines 8-13 “The model 185 may include information regarding the flow of air during intervals or periods of time during which the evolutions were performed, including velocities, directions, pressures, temperatures or other physical characteristics of the flow of air within a three-dimensional volume that includes the position (x, y, z).sub.0”). The transmission of data captured, including the barometric pressure during intervals of time (which is used in the model), is the explicit providing of the indication of a change in the barometric pressure.
Regarding claim 19, McFarland in view of Dormody teaches The method of claim 11 wherein the time-interval ∆t1 extends from a third moment-in-time t3 to a fourth moment-in-time t4 (McFarland: col 18 lines 45-50 “During intervals or periods of time at which the main aerial vehicle performs the evolutions, one or more auxiliary aerial vehicles capture and record information or data regarding their positions and orientations, as well as information or data regarding air flow conditions at such positions.”; col 18 lines 52-57 “The captured data may relate to any aspect of the main aerial vehicle's operations, including but not limited to altitudes, airspeed or courses of the main aerial vehicle, or orientations of the main aerial vehicle about one or more axes, at discrete times associated with the maneuvers.”);
wherein the indication of a change in barometric pressure barometric pressure ∆p1 is provided by the third barometer as:
(i) a third measurement of absolute barometric pressure p3 for the third moment-in-time t3 (McFarland: col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”), and
(ii) a fourth measurement of absolute barometric pressure p4 for the fourth moment-in-time t4 (McFarland: col 12 lines 6-9 “The barometer 232 may be any system for determining a level of atmospheric pressure (e.g., relative or absolute) within a vicinity of the main aerial vehicle 210.”; col 13 lines 30-33 “the barometer 272-i and the imaging device 274-i may execute any of the actions or perform any of the functions by or on behalf of auxiliary aerial vehicle 250-i that are described herein”); and
further comprising determining the change in barometric pressure ∆p at the second barometer in the wireless terminal during the time-interval ∆t based on the difference of p4 minus p3 (McFarland: col 4 lines 48-54 “the auxiliary aerial vehicles 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, 150-4 may capture any information or data regarding flow conditions within a vicinity of the position (x, y, z).sub.0 of the main aerial vehicle 110, including but not limited to airspeeds and directions of flows of air, as well as temperatures, barometric pressures, humidities of the air, or concentrations of one or more particulates within the air.”).
Conclusion
/B.B.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857