DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This action is responsive to the application filed 01/22/2024.
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 9, and 10 are independent Claims.
Drawings
2. The drawings filed 01/22/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
3. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Descriptive Title Required
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The title should be as “specific as possible” 37 CFR 1.72 while not exceeding “500 characters in length”. The title should provide “informative value” and serve to aid in the “indexing, classifying, searching” and other Official identification functions. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. MPEP606.01
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements (filed 01/22/2024, 01/25/2024, 01/30/2024, 07/23/2024, 07/25/2024, and 12/29/2025) have been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herbert (US 20230036827).
As to Claim 1:
Herbert teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a computer program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
setting, for a rotation gate that is a quantum gate executed on an encoded logical qubit, a target rotation angle set in the rotation gate to a designated rotation angle ([0089-0092]);
generating a first logical qubit having a predetermined ancilla state based on the designated rotation angle ([0080] and [0145-0149]);
executing a stochastic rotation operation that results in a forward rotation with the designated rotation angle or in an inverse rotation whose sign is opposite to a sign of the designated rotation angle by using, as input, the first logical qubit and a second logical qubit on which the rotation gate is executed ([0036-0037], [0092] and [0115-0126]); and
repeating a process for generating the first logical qubit and a process for executing the rotation operation while updating the designated rotation angle based on the target rotation angle until the rotation operation results in the forward rotation ([0091-0092] and [0126-0131]).
As to Claim 2:
Herbert teaches the process for generating the first logical qubit includes generating the first logical qubit having the ancilla state representing R.sub.Z(θ)|+> when the designated rotation angle is θ (θ is a real number) ([0080] and [0089-0091]).
As to Claim 3:
Herbert teaches the process for generating the first logical qubit includes generating the first logical qubit encoded by using a [[4, 2, 2]] code which represents a state of two logical qubits with four physical qubits and whose code distance is 2 ([0080] and [0126-0132]).
As to Claim 5:
Herbert teaches the process for generating the first logical qubit includes redoing the process for generating the first logical qubit having the ancilla state upon detecting an error about the ancilla state ([0080] and [0111-0116]).
As to Claim 6:
Herbert teaches the repeating of the process for generating the first logical qubit and the process for executing the rotation operation includes setting, when the rotation operation executed by using, as input, the first logical qubit generated by applying a first designated rotation angle results in the inverse rotation, an angle twice the first designated rotation angle as a second designated rotation angle applied to a next process for generating the first logical qubit ([0080] and[0111-0116]).
As to Claim 8:
Herbert teaches the rotation operation is a rotation operation in accordance with a gate teleportation circuit indicating a stochastic gate operation that results in the forward rotation or the inverse rotation ([0092] and [0100-0102]).
As to Claim 9:
Refer to Claim 1 above for rejection. Claim 9 is the same as Claim 1, except Claim 9 is a method Claim and Claim 1 is a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium Claims.
As to Claim 10:
Refer to Claim 1 above for rejection. Claim 10 is the same as Claim 1, except Claim 9 is an apparatus Claim and Claim 1 is a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium Claims.
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, subject to the results of a final search by the Examiner.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record, listed on PTO 892 provided to Applicant is considered to have relevancy to the claimed invention. Applicant should review each identified reference carefully before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the prior art.
Contact information
examiner should be directed to MAIKHANH NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-4093. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (8:00 am – 5:30 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TAMARA KYLE can be reached at (571)272-4241.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MAIKHANH NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144