DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 recites “the two side surfaces”; however, it is clear from the specification ( para.[0043]:The cover 162 has a top surface 162a and two opposite side surfaces 162b connected to the top surface 162a. The two slide rails 164 are respectively disposed on the two side surfaces 162b of the cover 162.) and from the structure disclosed in claim 9, that “the two side surfaces of the cover” are “the two opposite side surfaces” in claim 9 . Therefore, examiner interprets “the two side surfaces” as “ the two opposite side surfaces”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0045315 A1) in view of Yu (United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0295180 A1) and (Kr 100273707), hereinafter referred to as Kr.
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses a projection device (see 20 in fig.2), comprising: an illumination system (see para.[0029]: “The optical engine may include a lens, a lamp (or a light emitting diode)”), configured to provide an illumination light beam (see the operation of lamp of projection device 20); an optical engine module (see para.[0029] : “a DMD (Digital Micro-mirror Device)”), a lens module ([0063]: The processor 70 may control the driving device 40 such that the optical engine 20 is located in a location corresponding to the operation mode of the projector 1. The operation mode may include a first mode wherein the lens of the optical engine 20 is (e.g., completely) exposed to the outside and the housing 30 ), comprising a moving plate (see at least bottom portion of 30 in fig.1A and 2), a guide element (see guide rail: 12 in fig.2), a gearing element (see first gear 42 in fig.2), and a driving element (motor 41 in fig.2), wherein the moving plate (30 in fig.2) is disposed over the guide element (see para.[0043]: “The guide rail 12 may guide the housing 30 to move linearly. The housing 30 may further include a groove 32 which is formed along the longitudinal direction of the housing 30 on both sides of the lower surface of the housing 30, and can house the guide rail 12.”; Also see: [0044]: The guide rail 12 may be (e.g., completely) placed in the groove 32. ), the guide element (12 in fig.4A) is connected to the gearing element (12 is connected to 42 via 32 and 41 or via housing 10 in fig.2), the driving element (see 41 in fig.4A) is configured to drive the gearing element (42 in fig.4A), such that the guide element (12 in fig.4A) is linked with the moving plate (30) to move between a first position (see the open position in fig.1A) and a second position (see the closed position 1B), and the illumination system (see para.[0029]: “The optical engine may include a lens, a lamp (or a light emitting diode)”), the optical engine module (see para.[0029] : “a DMD (Digital Micro-mirror Device)”), and the lens module (([0063]: The processor 70 may control the driving device 40 such that the optical engine 20 is located in a location corresponding to the operation mode of the projector 1. The operation mode may include a first mode wherein the lens of the optical engine 20 is (e.g., completely) exposed to the outside and the housing 30) are disposed on the moving plate (see bottom of 30) but does not explicitly disclose the optical engine module is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam, and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam; a lens module, disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam, and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device and the moving plate disposed on the guide element.
Yu discloses the optical engine module (see 123 in fig.1) disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam (see fig.2, [0031]: Referring to FIG. 3, in this embodiment, the illuminating module 11 includes light emitting diodes 111 and 111′), and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam (see the operation of fig.1); a lens module (see the lens module of 121 in fig.1), disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam (see the position of lens module in fig.1), and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device (see the operation of fig.1, 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teaching of Yu so that the optical engine module is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam, and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam; a lens module, disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam, and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device to improve the functionality of the projection system by coordinating the optical engine module with the optical components thereby projecting an image.
Kim in view of Yu do not disclose wherein the moving plate is disposed on the guide element.
Kr discloses wherein the moving plate (see fig.4, 25 in fig.4) is disposed on the guide element (see 22 and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Yu with the teaching of Kr so that the moving plate is disposed on the guide element to efficiently and stably guide the moving plate by placing the moving plate and guide rail in contact.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 1, Kim discloses wherein the guide element (see 12 in fig.4) comprises a sliding rod (see 12 in fig.4) does not explicitly disclose the guide element comprises a linear sleeve, and the moving plate is disposed on the linear sleeve, wherein the guide element further comprises a sliding rod and a fixing element, wherein two ends of the sliding rod are fixed to the fixing element, the linear sleeve is sleeved on the sliding rod, and the linear sleeve moves along the sliding rod.
Kr discloses wherein the guide element (22 and 23) comprises a linear sleeve (see 31 and supporting structure in fig.4), and the moving plate (see wherein surface on which lens element 24 is mounted in fig.4) is disposed on the linear sleeve (see surface which supports lens element 24), wherein the guide element (see 20-23 in fig.4) further comprises a sliding rod (see 22 and 23) and a fixing element (see 20 and 21 in fig.4), wherein two ends of the sliding rod are fixed to the fixing element, (see fig.4 wherein the two ends of the sliding rod are fixed to the fixing element in fig.4) the linear sleeve is sleeved on the sliding rod (see wherein the linear sleeve is on the sliding rod in fig.4), and the linear sleeve (see 31 and supporting structure in fig.4) moves along the sliding rod (see the operation of fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Yu with the teaching of Kr so that the guide element comprises a linear sleeve, and the moving plate is disposed on the linear sleeve, wherein the guide element further comprises a sliding rod and a fixing element, wherein two ends of the sliding rod are fixed to the fixing element, the linear sleeve is sleeved on the sliding rod, and the linear sleeve moves along the sliding rod to efficiently and stably guide the moving plate by placing the moving plate and guide rail in contact.
With respect to claim 4, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 1, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the driving element comprises a stepper motor or a linear motor.
Kr discloses wherein the driving element comprises a stepper motor (see motor 27 under Technical Field heading) or a linear motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Yu and Kr with the teaching Kr so that the driving element comprises a stepper motor or a linear motor to reduce cost by implementing a common, reliable, simple motor system.
With respect to claim 5, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 1, Kim discloses wherein the gearing element comprises a belt, a gear (see the gear 42), a gear rack, a screw rod, a steel wire, or a combination of the above components.
With respect to claim 6, Kim in view of Yu and Kr the projection device according to claim 1, Kim discloses further comprising: a casing (see 10 in fig.2), wherein the illumination system, the optical engine module (see para.[0029]: “The optical engine may include a lens, a lamp (or a light emitting diode)”), and the adjustment module (see the mechanism disclosed in fig.2 and 4B) are located within the casing (see fig.1B), wherein the lens module ((([0063]: The operation mode may include a first mode wherein the lens of the optical engine 20 is (e.g., completely) exposed to the outside and the housing 30)) is located within the casing when the moving plate is located at the first position (see the first position in fig.1B), and the lens module protrudes out of the casing when the moving plate moves to the second position (see position 1A: “(([0063]: The operation mode may include a first mode wherein the lens of the optical engine 20 is (e.g., completely) exposed to the outside and the housing 30)”).
With respect to claim 7, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 6, Kim discloses further comprising: a sliding cover assembly (see back of 30 and see 31 in fig.2), slidably disposed on the casing (see the operation between fig.1 and fig.2), wherein the sliding cover (see the rear structure of 30 and 31) assembly is adapted to slide between a third position (see fig.1B) and a fourth position (see fig.1A), wherein the sliding cover assembly shields the lens module when the sliding cover assembly is located at the third position (see the operation in fig.1B), and at least part of the lens module is exposed when the sliding cover assembly is located at the fourth position (see position 1A: “(([0063]: The operation mode may include a first mode wherein the lens of the optical engine 20 is (e.g., completely) exposed to the outside and the housing 30)”).
With respect to claim 8, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the sliding cover assembly (see back of 30 and see 31 which define a range of positions in in fig.1A) is located within a range from the third position to the fourth position when the moving plate is located at the first position (see either an inclusive definition a range which will include the location of the cover when the projector is closed; or an exclusive definition in which the sliding cover has a plurality of locations: taking the rearmost as third position portions of the lens cover assembly will be located between the fourth position (i.e. wherein the lens is exposed) and the third position (compare fig.1A to fig.1B)) .
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0045315 A1) in view of Yu (United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0295180 A1) and (Kr 100273707), hereinafter referred to as Kr and Mori (United States Patent Application Publication US 20140211172 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the lens module comprises an ultra-short lens.
Mori discloses wherein the lens module comprises an ultra-short lens (see para.[0024]: The throw ratio of the projection optical system 2 may be, for example, 0.75 or smaller. The image projection apparatus having such a throw ratio is referred to as of a short focus type. If the throw ratio of the projection optical system 2 is particularly small and may be, for example, 0.38 or smaller, such an image projection apparatus may be referred to as of an ultra-short focus type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Yu and Kr with the teaching of Mori so that the lens module comprises an ultra-short lens to project a large image compactly, thereby enhance user experience and economize space.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0045315 A1) in view of Yu (United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0295180 A1) and (Kr 100273707), hereinafter referred to as Kr and Ozawa (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0043590).
With respect to claim 12, Kim in view of Yu and Kr discloses the projection device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the adjustment module further comprises a sensor, configured to sense a position of the moving plate.
Ozawa discloses a sensor, configured to sense a position of the moving plate (see [0041]: Further, a shutter position detection unit 25 (see FIG. 4), which is formed, for example, of photometric sensors (not shown) and detects the position of the shutter 4, is disposed inside the enclosure 2 in a portion adjacent to the shutter 4. The shutter position detection unit 25 can determine which of the following positions the shutter 4 is located in: an ON position; an open position; a closed position; and an OFF position. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Yu and Kr with the teaching of Ozawa so that the adjustment module further comprises a sensor, configured to sense a position of the moving plate to save power by turning off the light source when the system projector is closed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose a projection device, comprising: an illumination system, configured to provide an illumination light beam; an optical engine module, disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam, and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam; a lens module, disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam, and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device; and an adjustment module, comprising a moving plate, a guide element, a gearing element, and a driving element, wherein the moving plate is disposed on the guide element, the guide element is connected to the gearing element, the driving element is configured to drive the gearing element, such that the guide element is linked with the moving plate to move between a first position and a second position, and the illumination system, the optical engine module, and the lens module are disposed on the moving plate, further comprising: a casing, wherein the illumination system, the optical engine module, and the adjustment module are located within the casing, wherein the lens module is located within the casing when the moving plate is located at the first position, and the lens module protrudes out of the casing when the moving plate moves to the second position, further comprising: a sliding cover assembly, slidably disposed on the casing, wherein the sliding cover assembly is adapted to slide between a third position and a fourth position, wherein the sliding cover assembly shields the lens module when the sliding cover assembly is located at the third position, and at least part of the lens module is exposed when the sliding cover assembly is located at the fourth position, wherein the sliding cover assembly comprises: a cover, having a top surface and two opposite side surfaces connected to the top surface; two slide rails, respectively disposed on the two opposite side surfaces of the cover; a gear rack, disposed on the top surface of the cover, wherein an extension direction of the gear rack is the same as a sliding direction of the sliding cover assembly; and a sliding cover driving element, configured to drive the gear rack, such that the cover slides between the third position and the fourth position relative to the casing along the two slide rails.
Claim 10 contains allowable subject matter as it depends from claim 9.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882