DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hernandez, U.S. Patent 5,163,206.
Regarding Claim 1, Hernandez teaches:
a chain (14) comprised of a first end and a second end (fig. 1);
a first fastener (13) positioned at the first end; and a
second fastener (15) positioned at the second end.
Regarding Claim 4, see element 13 which is disclosed as a “spring ring”, meeting the limitation “spring loaded clip”.
Regarding Claim 5, see element 13 which is disclosed as a “spring ring” and meets the limitation “loop fastener”.
Regarding Claim 6, see element 15 which is disclosed as a “spring ring”, meeting the limitation “ring”.
Regarding Claim 7, see element 15 which is disclosed as a “spring ring” and meets the limitation “loop fastener”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez ‘206.
The prior art is silent with regard to the material used for the chain, but does disclose “a jewelry type chain”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the chain as being of metal because various precious metals are used in jewelry applications. Furthermore, material selection is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Leshin.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez ‘206 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dahl, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0154797.
The prior art is silent with regard to the chain comprised of rope material.
Dahl teaches a device with a chain style tether comprised of rope (see elements 3-5 and associated disclosure which repeatedly states the material as “rope”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the chain of Hernandez as being of rope material as taught by Dahl because the rope is a readily available and affordable off-the-shelf component for a tether application. Furthermore, the use of rope is considered notoriously old and known to those of ordinary skill in the art and, lastly, material selection is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Leshin.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez ‘206 as applied to claims 1 and 4-7 above, and further in view of Miller, U.S. Patent 6,418,594.
Regarding Claim 8, all aspects of the claim are taught by Hernandez ‘206 in the rejection of
Claim 1 above, but for the cover.
Miller teaches a tether device comprising a cover (16) which serves as a handle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Hernandez with a cover as taught by Miller because the cover/handle would reduce the likelihood of pinching when grasped by a user.
Regarding Claim 9, The prior arts are silent with regard to the material used for the chain, but
does disclose “a jewelry type chain”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the chain as being of metal because various precious metals are used in jewelry applications and material selection is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Leshin.
Regarding Claims 11-14, see rejections of Claims 4-7 in light of the rejection of Claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 15, this claim does not appear to disclose any limitations beyond those set forth in Claim 8 and are therefore considered obvious over the prior art as set forth in the rejection of Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 16, in the instant combination, Miller teaches the cover being plastic (see Col 6, Lns 10-15).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez-Miller as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dahl ‘797.
Hernandez-Miller is silent with regard to the chain comprised of rope material.
Dahl teaches a device with a chain style tether comprised of rope (see elements 3-5 and associated disclosure which repeatedly states the material as “rope”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the chain of Hernandez as being of rope material as taught by Dahl because the rope is a readily available and affordable off-the-shelf component for a tether application. Furthermore, the use of rope is considered notoriously old and known to those of ordinary skill in the art and, lastly, material selection is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Leshin.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez-Miller as applied to Claims 8-9 and 11-16 above, and further in view of Harrison, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0346824.
The prior arts are silent with regard to a cushion application and with regard to the particular detailed steps of the method.
Harrison clearly teaches the use of a tether in a cushion retention application (see fig. 5, elements 34, 15, 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the Hernandez-Miller combination in a cushion application as taught by Harrison because that would reduce the likelihood of losing the cushion device in certain applications, such as maritime. Examiner notes that the above method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art.
Conclusion
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677