DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 should depend from claim 1 and claim 3 should depend from claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0087872 by White (White).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses a throw lever system, said system comprising: a ring; a first reverse dovetail located on said ring; a second reverse dovetail located on said ring, wherein said second reverse dovetail is offset from said first reverse dovetail, a first lever (112/206/304) releasably coupled to said first reverse dovetail (See Figures, clearly illustrated, multiple dovetail mounting points located around the ring).
Regarding claim 2, White further discloses a second lever releasably coupled to said second reverse dovetail (See at least Figures 2-4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 3, White further discloses wherein said second lever has a dissimilar height than said first lever (See at least Figures 2-4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 4, White further discloses a blank releasably coupled to said second reverse dovetail (314).
Regarding claim 5, White further discloses wherein said first reverse dovetail comprises two protrusions which extend inwardly toward one another to create an open topped gap (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 6, White further discloses wherein said open topped gap comprises a triangular shaped base with opposing gap corners (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 7, White further discloses wherein said first lever comprises lips on a base, wherein said lips fit within said opposing gap corners (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 8, White further discloses wherein said first reverse dovetail aligns with a one o'clock orientation, and wherein said second reverse dovetail aligns with a three o-clock orientation along said ring (See at least Figure 4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 9, White further discloses wherein said first reverse dovetail comprises a dovetail coupler, and wherein said dovetail coupler does not extend completely through said ring (See at least Figures 3-4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 10, White further discloses wherein said ring comprises a firearm coupler (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 11, White discloses a firearm, said firearm comprising: a throw system, said throw system comprising: a ring; a first reverse dovetail located on said ring; a second reverse dovetail located on said ring, wherein said second reverse dovetail is offset from said first reverse dovetail; a first lever releasably coupled to said first reverse dovetail; wherein said firearm further comprises a scope (See Figures, all aspects clearly illustrated), and wherein when said ring is rotated, the power of said scope is adjusted (See entire disclosure, mentioned throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 12, White further discloses wherein said first reverse dovetail corresponds to a first desired magnification, and wherein said second reverse dovetail corresponds to a second desired magnification (See Figures, clearly illustrated, each dovetail would represent a magnification point).
Regarding claim 13, White further discloses wherein a user can switch between said first desired magnification and said second desired magnification by manipulating said first lever (See entire disclosure, mentioned throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 14, White further discloses wherein ring is rotatable relative to said firearm (See at least Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, White further discloses wherein said first reverse dovetail aligns with a one o'clock orientation, and wherein said second reverse dovetail aligns with a three o-clock orientation along said ring (See at least Figure 4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 16, White further discloses wherein said ring is fixed relative to said scope via firearm couplers (See at least Paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 17, White further discloses wherein the location of said first lever can be aligned with a desired magnification on said scope (See at least Figure 4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 18, White further discloses a second lever releasably coupled to said second reverse dovetail (See at least Figures 2-4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 19, White further discloses wherein said second lever has a dissimilar height than said first lever (See at least Figures 2-4, clearly illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White.
Regarding claim 20, White discloses the claimed invention except for the second lever having a dissimilar color to the first lever. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second lever be a dissimilar color to the first lever, since applicant has not disclosed that the different colors solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with levers having the same color.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641