DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section of the Specification does not provide parent application Serial No. 17/327,413 in its current status as an issued patent, i.e., as U.S. Patent No. 12,163,277 issuing on December 10, 2024. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2017-0054136 A to Park et al. (an English translation obtained from the PE2E database is referenced herein) (“Park”) in view of German Patent Application Publication No. 102016007281 A1 to Schaefer et al. (an English translation obtained from the PE2E database is referenced herein) (“Schaefer”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0354133 to Yan et al. (“Yan”).
With regard to Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 8, Park discloses a process of producing an artificial leather that is substantially free of volatile organic compounds, i.e. solvents, by forming a skin layer comprising a polyurethane composition onto a release paper, heating and curing the skin layer, applying a second polyurethane resin layer onto the cured skin layer to provide a binder layer, then removing the release paper from the multilayered resin composite. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Park discloses that the using a solventless polyurethane eliminates the need for volatile organic compounds. Page 2. Park discloses that the skin layer can be cured at a temperature of 150 degrees C. Page 5. Park teaches that an additional layer in the form of a fibrous monolayer can be provided to the binder layer prior to it being cured. Page 6. Park does not disclose the thickness of the skin layer to be 0.1 to 0.4 mm or the thickness of the adhesive layer to be 0.01 to 0.15 mm. Schaefer is also related to a method of producing a multilayer structure for artificial leather comprising a fibrous substrate, an adhesive comprising a polyurethane dispersion, and top layer. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Schaefer teaches that an appropriate thickness dimension for thinner adhesive layers is up to about 0.06 mm and an appropriate thickness dimension for the resin polyurethane skin layer is up to about 0.11 mm. Page 3. Moreover, with specific respect to the pre-skin layer that is in addition to the skin layer in Claim 1, Schaefer discloses that aqueous polyurethane dispersion layers can be provided optionally across several layers to provide distinct thickness values. Page 3. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the skin layer of Park with a thickness in the range of 0.1 to 0.4 mm and the adhesive layer of Park with a thickness in the range of 0.01 to 0.15 mm in order to provide suitable thickness dimensions for those materials in the use of an artificial adhesive, as shown to be known by Schaefer. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide an additional pre-skin layer with a thickness in the range of 0.05 to 0.15 mm to the composite of Park because Schaefer teaches that the thickness of the material can be optimized using multiple skin layers. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). Park does not disclose a drying step prior to curing the adhesive layer. Yan is also related to multilayer composite materials comprising polyurethane dispersions useful in the manufacture of artificial leather. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Yan teaches that drying steps at a temperature as low as 90 degrees C. are useful in the manufacture of artificial leather to remove water from layers containing water to avoid contamination from water vapor during bonding or curing stages. Paragraphs [0082] and [0083]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to dry the adhesive polyurethane layer disclosed by Park at a temperature in the range of 60 to 90 degrees C. prior to curing in order to remove water from the composite to avoid water vapor in the curing and bonding steps, as shown to be known by Yan.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Schaefer and Yan, as applied to Claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Korean Patent Application Publication No. 2018-0103307 A to Kang et al. (an English translation obtained from the PE2E database is referenced herein) (“Kang”).
With regard to Claims 2 and 6, while Park teaches avoidance of volatile organic compounds, Park does not disclose applying a lacquer layer made from polyurethane or polyacrylate dispersion. Kang is also related to artificial leather material comprising a polyurethane skin layer. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Kang discloses that after a polyurethane skin layer is peeled from release paper, it can be coated with a wetting composition comprising a polyurethane resin to enhance the gloss of the surface. Page 7. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to apply a lacquer layer made from polyurethane or polyacrylate dispersion to the polyurethane skin layer disclosed by Park in order to provide enhanced surface characteristics, such as improved gloss, as shown to be well known in the art of artificial leather by Kang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,277 (“the ‘277 Patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘177 Patent also claims a method of producing a composite structure by coating a polyurethane dispersion free of volatile organic compounds on a carrier at a similar thickness, coating an adhesive composition and drying and curing the adhesive composition at a similar temperature range, adding a support layer in the form of a fabric on the adhesive, then removing the carrier layer.
Conclusion
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789