DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 23 April 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, Sub-Species A1 and B2 in the reply filed on 23 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Claims 10 and 17 have been amended to recite a controller and a blower. This is not found persuasive because the invention of Group I still does not require the step of controlling the motor at a second speed. Therefore, the apparatus of Group I is still distinct from the method of Group II and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Group III.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the speed of rotation" in 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of “a first speed” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because a “first speed” was positively recited in line 11 of claim 1, on which claim 8 depends. As a result, it is unclear if claim 8 requires a second “first speed”, or if it is referring to the “first speed” that was already recited. For the purposes of examination, the latter interpretation will be assumed; this appears to be consistent with the as-filed disclosure.
Claim 9 is rejected for depending from indefinite claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eaves (US 2,153,500) in view of Fleszewski et al. (US 2023/0219492).
Regarding claim 1, Eaves teaches a sound-generating system (col. 1, ln. 1-2; fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (5);
a first plate (19) containing a first pattern of openings (figs. 6, 7), the first plate provided within the housing (fig. 1) and rotatable about an axis (col. 2, ln. 42-43);
a motor (6) configured to rotate the first plate (col. 2, ln. 20-22 and 42-43);
a blower (8/9) capable of providing an airflow and connected to the housing (fig. 1) such that the airflow, when provided, is directed to the first plate through the housing (col. 2, ln. 22-28),
wherein when the blower is providing the airflow and the controller is causing the motor to rotate the first plate at a first speed, a first sound of a first frequency is produced; and when the blower is providing the airflow and the controller is causing the motor to rotate the first plate at a second speed, a second sound of a second frequency is produced (col. 3, ln. 10-15).
Eaves further discloses controlling the speed of rotation of the motor (col. 5, ln. 30-43), but does not explicitly disclose a controller connected to the motor.
Fleszewski teaches a sound-generating system (100) comprising a motor (17) and a controller (102) connected to the motor (par. 41) and configured to control the speed of rotation of the motor (par. 47, 48).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sound-generating system of Eaves to further comprise a controller connected to the motor, as taught by Fleszewski, since this was a known means for providing speed control of the motor of a sound-generating system.
Regarding claim 2, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the first plate (see fig. 6) is replaceable with a second plate provided with a second pattern of openings (see fig. 7); and when the first plate is replaced with the second plate, the blower is providing the airflow, and the controller is causing the motor to rotate the second plate at the first speed, a third sound of a third frequency is produced (col. 4, ln. 39-44); and when the first plate is replaced with the second plate, the blower is providing the airflow, and the controller is causing the motor to rotate the second plate at the second speed, a fourth sound of a fourth frequency is produced (col. 3, ln. 14).
Regarding claim 3, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 1, and further including a second plate (16) containing a second pattern of openings (figs. 3-5) and provided within the housing (fig. 1) such that the airflow passes through both the first pattern of openings and the second pattern of openings when rotation of the first plate causes at least part of the first pattern of openings to overlap at least part of the second pattern of openings (col. 3, ln. 3-8).
Regarding claim 4, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 3, and Fleszewski further teaches wherein the controller is configured to modulate rotation speed of the first plate according to a pre-defined sequence such that, when the blower is providing the airflow and the controller is modulating rotation speed of the first plate according to the pre-defined sequence, a predetermined pattern of sound frequencies is produced by the system (par. 55).
Regarding claim 5, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 4, and further wherein the pre-defined pattern of sounds is configured to extinguish fire (along with the sound, air is emitted from 18, which will extinguish fire).
Regarding claim 6, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 5, and further wherein the pre-defined pattern of sounds includes a descending chirp. It is noted that this limitation further limits the “predetermined pattern” recited by claim 4, which occurs within the context of a functional limitation to the controller; therefore, since the controller disclosed by the prior art is configured to modulate the speed in any desired manner, it is interpreted to teach “wherein the pre-defined pattern of sounds includes a descending chirp”.
Regarding claim 7, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 6, and further comprising: a sleeve having a nozzle (18, see fig. 1) and extending from the housing (fig. 1), the airflow flowing from the housing through the sleeve and exiting the sleeve through the nozzle (fig. 1); a tube (11) connecting the blower to the housing (fig. 1); a handle (fig. 1 – the rear outside surface of housing 5); and a power supply (col. 2, ln. 21 – an “electric motor” inherently requires a power supply).
Regarding claim 8, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 3, and Fleszewski further teaches wherein the controller is configured to modulate rotation speed of the first plate according to input received from a user interface (106, 108, see par. 47), wherein the controller causing the motor to rotate the first plate at a first speed includes the controller causing the motor to rotate the first plate at the first speed after receiving a first input from the user interface (par. 48); and the controller is causing the motor to rotate the first plate at the second speed includes the controller causing the motor to rotate the first plate at the second speed after receiving a second input from the user interface (par. 48).
Regarding claim 9, Eaves in view of Fleszewski discloses the sound-generating system described regarding claim 8, but not explicitly further wherein the user interface includes a keyboard, a first key of the keyboard providing the first input when activated, and a second key of the keyboard providing the second input when activated.
Nevertheless, Fleszewski does teach that the user interface may be “a touch user interface display screen, an audio input device, or another type of input device” of a computing device (par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the user input of the sound-generating system of Eaves in view of Fleszewski to further include a keyboard, a first key of the keyboard providing the first input when activated, and a second key of the keyboard providing the second input when activated since a keyboard is a known “another type of input device” for a computing device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yu (US 10,501,180), Jones et al. (US 2,354,684), Varlamov (US 4,118,796), and Faust (US 4,138,673) all disclose sound-generating systems having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752