DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those not preferred or not used in therapeutic apheresis), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Furthermore, the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., microtubular) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). It is unclear what "type" was intended to convey.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20180093032 A1) in view of Sheriff et al. (US 20230090960 A1), and further in view of Storr et al. (US 20190247560 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses a targeted apheresis device ("targeted apheresis device" [0031]; FIG. 1) for removing a plurality of proinflammatory factors from a patient's blood or plasma ("remove pro-inflammatory cytokines" [0040-0045]);
wherein said device is composed of a cartridge ("apheresis cartridge" [0015]) containing multiple immobilized binding agents ("various binding agents or ligands can be immobilized" [0017]) that will specifically bind out Tumor Necrosis Factor (TNF) ("tumor necrosis factor (TNF)" [0040], [0044-0045]).
Smith fails to specify the multiple immobilized binding agents bind out C-Reactive Protein (CRP) and C1q component of complement. However, Sheriff teaches “an affinity chromatographic method for removing a substance” ([0036]) wherein the immobilized binding agents bind out C-Reactive Protein (CRP) (“compounds (ligands) are bound which have the property of specifically binding the target compound, in particular CRP” [0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Smith to incorporate the teachings of Sheriff to suitably remove CRP to limit the development of cardiovascular disease ([0005]).
Smith/Sheriff fails to specify the multiple immobilized binding agents bind out C1q component of complement. However, Storr teaches “a blood treatment device adapted to remove at least one human complement factor and/or its cleavage fragments from the blood or blood plasma of a patient” ([0018]) wherein the immobilized binding agents bind out C1q component of complement (“remove said complement factors or fragments thereof from the blood or blood plasma of a patient by immobilizing them on a matrix which is contacted with the said blood or blood plasma of the patient and wherein the matrix comprises a support and a ligand” ([0019]). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Smith/Sheriff to suitably treat “a patient suffering from a complement factor related disease” ([0001]).
Regarding Claim 2, Smith discloses the binding agent is an antibody, or an aptamer, or a binding peptide ("antibodies, aptamers, peptides" [0006]).
Regarding Claim 3, Smith discloses the support matrix is microbeads, or a microporous membrane preferably of the microtubular type used in therapeutic apheresis ("membranes commonly used in conventional apheresis and their arrangement within a typical apheresis cartridge device are used to provide the support matrix" [0015-0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, Smith discloses the patient in need will receive one or more targeted apheresis treatments ("whole blood from a patient in need is passed thru an apheresis device containing these treated membranes the harmful substance in the blood will be bound out and removed from circulation while the cleaned blood is returned to the patient" [0028]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20180093032 A1) in view of Humes et al. (US 20090060890 A1), Sheriff et al. (US 20230090960 A1), and Storr et al. (US 20190247560 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Smith discloses a targeted apheresis device ("targeted apheresis device" [0031]; FIG. 1) for removing a plurality of proinflammatory factors from a patient's blood ("remove pro-inflammatory cytokines" [0040-0045]);
wherein said device is composed of a cartridge ("apheresis cartridge" [0015]) containing: a plurality of immobilized binding agents ("various binding agents or ligands can be immobilized" [0017]) that will bind out: Tumor Necrosis Factor (TNF) ("tumor necrosis factor (TNF)" [0040], [0044-0045]).
Smith fails to specify the cartridge containing a leukocyte reduction filter. However, Humes teaches “systems, devices, and methods to treat and/or prevent inflammatory conditions” ([0003]) comprising a cartridge (“Cartridges” [0097]) containing a leukocyte reduction filter (“passageway region configured to sequester leukocytes” [0099]). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Smith to suitably inhibit or deactivate inflammatory action and prevent “inflammatory diseases and conditions” ([0012]).
Smith/Humes fails to specify the multiple immobilized binding agents bind out C-Reactive Protein (CRP) and C1q component of complement. However, Sheriff teaches “an affinity chromatographic method for removing a substance” ([0036]) wherein the immobilized binding agents bind out C-Reactive Protein (CRP) (“compounds (ligands) are bound which have the property of specifically binding the target compound, in particular CRP” [0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify according to Sheriff to suitably remove CRP to limit the development of cardiovascular disease ([0005]).
Smith/Humes/Sheriff fails to specify the multiple immobilized binding agents bind out C1q component of complement. However, Storr teaches “a blood treatment device adapted to remove at least one human complement factor and/or its cleavage fragments from the blood or blood plasma of a patient” ([0018]) wherein the immobilized binding agents bind out C1q component of complement (“remove said complement factors or fragments thereof from the blood or blood plasma of a patient by immobilizing them on a matrix which is contacted with the said blood or blood plasma of the patient and wherein the matrix comprises a support and a ligand” ([0019]). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Smith/Humes/Sheriff to suitably treat “a patient suffering from a complement factor related disease” ([0001]).
Regarding Claim 6, Smith discloses the patient in need will receive one or more targeted apheresis treatments ("whole blood from a patient in need is passed thru an apheresis device containing these treated membranes the harmful substance in the blood will be bound out and removed from circulation while the cleaned blood is returned to the patient" [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781