DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/6/2025. In the amendment, claims 1-5 are now canceled and claims 6-7 are newly added. Overall, claims 6-7 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In claims 6-7 lines 17-18 and 16-17 respectively recite “likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations” however there is no discussion as to how the function is being performed as to determining the “likelihoods” or come to this conclusion in specification of the applicant’s, and It is not enough that one skilled in the art could theoretically write a program to achieve the claimed function, rather the specification itself must explain how the claimed function is achieved. For computer-implemented functional claims, the determination of the sufficiency of the disclosure under § 112(a) requires an inquiry into whether the specification provides a disclosure of the computer and algorithm that achieve the claimed function in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. See MPEP § 2161.01(I).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claim 6
In lines 13-18 recites “to be dispatched by comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment, predicted numbers of people participating in the event at the plurality of event locations based on statistical data, or likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations” however it is not clear as to what is the scope of the claim recitation is since the claim as not clearly recite if only one of or combination of the “comparing” is required. Therefore the purposes of treating the claim under prior art, the recitations is interpreted as “at least one of:” is required.
In lines 17-18 recites “likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations” however in light of the disclosure, it is not clear as to what is required by the recitations since the specification do not teach as to how to determine or what this “likelihood” is.
In Reference to Claim 7
In lines 12-17 recites “dispatched by comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment, predicted numbers of people participating in the event at the plurality of event locations based on statistical data, or likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations” however it is not clear as to what is the scope of the claim recitation is since the claim as not clearly recite if only one of or combination of the “comparing” is required. Therefore the purposes of treating the claim under prior art, the recitations is interpreted as “at least one of:” is required.
In lines 16-17 recites “likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations” however in light of the disclosure, it is not clear as to what is required by the recitations since the specification do not teach as to how to determine or what this “likelihood” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub No. US 2021/0302995 A1 to Hashizume et. al. (Hashizume) in view of Pub No. CN 106468920 B to Sun et. al. (Sun).
In Reference to Claim 6
Hashizume teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below):
A control device comprising:
a control unit (110, 210) including a processor, a storage unit, and a communication unit (17, 317) (Hashizume teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 and paragraph [0034] “The control unit 110 includes a processing unit 11, a storage unit 12 such as a RAM or ROM, and an interface unit (I/F unit) 13 that relays transmission/receiving of signals between an external device and the processing unit 11. The processing unit 11 is a processor represented as a CPU, executes a program stored in the storage unit 12, and controls actuators such as the motors 104a and 105c based on a direction detected by an orientation detection unit 14, position information obtained by the GPS receiving unit 101, map information stored in the storage unit 12, and the like. The processing unit 11 performs drive control of the actuators via a drive circuit 16”), the processor being configured to acquire information regarding an event (e.g. “mowing grass”) held within a certain area (WA), the information including at least one of
a location of each of a plurality of event locations (WA1, WA2, WA3) within the area (WA) and a location of power supply equipment (3) installed in the area,
a number of users predicted to participate in the event at each of the plurality of event locations,
a time frame in which the event is held at each of the plurality of event locations, and
a content of the event (e.g. “mowing grass”) held at each of the plurality of event locations (WA1, WA2, WA3) (Hashizume teaches “the boundary of the work ground WA is registered in the work machine 1 in advance, but a configuration may also be adopted in which the work machine 1 recognizes the boundary based on a marker, transponder, or beacon that indicates the boundary, an area wire that generate a magnetic field, or the like. Furthermore, a configuration may also be adopted in which the shape of the work ground WA, the position of the fixed station 3 in the work ground WA, and the like are learned based on the recognized boundary” and “WA3 is determined as the work range in step S605, and the mobile station 2 is notified of the coordinates of the boundary of the region WA3 and the like in step S607. As a matter of course, if the mobile station 2 is aware of this region division in advance, it suffices for the work machine 1 to notify the mobile station 2 of where in the regions work is to be performed” and “the mobile station 2 may take a leading role by determining a work area, for example, or a configuration may also be adopted in which the management server 21 determines an area targeted for work, and both the mobile station 2 and the work machine 1 operate dependently of the management server 21”) (see Hashizume paragraph 46-47 and 67-69);
the processor (110, 210) being further configured to determine, based on the information, a location to which a power supply mobility (2) is to be dispatched by comparing
distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment,
predicted numbers of people participating in the event at the plurality of event locations based on statistical data, or
likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations; and
the processor (110, 210) being further configured to dispatch, via the communication unit (317), the power supply mobility (2) to a corresponding location (WA1, WA2, WA3) (Hashizume teaches “the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 move to the central portion of the region WA3 in accordance with such a notification, and work is performed according to the procedures in FIGS. 6 and 7” and “Furthermore, in the above embodiment, the mobile station moves to about the center of the work region, but, in a region in which the work machine 1 can perform work on a single charge, the mobile station 2 may move to a position at which the work machine 1 ends work. For example, if the route of the work machine 1 is known in advance, or is notified to the mobile station 2 by the work machine 1, the mobile station 2 can be aware of the position of the end of the route. In view of this, the mobile station 2 moves to the position or into a predetermined range of the position, and waits. With such a configuration, it is possible to further shorten the moving distance for charging the work machine 1”) (See Hashizume paragraphs 61, 68) wherein the power supply mobility (2) is provided with a function of supplying power to an electronic device (1) used by a user (see at least Hashizume Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 67-69 and 75),
wherein the power supply mobility (2) is a vehicle equipped with at least one of a battery having a predetermined capacity or a generator and provided with an external power supply function to supply power to an electronic device (1) used by a user (Hashizume teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 and paragraph [0030] “The mobile station 2 also includes a power receive coil 209 for receiving power supply from the fixed station 3 and the rectification unit 207 in order to charge the battery 206. It is desirable that the power receive coil 209 and the rectification unit 207 are respectively compatible with the power receive coil 109 and the rectification unit 107 of the work machine 1, and are provided at about the same positions (particularly, in height), respectively. As a matter of course, the fixed station 3 has a structure adapted for the power-receiving side. Accordingly, the fixed station 3 can charge not only the mobile station 2 but also the work machine 1. Note that, for example, a battery used as a power source for an electric automobile, electric two-wheeler, or the like can be reproduced and used as the battery 206. With such a configuration, it is possible to reduce the cost for the mobile station, and make it easy to use the mobile station”).
Hashizume teaches that position of the mobile station (2) should be moved to a location to shorten the moving distance for charging the work machine (1). However Hashizume do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment. For example, Sun teaches to comparing distances of the plurality of locations from the power supply equipment. Sun further teaches that performing such step provides finding the shortest distance minimum, and the preset position point corresponding to the minimum shortest distance is the preset position point closest to the current position point (see Sun Figs.2-3 and pages 5-6). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hashizume with the step of comparing distances of the plurality of locations from the power supply equipment as taught by Sun in order to determine the minimum shortest distance is the preset position point.
In Reference to Claim 7
Hashizume teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below):
A control method comprising:
acquiring, by a control unit including a processor, a storage unit, and a communication unit, information regarding an event (e.g. “mowing grass”) held in a certain area (WA) (Hashizume teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 and paragraph [0034] “The control unit 110 includes a processing unit 11, a storage unit 12 such as a RAM or ROM, and an interface unit (I/F unit) 13 that relays transmission/receiving of signals between an external device and the processing unit 11. The processing unit 11 is a processor represented as a CPU, executes a program stored in the storage unit 12, and controls actuators such as the motors 104a and 105c based on a direction detected by an orientation detection unit 14, position information obtained by the GPS receiving unit 101, map information stored in the storage unit 12, and the like. The processing unit 11 performs drive control of the actuators via a drive circuit 16”), the information including at least one of
a location of each of a plurality of event locations (WA1, WA2, WA3) within the area (WA) and a location of power supply equipment (3) installed in the area,
a number of users predicted to participate in the event at each of the plurality of event locations,
a time frame in which the event is held at each of the plurality of event locations, and
a content of the event (e.g. “mowing grass”) held at each of the plurality of event locations (WA1, WA2, WA3) (Hashizume teaches “the boundary of the work ground WA is registered in the work machine 1 in advance, but a configuration may also be adopted in which the work machine 1 recognizes the boundary based on a marker, transponder, or beacon that indicates the boundary, an area wire that generate a magnetic field, or the like. Furthermore, a configuration may also be adopted in which the shape of the work ground WA, the position of the fixed station 3 in the work ground WA, and the like are learned based on the recognized boundary” and “WA3 is determined as the work range in step S605, and the mobile station 2 is notified of the coordinates of the boundary of the region WA3 and the like in step S607. As a matter of course, if the mobile station 2 is aware of this region division in advance, it suffices for the work machine 1 to notify the mobile station 2 of where in the regions work is to be performed” and “the mobile station 2 may take a leading role by determining a work area, for example, or a configuration may also be adopted in which the management server 21 determines an area targeted for work, and both the mobile station 2 and the work machine 1 operate dependently of the management server 21”) (see Hashizume paragraph 46-47 and 67-69);
determining, by the processor (110, 210), a location to which a power supply mobility (2) is to be dispatched by comparing
distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment,
predicted numbers of people participating in the event at the plurality of event locations based on statistical data, or
likelihoods that a user will use an electronic device at the event at the plurality of event locations; and
dispatching, by the control unit (110, 210) via the communication unit, the power supply mobility to the determined location (WA1, WA2, WA3) (Hashizume teaches “the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 move to the central portion of the region WA3 in accordance with such a notification, and work is performed according to the procedures in FIGS. 6 and 7” and “Furthermore, in the above embodiment, the mobile station moves to about the center of the work region, but, in a region in which the work machine 1 can perform work on a single charge, the mobile station 2 may move to a position at which the work machine 1 ends work. For example, if the route of the work machine 1 is known in advance, or is notified to the mobile station 2 by the work machine 1, the mobile station 2 can be aware of the position of the end of the route. In view of this, the mobile station 2 moves to the position or into a predetermined range of the position, and waits. With such a configuration, it is possible to further shorten the moving distance for charging the work machine 1”) (See Hashizume paragraphs 61, 68) wherein the power supply mobility (2) is provided with a function of supplying power to an electronic device (1) used by a user (see at least Hashizume Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 67-69 and 75),
wherein the power supply mobility is a vehicle equipped with at least one of a large-capacity battery or a generator and provided with an external power supply function to supply power to an electronic device used by a user (Hashizume teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 and paragraph [0030] “The mobile station 2 also includes a power receive coil 209 for receiving power supply from the fixed station 3 and the rectification unit 207 in order to charge the battery 206. It is desirable that the power receive coil 209 and the rectification unit 207 are respectively compatible with the power receive coil 109 and the rectification unit 107 of the work machine 1, and are provided at about the same positions (particularly, in height), respectively. As a matter of course, the fixed station 3 has a structure adapted for the power-receiving side. Accordingly, the fixed station 3 can charge not only the mobile station 2 but also the work machine 1. Note that, for example, a battery used as a power source for an electric automobile, electric two-wheeler, or the like can be reproduced and used as the battery 206. With such a configuration, it is possible to reduce the cost for the mobile station, and make it easy to use the mobile station”).
Hashizume teaches that position of the mobile station (2) should be moved to a location to shorten the moving distance for charging the work machine (1). However Hashizume do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comparing distances of the plurality of event locations from the power supply equipment. For example, Sun teaches to comparing distances of the plurality of locations from the power supply equipment. Sun further teaches that performing such step provides finding the shortest distance minimum, and the preset position point corresponding to the minimum shortest distance is the preset position point closest to the current position point (see Sun Figs.2-3 and pages 5-6). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hashizume with the step of comparing distances of the plurality of locations from the power supply equipment as taught by Sun in order to determine the minimum shortest distance is the preset position point.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub No. US 2017/0174092 A1 teaches a recharging device which determines the location to be dispatched and dispatching to the location.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 December 22, 2025