DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference characters 10, 20 and 30 in Fig. 3 and 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70 in Fig. 4.
Further, the Y-axis in Figs. 5 and 6 are not labeled. It is not clear what the values 0.0 – 7.0 correspond with.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tee et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0049217 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tee et al. teach composites comprising an electrode including a polymer and conductive additives dispersed in the polymer (Abstract, claims 1 and 5), wherein the composite formed has high stretchability [0085] thereby reading on “A stretching electrode” as required by the instant claim, wherein the additives dispersed in the polymer are selected from silver nanowires, silver microparticles and silver nanoparticles [0076], and wherein the polymer is selected from polyester, polyurethane or polysiloxane (Claim 18, [0068]) thereby reading on the heat-resistance thermosetting resin.
Tee et al. do not teach the silver nanowires, silver microparticles and silver nanoparticles with the thermosetting resin together in a preferred embodiment.
However, Tee et al. teaches silver nanowires, silver microparticles and silver nanoparticles and thermosetting polymers with “sufficient specificity” that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed combination. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” silver nanowires, silver microparticles and silver nanoparticles in thermosetting resin as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Tee et al. do not particularly teach the silver nanowires having a positive charge and the silver nanoparticles having a negative charge.
However, Tee et al. teach the neighboring conductive additives in the composite can be electrically connected with one another to form a charge transport pathway through the composite [0080]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a negative charge to the silver nanoparticles and a positive charge to the silver nanowires in order to achieve the charge transport pathway, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Tee et al. teach polyurethane (Claim 18, [0068]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Tee et al. teach a mixing process that preserves the nanofeatures of the particles while dispersing particles into the polymer network, wherein the particles provide an adequate surface for wetting and will adhere without adhesives to substrates to form a laminated composite [0138] thereby reading on the stretching module as required by the instant claims.
Regarding claim 7, Tee et al. teach the particles provide a corrugated surface [0138] thereby reading on the uneven structure as required by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Tee et al. teach the laminated composite having a rear surface of a stretching film (Fig. 29, [0138]).
Regarding claim 9, Tee et al. teach conductive bonds [0137].
Regarding claims 10-11, Tee et al. teach the composite comprising the electrode having four edges applied to an electronic component (Fig. 28, [0038]).
Conclusion
/ARRIE L REUTHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764