Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments dated 4/14/26 have been entered. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. Claims 8 and 20 have been cancelled. Claim 26 has been newly added. This leaves claims 1-7, 9-19, and 21-26 currently active and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 requires the narrower range of losing adhesion at 60 °C or greater.
Claim 18 broadens that to 30 °C or greater.
Claim 19 repeats the 60 °C or greater limitation.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 11, 13-19, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laberge Lebel et al. (US 2022/0282672) in view of Ueda et al. (JP 2008-208625, Espacenet translation, previously provided).
Regarding claims 1-6, 11, and 16-25, Laberge Lebel teaches a heat resistant composite material comprising first and second fabric layers in contact with/adhered to each other (Laberge Lebel para 41, 50, 51, items 31) where the first and second fabric layers can separate from each other under the application of heat at a specific (first) portion, but remain adhered in (second) portions not subjected to heat (Laberge Lebel para 41, 50, 51). Laberge Lebel further teaches that the cloth layers may be a fiberglass (Laberge Lebel para 42), and that the expandable (“configured to expand”) fire-resistant material may be vermiculite, graphite, and/or other intumescent materials (Laberge Lebel para 36, 37, 40, 51).
Laberge Lebel is silent with respect to the adhesive used being a fabric or wood glue, and thus to the threshold amount of heat for interlaminar separation being 60 °C or greater.
Laberge Lebel and Ueda are related in the field of heat resistant composites that expand on application of heat (Ueda para 25). Ueda teaches a multilayer laminate (Ueda para 24) that utilizes vinyl acetates (commonly wood glues) or vinyl alcohol copolymers (commonly fabric glues) to bind individual layers together (Ueda para 15).
It is respectfully noted that Applicant does not provide examples of what constitutes ‘wood’ or ‘fabric’ glues, so functionally any adhesives capable of adhering fabrics or wood would in fact read on this limitation, and would further include many if not all of the adhesives and adhesive classes recited within Ueda such as acrylic adhesives, polyurethane adhesives, epoxy adhesives, silicone adhesives, and/or rubber adhesives.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize any one of the adhesives of Ueda, such as a vinyl acetate, styrene butadiene rubber, and/or acrylic of Ueda as the adhesive of Laberge Lebel because polyvinyl acetate is a known effective adhesive in heat resistant laminates.
Further, as these are the same materials as utilized by Applicant, e.g. at as-filed paragraph 47, it would intrinsically possess the same properties such as threshold amount of heat to lose adhesion between layers being 60 °C or greater.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 10, Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda teaches a heat resistant composite material as above for claim 1. Laberge Lebel further teaches that the fire-resistant material may be mixed with a polymer, particularly elastomers (Lagerge Lebel para 35, 37).
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda is silent with respect to the polymer being polyvinyl alcohol, acrylic, styrene-butadiene rubber, or combinations thereof.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda and Ueda are related in the field of heat resistant composites that expand on application of heat (Ueda para 25). Ueda further teaches that styrene-butadiene rubber and acrylics may be used as a matrix for the expandable material from a view of not degrading the heat resistance (Ueda para 26-27). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize either a styrene-butadiene rubber or an acrylic resin as taught by Ueda as the matrix material of Laberge Lebel because this would provide a matrix that does not degrade the heat resistance of the laminate.
Regarding claim 13, Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda teaches a heat resistant composite material as above for claim 1.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda is silent with respect to the composite material thickness.
Laberge Lebel and Ueda are related in the field of heat resistant composites that expand on application of heat (Ueda para 25). Ueda teaches an appropriate thickness is from 0.1-4 mm, less than 0.1 mm the fire resistance degrades above 4 mm, the overall thickness becomes excessive. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thickness of the composite material of Laberge Lebel to be from 0.1-4 mm as taught by Ueda because this provides a good balance of heat resistance and thin material. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the thickness taught by Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda overlaps with the instantly claimed thickness and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda teaches a heat resistant composite material as above for claim 1. While Laberge Lebel does not explicitly use the word ‘coating,’ Laberge Lebel does teach ‘embedding’ the intumescent material into one of the cloth layers (Laberge Lebel para 46).
Claims 7, 9, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (US 2008/00638875).
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 26, Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda teaches a heat resistant composite material as above for claim 1. Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda further teaches the adhesive may be considered a fabric or wood glue, as above for claim 1.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda is silent with respect to the presence of basalt for the fire-resistant material.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda and Robinson are related in the field of heat resistant laminates. Robinson teaches the use of basalt fibers (Robinson para 90, 137) because they have a thermal resistance of at least 400 °C providing laminates with particularly high heat resistance (Robinson para 137). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate basalt fibers into the fire resistant material of Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda because basalt has particularly high heat resistance.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richardson, III et al. (US 2015/0353184).
Regarding claim 12, Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda teaches a heat resistant composite material as above for claim 1.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda is silent with respect to the composite further comprising a binder between the first and second layers at an amount of less than 2 grams/m2.
Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda and Richardson are related in the field of multilayer flame barrier laminates. Richardson teaches using an areal weight of adhesive between layers of 2-40 grams/m2 (Richardson, abs). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the adhesive of Richardson and utilize that amount of adhesive in the laminate of Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the amount of adhesive taught by Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda in further view of Richardson overlaps with the instantly claimed amount of adhesive and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/14/26, with respect to the 102 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 11, 14-17, 22-25 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/26 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7-8 that Ueda and thus Laberge Lebel in view of Ueda does not teach the claimed wood or fabric glues. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As in the updated rejection, above, Applicant does not provide examples of what constitutes ‘wood’ or ‘fabric’ glues, so functionally any adhesives capable of adhering fabrics or wood would in fact read on this limitation, and would further include many if not all of the adhesives and adhesive classes recited within Ueda such as acrylic adhesives, polyurethane adhesives, epoxy adhesives, silicone adhesives, and/or rubber adhesives, such as Ueda’s styrene-butadiene rubber.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.F/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 7/24/26
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781