Drawings
The drawings submitted on 01/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 01/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz et al. (US 20010012147 A1, "Lutz") in view of Harris et al. (WO 2004061486 A2, "Harris”).
Regarding claim 1, Lutz teaches a method of amplification in an optical fiber having an input end for receiving, from one or more laser transmitters, one or more communication wavelengths of laser light and an output end for outputting, to one or more laser receivers, the one or more communication wavelengths of laser light, the method comprising (Lutz, Para [0027], Fig 13, where an optical fiber amplifier is used within an optical network and a light signal with a wavelength is transmitted by transmitting node 101 and received by receiving node 111 after being amplified):
(a) injecting into the optical fiber, by one or more pump lasers, between the input and the output end of the optical fiber, a first set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1, and first pump source 9 generates light of a 980 nm or 1480 nm wavelength); and
(b) injecting into the optical fiber, by the one or more pump lasers, between the input and the output end of the optical fiber, a second set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light, wherein (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1, and second pump source 9 generates light of a 980 nm or 1480 nm wavelength):
However, Lutz does not teach the wavelengths of the first and second sets of pump laser light injected into the optical fiber are different from each other in a range between 968 nm and 982 nm or between 1470 nm and 1490 nm and create an inversion in the optical fiber; and
the wavelengths of the first and second sets of pump laser light injected into the optical fiber are different from the one or more communication wavelengths of laser light.
On the other hand, Harris teaches two different pump laser light wavelengths ranging within the 968 nm to 982 nm (Harris, Para [0036], Fig 5, where the first pump laser is pump light 72 (975 nm) and the second pump laser is pump light 65 (977 nm) achieve full inversion of the energy state of dopant atoms in the amplification fiber 64 and hence, a better noise performance) with a signal light transmission in the C-band (Harris, Para [0036], Fig 5, where the signal light is 1530 nm and 1545 nm and pump light 72 and 65 have wavelengths of 975 nm and 977 nm)
.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris, by using two pump lights with differing wavelengths from each other and from the transmission signal light to improve noise performance of an optical amplifier. (Harris Para [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light and second set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light are injected into the optical fiber in the same direction toward the output end of the optical fiber (Lutz, Para [0030], Fig 1, where to pump light co directionally only pump source 9 pumps light toward the output side while pump source 15 is omitted. Therefore collectively the first and second sets of pump laser light inject light into the optical fiber toward the output end of the fiber).
Regarding claim 3, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light and second set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light are injected into the optical fiber in the same direction toward the input end of the optical fiber (Lutz, Para [0030], Fig 1, where to pump light counter directionally only pump source 15 pumps light toward the input side while pump source 9 is omitted. Therefore collectively the first and second sets of pump laser light inject light into the optical fiber toward the output end of the fiber).
Regarding claim 4, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light and second set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light are injected into the optical fiber in different directions (Lutz, Para [0030], Fig 1, where to pump light bi directionally both pump source 15 and pump source 9 pump light in both directions).
Regarding claim 5, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes one or more wavelengths in the range between 968 nm and 982 nm (Harris, Para [0036], Fig 5, where the first pump laser is pump light 72 (975 nm) and the second pump laser is pump light 65 (977 nm) achieve full inversion of the energy state of dopant atoms in the amplification fiber 64 and hence, a better noise performance); and
the second set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes one or more wavelengths in the range between 968 nm and 982 nm (Harris, Para [0036], Fig 5, where the signal light is 1530 nm and 1545 nm and pump light 72 and 65 have wavelengths of 975 nm and 977 nm).
Regarding claim 6, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication wavelengths of laser light comprise one or more wavelengths in one or more of a C-band, an L-band, an S-band, an O-band, an E-band and a U-band (Harris, Para [0036], Fig 5, where the signal light is 1530 nm and 1545 nm which is in the C band).
Regarding claim 7, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However the present embodiment of Lutz in view of Harris does not teach wherein injecting the first and second sets of one or more wavelengths of the pump laser light into the optical fiber produces gain in the one or more communication wavelengths of laser light.
On the other hand, a second embodiment of Lutz teaches a production of gain when pumping light through an optical fiber (Lutz, Para [0040]-[0041], Fig 12, where the noise and gain flattening filter can be used to increase gain and decrease noise when bidirectionally pumped).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris, by using a noise and gain flattening fiber to increase gain and reduce noise when pumped by a pump light . (Lutz Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first and second sets of the one or more wavelengths of the pump laser light are produced from two laser chips (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1, and therefore two lasers).
Regarding claim 14, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the optical fiber is doped with erbium (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1)
Regarding claim 15, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first and second sets of wavelengths are injected into the optical fiber via one or more combiners or multiplexers (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where WDM power combiner or coupler 7 has an input from pump source 9 and pump source 15)
Regarding claim 16, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes one or more wavelengths in the range between 1470 nm and 1490 nm (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1, and first pump source 9 generates light of a 980 nm or 1480 nm wavelength); and
the second set of one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes one or more wavelengths in the range between 1470 nm and 1490 nm (Lutz, Para [0028]-[0029], Fig 1, where first pump source 9 and second pump source 17 act in opposite injection directions into erbium doped fiber 1, and second pump source 9 generates light of a 980 nm or 1480 nm wavelength).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz in view of Harris and Dykaar (US 20050220403 A1, “Dykaar”).
Regarding claim 8, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lutz in view of Harris does not teach wherein the first and second sets of the one or more wavelengths of the pump laser light are produced from two sides of a single laser chip.
On the other hand, Dykaar teaches the pumping of laser light from two sides of a single laser to average out noise (Dykaar, Para [0084]-[0085], Fig 14, where the two sided pump lasers 20C pump light in two directions from either a single laser to average out noise)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris and Dykaar, to use a dual sided pump light for pumping a fiber from two sides to average out noise (Dykaar Para [0084]-[0085]).
Claims 9 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz in view of Harris and Aozasa et al. (US 20220337025 A1, “Aozasa”).
Regarding claim 9, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lutz in view of Harris does not teach, wherein the first and second sets of the one or more wavelengths of the pump laser light are produced from two laser chips.
On the other hand, Aozasa teaches multiple excitation lights generated by a single pump source in a combined excided light (Aozasa, Para [0028], Fig 1, where the single multimode excitation light demultiplexed into two paths is generated from a single generator 31 and therefore one side consisting of both outputs of light).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris and Aozasa to use a single excitation light to generate multiple wavelengths of excited light when demultiplexed to simplify structure and reduce power consumption (Aozasa Para [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lutz in view of Harris does not teach, wherein the first and second sets of the one or more wavelengths of the pump laser light are produced from one side of a single laser.
On the other hand, Aozasa teaches multiple excitation lights generated by a single pump source in a combined excided light (Aozasa, Para [0028], Fig 1, where the single multimode excitation light demultiplexed into two paths is generated from a single generator 31 and therefore one side consisting of both outputs of light).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris and Aozasa to use a single excitation light to generate multiple wavelengths of excited light when demultiplexed to simplify structure and reduce power consumption (Aozasa Para [0030]).
Claims 12 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz in view of Harris and Aldeghi et al. (WO 2004038876 A1, “Aldeghi”).
Regarding claim 12, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lutz in view of Harris does not teach the first set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes a wavelength of 974 nm ± 1.0 nm; and
the second set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes a wavelength of 976 nm ± 1.0 nm.
On the other hand, Aldeghi teaches a wavelength range for pump light of an optical amplifier from 970 nm to 986 nm (Aldeghi, Pp. 8, lin. 32- Pp. 9, lin. 2, Fig 2, where the first pump source 202 and second pump source 203 is preferably between 970-986 nm)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris and Aldeghi to use pump lights functioning within a range of wavelengths to increase the efficiency of pump absorption in a doped fiber (Aldeghi Pp. 9, lin 4-22)
Regarding claim 13, Lutz in view of Harris teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Lutz in view of Harris does not teach the first set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes wavelengths of 974 nm ± 1.0 nm and 976 nm ± 1.0 nm; and
the second set of the one or more wavelengths of pump laser light includes wavelengths of 972 nm ± 1.0 nm and 978 nm ± 1.0 nm or 976 nm ± 1.0 nm and 978 nm ± 1.0 nm.
On the other hand, Aldeghi teaches a wavelength range for pump light of an optical amplifier from 970 nm to 986 nm (Aldeghi, Pp. 8, lin. 32- Pp. 9, lin. 2, Fig 2, where the first pump source 202 and second pump source 203 is preferably between 970-986 nm)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of amplification in an optical fiber of Lutz in view of Harris and Aldeghi to use pump lights functioning within a range of wavelengths to increase the efficiency of pump absorption in a doped fiber (Aldeghi Pp. 9, lin 4-22)
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645