DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 11-13, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farres et al. (US 2022/0250598).
In Re claims 1 and 7, Farres et al. disclose a vehicle (par. 0002), comprising: a park brake (4); a service brake (1); a controller (2, 20) configured to be able to receive a park brake request (see 7 and par. 0133+) in a mode when the vehicle is moving (service braking mode), and attempt to simultaneously apply both the parking and service brake; and a valve (see 8, 20, and 40) provides an anti-compounding function when sufficient pressure exists (pars. 0133-0137; figs. 6 and 7). The examiner notes that use of the service brakes in a normal driving condition (Farres et al disclose “rolling” in par. 0099) is understood the encompass applicant’s claimed threshold.
In Re claim 2, see pneumatic isolation valve (20).
In Re claims 3, 8, and 18, the braking operations are made by a driver (Abstract, par. 0099, 0106).
In Re claims 11-13, see Abstract and par. 0133 regarding a threshold pressure (Th_1).
In Re claim 15, see rejection of claims 1 and 7 above regarding the apparatus claims. Farres et al. further disclose that the vehicle can be a tractor/trailer vehicle (par. 0096).
In Re claim 16, the threshold pressure (Th_1) is interpreted to encompass applicant’s claimed “lack of response of the service brake”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farres et al. (US 2022/0250598) as applied to claims 1, 7, and 15 above, and further in view of Hayes et al. (US 2025/0033616)).
In Re claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 17, and 19, Farres et al. fail to disclose the use of an automated driving module/system (ADM or ADS) to make automated external braking commands.
Hayes et al. disclose equipping a tractor/trailer type vehicle (par/. 0001) with an ADS (130) to externally provide braking operation requests based on sensed operation parameters (see par. 0017). An automated driving system in a tractor/trailer enables the vehicle to navigate and operate on highways with little to no human input, managing essential driving tasks like acceleration, braking, and steering to improve logistics efficiency and road safety. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Farres et al. to include an ADS, as taught by Hayes et al., to enable the vehicle to navigate and operate with little to no human input, improving operational efficiency and road safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616