DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This Office action is responsive to the communications filed October 16, 2025. Claims 9-13 and 15 were amended. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 9-16.
Applicant has amended the specification, thereby the objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
As per the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Applicant disagrees that the claims are directed to transmitting payment information, but instead determining an exchange rate between two metaverse currencies and authenticating sufficient funds for completing a blockchain transaction. Also, it is asserted that the claims provide an improvement “in convenience for users, who do not need to maintain accounts and balances of multiple metaverse currencies, as well as vastly increasing the potential customer base for merchants, that can accept payments with additional metaverse currencies without having to maintain balances and operations using the additional currencies.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. For instance, claim 1 recites “a method for facilitating direct metaverse payments via metaverse currency without direct currency conversion, comprising:…transmitting, by a transmitter of the processing server, at least a destination address for a second blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency and the desired transaction amount to the computing device.” Hence, this is a directed to transmitting payment information. The claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The certain methods of organizing human activity abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts related to fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II.
In terms of the improvements, the particulars/algorithms to improve the technology are not described in the claims or specification.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the exchange of two different metaverse currencies within a single metaverse environment”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed January 22, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The Non-Patent Literature Documents provided by Applicant is not legible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites receiving a transaction request, the transaction request including at least a desired metaverse currency, one or more desired products and/or services, and a wallet identifier for a first blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency; determining (i) a preferred transaction amount for a preferred metaverse currency based on at least the one or more desired products, and (ii) a desired transaction amount for the desired metaverse currency based on at least the preferred transaction amount and an exchange rate; authenticating a balance of the first blockchain wallet based on at least the wallet identifier, wherein the balance is greater than or equal to the determined desired transaction amount; and transmitting at least a destination address for a second blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency and the desired transaction amount to the computing device. Claim 9 recites similar language. The dependent claims recite steps such as identifying a blockchain data entry stored in a blockchain associated with the desired metaverse currency that includes at least the destination address, verifying that a transferred transaction amount in the blockchain data entry is greater than or equal to the desired transaction amount, and transmitting at least the determined transaction amount and preferred metaverse currency.
Hence, claims 1-20 are directed to transmitting payment information. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is categorized under the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
The claims recite the following additional elements: server, computing device, metaverse currency, blockchain wallet, processor, transmitter, and exchange platform. The specification of the present invention states the following:
[0016] In the system 100, blockchains can be operated by a blockchain network 104. The blockchain network 104 can be comprised of a plurality of blockchain nodes 106. Each blockchain node 106 can be a computing system, such as illustrated in FIGS. 2 or 5, discussed in more detail below, that is configured to perform functions related to the processing and management of the blockchain, including the generation of blockchain data values, verification of proposed blockchain transactions, verification of digital signatures, generation of new blocks, validation of new blocks, and maintenance of a copy of the blockchain. Each metaverse currency can be associated with a blockchain. Thus, while only a single blockchain network 104 is illustrated, it can be appreciated that any number of blockchain networks 104 can be a part of the system 100. In some cases, a single blockchain network 104 can manage a single blockchain for a single metaverse currency. In other cases, a blockchain network 104 can manage multiple blockchains for multiple respective metaverse currencies.
[0017] The blockchain can be a distributed ledger that is comprised of at least a plurality of blocks. Each block can include at least a block header and one or more data values. Each block header can include at least a timestamp, a block reference value, and a data reference value. The timestamp can be a time at which the block header was generated and can be represented using any suitable method (e.g., UNIX timestamp, DateTime, etc.). The block reference value can be a value that references an earlier block (e.g., based on timestamp) in the blockchain. In some embodiments, a block reference value in a block header can be a reference to the block header of the most recently added block prior to the respective block. In an exemplary embodiment, the block reference value can be a hash value generated via the hashing of the block header of the most recently added block. The data reference value can similarly be a reference to the one or more data values stored in the block that includes the block header. In an exemplary embodiment, the data reference value can be a hash value generated via the hashing of the one or more data values. For instance, the block reference value can be the root of a Merkle tree generated using the one or more data values.
[0016]In the system 100, blockchains can be operated by a blockchain network 104. The blockchain network 104 can be comprised of a plurality of blockchain nodes 106. Each blockchain node 106 can be a computing system, such as illustrated in FIGS. 2 or 5, discussed in more detail below, that is configured to perform functions related to the processing and management of the blockchain, including the generation of blockchain data values, verification of proposed blockchain transactions, verification of digital signatures, generation of new blocks, validation of new blocks, and maintenance of a copy of the blockchain. Each metaverse currency can be associated with a blockchain. Thus, while only a single blockchain network 104 is illustrated, it can be appreciated that any number of blockchain networks 104 can be a part of the system 100. In some cases, a single blockchain network 104 can manage a single blockchain for a single metaverse currency. In other cases, a blockchain network 104 can manage multiple blockchains for multiple respective metaverse currencies.
[0017]The blockchain can be a distributed ledger that is comprised of at least a plurality of blocks. Each block can include at least a block header and one or more data values. Each block header can include at least a timestamp, a block reference value, and a data reference value. The timestamp can be a time at which the block header was generated and can be represented using any suitable method (e.g., UNIX timestamp, DateTime, etc.). The block reference value can be a value that references an earlier block (e.g., based on timestamp) in the blockchain. In some embodiments, a block reference value in a block header can be a reference to the block header of the most recently added block prior to the respective block. In an exemplary embodiment, the block reference value can be a hash value generated via the hashing of the block header of the most recently added block. The data reference value can similarly be a reference to the one or more data values stored in the block that includes the block header. In an exemplary embodiment, the data reference value can be a hash value generated via the hashing of the one or more data values. For instance, the block reference value can be the root of a Merkle tree generated using the one or more data values.
[0019] In some embodiments, the blockchain can be used to store information regarding blockchain transactions conducted between two different blockchain wallets. A blockchain wallet can include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that is used to generate digital signatures that serve as authorization by a payer for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the respective blockchain network 104 using the public key of the cryptographic key pair. In some cases, the term “blockchain wallet” can refer specifically to the private key. In other cases, the term “blockchain wallet” can refer to a computing device (e.g., processing server 102) that stores the private key for use thereof in blockchain transactions. For instance, each computing device can each have their own private key for respective cryptographic key pairs and can each be a blockchain wallet for use in transactions with the blockchain associated with the blockchain network. Computing devices can be any type of device suitable to store and utilize a blockchain wallet, such as a desktop computer, laptop computer, notebook computer, tablet computer, cellular phone, smart phone, smart watch, smart television, wearable computing device, implantable computing device, etc.
[0028]In order for the metaverse merchant, e.g., the processing server 102 to receive payment via any metaverse currency desired by users but still operate using their preferred metaverse currency, the system 100 can further include an exchange platform 108. The exchange platform 108 can be an entity that is configured to exchange metaverse currencies from one currency to another. The exchange platform 108 can be a metaverse merchant, e.g., the processing server 102, a blockchain node 106, or an entity that receives payment in one metaverse currency in exchange for making a payment in a second metaverse currency using a specified exchange rate.
[0036] The processing server 102 can include a receiving device 202. The receiving device 202 can be configured to receive data over one or more networks via one or more network protocols. In some instances, the receiving device 202 can be configured to receive data from blockchain nodes 106, computing devices 110, exchange platforms 108, and other systems and entities via one or more communication methods, such as radio frequency, local area networks, wireless area networks, cellular communication networks, Bluetooth, the Internet, etc. In some embodiments, the receiving device 202 can be comprised of multiple devices, such as different receiving devices for receiving data over different networks, such as a first receiving device for receiving data over a local area network and a second receiving device for receiving data via the Internet. The receiving device 202 can receive electronically transmitted data signals, where data can be superimposed or otherwise encoded on the data signal and decoded, parsed, read, or otherwise obtained via receipt of the data signal by the receiving device 202. In some instances, the receiving device 202 can include a parsing module for parsing the received data signal to obtain the data superimposed thereon. For example, the receiving device 202 can include a parser program configured to receive and transform the received data signal into usable input for the functions performed by the processing device to carry out the methods and systems described herein.
[0045] The processing server 102 can also include a transmitting device 224. The transmitting device 224 can be configured to transmit data over one or more networks via one or more network protocols. In some instances, the transmitting device 224 can be configured to transmit data to blockchain nodes 106, computing devices 110, exchange platforms 108, and other entities via one or more communication methods, local area networks, wireless area networks, cellular communication, Bluetooth, radio frequency, the Internet, etc. In some embodiments, the transmitting device 224 can be comprised of multiple devices, such as different transmitting devices for transmitting data over different networks, such as a first transmitting device for transmitting data over a local area network and a second transmitting device for transmitting data via the Internet. The transmitting device 224 can electronically transmit data signals that have data superimposed that can be parsed by a receiving computing device. In some instances, the transmitting device 224 can include one or more modules for superimposing, encoding, or otherwise formatting data into data signals suitable for transmission.
However, the claims do not include additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than recitation of generic components that serves to perform generic functions. These functions are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Moreover, the limitations generically, referring to transmitting payment information categorized under the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping do not constitute significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. too 2023/0351353 to Saraf et al. (“Saraf”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0156828 to Sliwka et al. (“Sliwka”).
As per claim 1, Saraf discloses receiving, by a receiver of a processing server, a transaction request from a computing device, the transaction request including at least a desired metaverse currency, one or more desired products and/or services (Fig. 3, paragraphs [0052]-[0053]) and a wallet identifier for a first blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency (paragraph [0038]), [0054],[055]); determining, by a processor of the processing server, (i) a preferred transaction amount for a preferred metaverse currency based on at least the one or more desired products, and (ii) a desired transaction amount for the desired metaverse currency based on at least the preferred transaction amount and an exchange rate (paragraphs [0059], [0060], and [0064]); transmitting the desired amount to the computing device (paragraph [0067).
Sharaf does not expressly disclose authenticating, by the processor of the processing server, a balance of the first blockchain wallet based on at least the wallet identifier, wherein the balance is greater than or equal to the determined desired transaction amount; and transmitting, by a transmitter of the processing server, at least a destination address for a second blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency.
Sliwka discloses authenticating, by the processor of the processing server, a balance of the first blockchain wallet based on at least the wallet identifier, wherein the balance is greater than or equal to the determined desired transaction amount (paragraphs [0151] and [0298]); and transmitting, by a transmitter of the processing server, at least a destination address for a second blockchain wallet associated with the desired metaverse currency and the desired transaction amount to the computing device (paragraph [1474]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the elements of Sliwka into the system of Saraf. Hence, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Sharaf discloses identifying, by the processor of the processing server, a blockchain data entry stored in a blockchain associated with the desired metaverse currency that includes at least the destination address (paragraph [0066] – the state of the blockchain may be updated to reflect the ownership). Sliwka discloses verifying, by the processor of the processing server, that a transferred transaction amount in the blockchain data entry is greater than or equal to the desired transaction amount (paragraph [0700]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the elements of Sliwka into the system of Saraf. Hence, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 3, Sharaf in view of Sliwka discloses transmitting, by the transmitter of the processing server, at least the determined transaction amount and preferred metaverse currency to an exchange platform system (Sharaf at paragraph [0064] and Sliwka at paragraphs [0186], [0761]).
As er claim 4, Sliwka discloses transmitting, by the transmitter of the processing server, a blockchain transaction to a blockchain node in a blockchain network associated with the desired metaverse currency, wherein the blockchain transaction includes at least the desired transaction amount for transfer to an exchange platform system (paragraph [0194]).
As per claim 5, Sliwka discloses identifying, by the processor of the processing server, a blockchain data entry stored in a blockchain associated with the preferred metaverse currency that includes a transfer of the preferred transaction amount from the exchange platform system to a third blockchain wallet associated with the preferred metaverse currency (paragraphs [1099] and [0765]).
As per claim 6, Saraf in view Sliwka discloses wherein the preferred transaction amount is included in the transaction request (see claim 1 and also paragraphs [0424] and [1394] of Sliwka).
As per claim 7, Sliwka discloses receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, the exchange rate from an exchange platform system (paragraphs [1394] and [0761]).
As per claim 8, Sliwka discloses the transaction request further includes at least a digital signature over one or more unspent transaction outputs, the wallet identifier is a public key of a cryptographic key pair of the first blockchain wallet, and authenticating the balance of the first blockchain wallet includes validating the digital signature using the public key (see paragraphs [0151], [0814]).
Claims 9-16 are rejected on the same rationale as claims 1-8, respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Jalatee Worjloh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697