DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, lines 1-2, “a first plurality of strips” is unclear to how these strips relate to “a first strip” cited in claim 1.
Claim 10 is included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17, 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Epitaux et al. (2022/0216581).
Epitaux et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a dielectric body; first and second conductors embedded within the dielectric body and spaced apart from each other; and a shield around a periphery of the dielectric body, wherein the shield is adjacent the dielectric body, wherein the dielectric body includes at least a first strip along an edge of the dielectric body that is adjacent the shield, and wherein the dielectric body has, in cross-section, a non-homogenous dielectric property (re-claims 1, 17, and 20). Epitaux et al. also discloses that the apparatus is a cable and the dielectric body comprises, in cross-section, a first portion (not having the groove) with a first dielectric constant and a second portion (comprising the groove) with a second dielectric constant different from the first dielectric constant, wherein the second portion is proximate to an inner surface of the shield and the second dielectric constant is less than the first dielectric constant (re-claims 2 and 21); the at least the first strip comprises an air gap with the second dielectric constant (re-claim 3); the apparatus is a twinaxial cable, and the one or more strips extend along the first portion of the periphery (re-claim 18). It is noted that since the apparatus of Epitaux et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the dielectric body is configured to enhance coupling of electromagnetic energy between the first and second conductors when signals are carried by the first and second conductors (re-claim 1); and the coupling of electromagnetic energy will be disrupted towards the shield and thereby enhance coupling of electromagnetic energy between the first and second conductors (re-claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita et al. (10890495) in view of Yamaura et al. (7534957).
Sugita et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a dielectric body (2); first and second conductors (3) embedded within the dielectric body and spaced apart from each other, wherein the dielectric body has, in cross-section, a non-homogenous dielectric property (re-claims 1, 17, and 20). Sugita et al. also discloses that the apparatus is a cable and the dielectric body comprises, in cross-section, a first portion (not having the grooves) with a first dielectric constant and a second portion (comprising the grooves) with a second dielectric constant different from the first dielectric constant (re-claims 2 and 21); the at least first strip comprises an air gap with the second dielectric constant (re-claim 3); the at least first strip comprises a plurality of first strips that extend around an entirety of the periphery (re-claim 6); the plurality of first strips comprises air gaps with the second dielectric constant, wherein the individual strips of the first strips are spaced apart from each other by material having the first dielectric constant (re-claims 7 and 19); and the first strips extend around an entirety of the periphery (re-claim 10).
Sugita et al. does not disclose the apparatus comprising a shield around the periphery of the dielectric body and adjacent to the dielectric body (re-claims 1, 17, and 20).
Yamaura et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a dielectric body (11, Fig. 4A) and a shield (13) around the periphery of the dielectric body, wherein the shield is adjacent to the dielectric body.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to surround the dielectric body of Sugita et al. with a shield, as taught by Yamaura et al., to provide the apparatus with an outer electrode and/or a shield for the conductors therein.
It is noted that since the modified apparatus of Sugita et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the dielectric body is configured to enhance coupling of electromagnetic energy between the first and second conductors when signals are carried by the first and second conductors (re-claim 1); and the coupling of electromagnetic energy will be disrupted towards the shield and thereby enhance coupling of electromagnetic energy between the first and second conductors (re-claim 2).
Re-claim 18, Sugita et al. does not disclose the apparatus being a twinaxial cable. Yamaura et al. discloses the apparatus which can be a quad cable (Fig. 4) or a twinaxial cable (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the apparatus of Sugita et al. to be a twinaxial cable to meet the specific use of the resulting apparatus since it is taught by Yamaura et al. that an apparatus can comprise a quad cable or twinax cable depending on the specific end use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841