Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the convexly shaped supporting portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The written description does not provide details regarding the configuration of the convex shape of the supporting portion; therefore, amendments to the drawings will almost certainly result in incorporation of new matter and for this reason, it is suggested Applicant cancel the feature from the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a plurality of grinding teeth where it is unclear if these teeth are the same or different from the large tooth segments of claim 1.
Claim 3 requires the spacing between every two adjacent racks of the small teeth be equal, while also requiring the arrangement densities of these racks be different. As the densities is based on the spacing it is unclear how the densities are different while the spacing is the same, for the same size/type of teeth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hecke et al. (US 20150216537).
Regarding claim 1, Hecke et al. disclose a multifunctional polishing head capable of being used on nails (Refer to Figures 1-4), comprising a grinding head (2) and a grinding handle (1), wherein a plurality of first helical grooves (grooves formed between adjacent pointed cutting edges/racks 3) are defined on a circumferential wall of the grinding head at intervals, the grinding head is provided with a rack (3) between every two adjacent ones of the plurality of first helical grooves, in a radial section of the grinding head, a plurality of sets of tooth segments (teeth of 3, Refer to Figure 1) are formed along a circumferential direction of the grinding head, each set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments consists of a plurality of racks (pointed cutting edge portion of 3), an arrangement density of the plurality of racks in one set of the plurality of sets of tooth segment is from sparse to dense, or from dense to sparse, or alternates dense and sparse along the circumferential direction of the grinding head (Refer to Figures 2 and 3 depicts alternating densities between spare and dense).
Regarding claim 2, Hecke et al. disclose a plurality of second helical grooves (7) are defined on the circumferential wall of the grinding head at intervals, a rotation direction of the plurality of second helical grooves is opposite to a rotation direction of the plurality of first helical grooves, the plurality of second helical grooves divide each of the plurality of the racks into a plurality of grinding teeth (Refer to Figure 1), and each of the plurality of grinding teeth is symmetrically provided along a connection line between an edge of each of the plurality of racks and a center of the grinding head as a symmetry line (Refer to Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hecke et al. disclose each set of the plurality of sets of tooth segment comprises a plurality of sets of sub-tooth segment (within the plurality of teeth, there are smaller/sub teeth and larger teeth Refer to Figures 1-3) that are sequentially arranged, each set of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segment consists of at least two racks of the plurality of theracks, a spacing between every two adjacent racks of the at least two racks in each set of the plurality of sets of small tooth segment is equal, and arrangement densities of the at least two racks of different small tooth segments of the plurality of sets of small tooth segment are different (Refer to Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Hecke et al. disclose a quantity and arrangement density of the at least two racks of corresponding sets of sub-tooth segment of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segment in different sets of tooth segment of the plurality of sets of tooth segment is equal (Refer to Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Hecke et al. disclose a spacing between every two adjacent racks of the plurality of the racks is proportional to a depth of a respective one of the plurality of first helical grooves (Refer to Figures 2 and 3).
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meier et al. (US 20120009543).
Regarding claim 1, Meier et al. disclose a multifunctional polishing head capable of being used on nails (Refer to Figures 1-7), comprising a grinding head (3) and a grinding handle (2), wherein a plurality of first helical grooves (grooves formed between adjacent pointed cutting edges/racks 4,5) are defined on a circumferential wall of the grinding head at intervals, the grinding head is provided with a rack (4,5) between every two adjacent ones of the plurality of first helical grooves, in a radial section of the grinding head, a plurality of sets of tooth segments (teeth of 4,5) are formed along a circumferential direction of the grinding head, each set of the plurality of sets of tooth segment consists of a plurality of racks (4,5), an arrangement density of the plurality of the racks in one set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments is from sparse to dense, or from dense to sparse, or alternates dense and sparse along the circumferential direction of the grinding head (Refer to Figures 6 and 7 depict alternating densities between spare and dense).
Regarding claim 2, Meier et al. disclose a plurality of second helical grooves (grooves 7) are defined on the circumferential wall of the grinding head at intervals, a rotation direction of the plurality of second helical grooves is opposite to a rotation direction of the plurality of first helical grooves, the plurality of second helical grooves divide each of the plurality of the racks into a plurality of grinding teeth (Refer to Figures 1-3), and each of the plurality of grinding teeth is symmetrically provided along a connection line between an edge of each of the plurality of the racks and a center of the grinding head as a symmetry line (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, Meier et al. disclose each set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments comprises a plurality of sets of sub-tooth segments (smaller teeth 5) that are sequentially arranged, each set of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segments consists of at least two racks of the plurality of the racks, a spacing between every two adjacent racks of the at least two racks in each set of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segments is equal, and arrangement densities of the at least two racks of different small tooth segments of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segment are different (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, Meier et al. disclose a quantity and arrangement density of the at least two racks of corresponding sets of sub-tooth segments of the plurality of sets of sub-tooth segment in different sets of tooth segments of the plurality of sets of tooth segment is equal, (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 5, Meier et al. disclose a supporting part (portion of teeth below rack/cutting edge 4,5) is convexly formed on a sidewall of each of the plurality of grinding teeth facing a respective one of the plurality of first helical grooves, and the supporting part is provided along the rotation direction of the plurality of first helical grooves (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 6, Meier et al. disclose tooth heights of the plurality of the racks increase with an increase of a sparsity of the plurality of the racks, wherein the tooth heights of the plurality of the racks decrease with an increase of a density of the plurality of the racks (Refer to Figures 6 and 7, tooth heights are greatest in the upper right and lower left quadrants where the density is sparse, while tooth heights are smaller in the upper left and lower right quadrants where the teeth are more densely arranged).
Regarding claim 8, Meier et al. disclose a spacing between every two adjacent racks of the plurality of the racks is proportional to a depth of a respective one of the plurality of first helical grooves (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecke et al.
Regarding claim 7, Hecke et al. disclose the multifunctional polishing head of claim 1 above; however, Hecke et al. are silent regarding the cross-section of each of the plurality of first helical grooves being an inverted trapezoid. Although Hecke et al. are silent with regard to the shape of the first helical grooves, the Examiner takes of official notice that it is well known and conventional in the art for such grooves to have an inverted trapezoid cross-sectional shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head of Hecke et al. such that the first helical grooves have an inverted trapezoid cross-section, as such shaped cross sections are known and conventional; additionally, it would have been obvious to make the aforementioned modification since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Hecke et al. disclose the polishing head of claim 2 above, wherein an angle exists between the plurality of first helical grooves and the plurality of second helical grooves in a helical direction. Although Hecke et al. do not explicitly state the angle being 30-120°, Figure 1 appears to depict an angle within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle to be between 30 and 120 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Figure 2 provides support for the supporting portion being convex.
Response: Figure 2 does not appear to depict a convex portion.
Argument: Hecke et al. do not provide i) a plurality of sets of tooth segments formed along a circumferential direction where each set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments consist of a plurality of racks and ii) an arrangement density of the plurality of racks is one set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments is from sparse to dense, or from dense to sparse or alternates dense and sparse along the circumferential direction.
Response: Hecke et al. does provide the features mentioned in the argument. Hecke et al.’s Figure 1 and Applicant’s Figure are provided juxtaposed below to demonstrate the same structures are provided. Hecke et al. provides a plurality of sets of tooth segments distributed about the circumference and each set of the sets of teeth segments have a plurality of racks. Hecke et al. also discloses the dense to sparse or sparse to dense arrangement as best shown in Figures 2 and 3.
Argument: Meier et al. provides cutting edges which are arranged uniformly about the periphery and therefore does not provide an arrangement density of the plurality of racks is one set of the plurality of sets of tooth segments is from sparse to dense, or from dense to sparse or alternates dense and sparse along the circumferential direction.
Response: Refer to Figures 6 and 7 of Meier et al. clearly depict alternating densities between spare and dense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 219225319 U demonstrates it is known for such helical grooves to have an inverted trapezoid cross section.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799