DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-12, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (US 2003/0011414), in view of Pandita et al. (US 2019/0052278).
In regard to Claim 1:
Bell discloses, in Figure 1, a method for generating accurate and programmable phase delay output signals, the method comprising: determining, via a phase detector unit (150), a phase disparity signal (142, 143); generating, via a digital calibration logic unit (124), a control signal (119-0, 119-N) based on the phase disparity signal (142, 143); and generating, via a tunable delay lines unit (112), the phase delay output signals (114, 116) based on the control signal (119-0, 119-N), but does not disclose a phase disparity signal based on a phase error between two or more consecutive outputs of a frequency divider unit cell.
Pandita discloses, in Figure 1, a phase disparity signal (102 output) based on a phase error (Paragraph 0021) between two or more consecutive outputs (FB, Claim 10) of a frequency divider unit cell (170).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the phase detector output taught by Pandita with the phase detector taught by Bell, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 2:
Pandita further discloses, in Figure 1, the method of Claim 1, further comprising: partitioning, via the frequency divider unit (170), a frequency of a signal (VCO) received from a voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) (155, 160; Paragraph 0034) or a digitally-controlled oscillator (DCO) to obtain the frequency-divided signal.
In regard to Claim 11:
Bell discloses, in Figure 1, an electronic device for generating accurate and programmable output signals, the electronic device comprising: a phase detector unit (150) configured to determine a phase disparity signal (142, 143); a digital calibration logic unit (124) configured to generate a control signal (119-0, 119-N) based on the phase disparity signal (142, 143); and a tunable delay lines unit (112) configured to generate the phase delay output signals (114, 116) based on the control signal (119-0, 119-N), but does not disclose a phase disparity signal based on a phase error between two or more consecutive outputs of a frequency divider unit cell.
Pandita discloses, in Figure 1, a phase disparity signal (102 output) based on a phase error (Paragraph 0021) between two or more consecutive outputs (FB, Claim 10) of a frequency divider unit cell (170).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the phase detector output taught by Pandita with the phase detector taught by Bell, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 12:
Pandita further discloses, in Figure 1, the electronic device of Claim 11, wherein the frequency divider unit (170) is configured to partition a frequency of a signal (VCO) received from a voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) (155, 160; Paragraph 0034) or a digitally-controlled oscillator (DCO) to obtain the frequency-divided signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896