NON-FINAL REJECTION
Acknowledgements
1. Claims 1-20 were presented for examination on Jan. 22, 2024. These claims are grouped as follows:
claims 1-7;
claims 8-14; and
claims 15-20.
2. Applicant claims priority under 35 USC §119(e) to Provisional App. No. 63/602,926 filed on Nov. 27, 2023.
3. The presumed effective filing date of the instant application is Jan. 22, 2024, which is the filing date of the provisional application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 10,985,531 to Wang et al. published Apr. 20, 2021 (“Wang”).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses (fig. 4, #100), comprising:
a confinement layer (col. 4:54-58); and
a polarization mode filter (#105),
wherein:
the confinement layer (col.4:54-58) defines a confinement aperture (#101),
the confinement aperture (#101) is asymmetrical with respect to at least one axis of the confinement aperture (‘non-circularly shaped’ is asymmetrical), and
the polarization mode filter (#105) includes a grating (col.5:12-13), and
the confinement aperture and the polarization mode filter are configured to control a quantity of optical modes supported by the VCSEL and to lock a polarization of each optical mode supported by the VCSEL (Because there is no claimed structural difference between Wang and instant claim 1, Examiners find Wang’s confinement aperture and polarization structure are configured as claimed.)
As to claim 2, Wang discloses “the confinement aperture is configured to reduce the quantity of optical modes supported by the VCSEL” because there is no claimed structural difference between Wang and the instant claim.
As to claim 3, Wang discloses “a grating axis of the grating of the polarization mode filter is aligned with a symmetrical axis of the confinement aperture” at col.4:42 to col.5:6.
As to claim 4, Wang discloses “the polarization mode filter is configured to lock a polarization of each optical mode supported by the VCSEL along the grating axis of the grating of the polarization mode filter and the symmetrical axis of the confinement aperture” at col.5:12-17.
As to claim 5, Wang discloses “a grating axis of the grating of the polarization mode filter is set at a non-zero angle to a symmetrical axis of the confinement aperture” at col.4:42 to col.5:6.
As to claim 6, Wang discloses “the polarization mode filter is configured to lock a polarization of each optical mode supported by the VCSEL along the grating axis of the polarization mode filter and not along the symmetrical axis of the confinement aperture” at col.4:42 to col.5:6.
As to claim 7, Wang discloses “the confinement layer is above a cavity region of the VCSEL, which is above a substrate of the VCSEL; and the polarization mode filter is above the confinement aperture” as shown in figure 4 above.
Claim 8 is merely broader than claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 9, Wang discloses “the confinement aperture is asymmetrical with respect to at least one axis of the confinement aperture” because Wang’s aperture is elliptically shaped. See col.4:54-58.
As to claim 10, Wang discloses “the polarization mode filter includes a grating” at col.5:12-13.
As to claim 11, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 4.
As to claim 12, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 5.
As to claim 13, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 6.
As to claim 14, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 7.
Claim 15 is merely broader than claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 16, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 9.
As to claim 17, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 10.
As to claim 18, this claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 11.
As to claim 19, Wang discloses “grating axes of the gratings of the polarization mode filters of the plurality of VCSELs are aligned with each other” at figure 10.
As to claim 20, Wang discloses “the plurality of VCSELs are configured to emit respective laser beams that each have one or more optical modes with a same polarization” at figure 11.
Conclusion
Signed:
/DEANDRA M HUGHES/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992