DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 03/16/2026 in response to the Final office action mailed on 01/14/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Objections: The objections are withdrawn, as the amendments to the claims have properly addressed the informalities recited in the Final office action.
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC §§ 102 and 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application. Therefore, the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the NON-FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 2015/0274100 A1, hereinafter “Kwak”) in view of Buck et al. (US 2009/0089065 A1, hereinafter “Buck”).
Regarding claim 7, Kwak discloses a vehicle comprising:
a display device (Kwak at para. [0058]: “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating a macro guide screen”; para. [0067]: “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a macro modification query screen”); and
a central controller configured to perform operations (Kwak at para. [0035]: “an apparatus 200 for automatically controlling a convenient device for a vehicle”) comprising:
receiving, from a terminal or a server, integrated control information comprising one or more integrated control items, each item being associated with one or more controllable items of the vehicle (Kwak at para. [0036]: “The information collector 210 collects environmental information, driver information of other vehicles, and macro information corresponding to driver information of the other vehicles from a remote center” “The macro information means control information of the driver on the convenient device for the vehicle and detailed contents thereof will be described in the following environmental information matcher 233”), and one or more operation conditions of the vehicle being set for each of the one or more controllable items (Kwak at para. [0039]: “The control value collector 231 collects control values (manipulation values) of the driver for a convenient device 110 of the vehicle”),
providing, through the display device, an integrated control menu based on the integrated control information (Kwak at FIG. 4 and para. [0059]: “driver and environmental information, such as a driver, date, time, and weather, and a macro list corresponding to the driver and environmental information are provided to the driver”), and
controlling, based on one of the one or more integrated control items being selected from the integrated control menu, each of the one or more controllable items associated with the selected integrated control item according to the one or more operation conditions set to each of the one or more controllable items (Kwak at para. [0059]: “When any one macro to from the macro list is selected by the driver, the plurality of convenient devices 110 may be automatically controlled based on the selected macro. For example, when the driver selects macro 3, the seat position is automatically controlled without the manipulation of the driver, and then the driver side and passenger side windows are opened”),
wherein the central controller further configured to:
generate the recorded use pattern as one of the one or more integrated control items (Kwak at para. [0039]: “The control value collector 231 collects control values (manipulation values) of the driver for a convenient device 110 of the vehicle. The convenient device 110 includes a radio 110-1, an air conditioner 110-2, a driver or passenger side window 110-3, and the like”; para. [0041]: “The control pattern learner 232 learns a control pattern of the driver for the convenient device 110 based on the control values collected by the control value collector 231. In this case, the control pattern includes at least one of a control order, control values, and a control frequency of the driver for a plurality of convenient devices 110”; para. [0043]: “The environmental information matcher 233 matches the control pattern learned by the control pattern learner 232 with the environmental information collected by the information collector 210 to generate a macro”; para. [0044]: “Then, the macro generated from the environmental information matcher 233 is stored in the storage 220”; para. [0048]: “macro search results (macro list) are provided to the driver through the input and output 130 and the plurality of convenient devices 110 are automatically controlled without the manipulation of the driver by a controller 120 based on the macro selected by the driver”).
However, Kwak does not explicitly state:
receive, from a user, a request to record a use pattern,
in response to receiving the request, record the use pattern of the user for the one or more controllable items.
In the same field of endeavor, Buck teaches:
receive, from a user, a request to record a use pattern (Buck at para. [0030]: “A passenger or driver (e.g., occupant) of a vehicle may activate a speech recognition and control process by enabling a push-to-talk or press-to-transmit (both referenced as a PPT) feature 502 or transceiver”; para. [0032]: “When activated, the speech recognition and control process may receive a code phrase (key phrase) that may initiate a recording ( e.g., "Start recording")”),
in response to receiving the request, record the use pattern of the user for the one or more controllable items (Buck at para. [0033]: “At 506 a user may adjust a seat or seat back (e.g., such as the driver seat by a mechanical adjustment” “the user may adjust a driver side mirror and passenger side mirror positioned outside a vehicle cabin and/or an inside mirror at 508” “The speech recognition and control process may monitor and save the adjustments in a central or distributed local or remote memory at 510”; para. [0034]: “The process of FIG. 5 may monitor the adjustments through a physical or virtual bus system”; para. [0039]: “When a recording begins, the process may monitor one or more physical or virtual vehicle busses that may connect powertrain elements, driveline elements, running gear elements, stability control elements, braking elements, entertainment elements, comfort elements, safety elements, and/or chassis or body control elements at 606”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak by adding the request of Buck with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck is to customize an in-vehicle system. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to add the user request to record the user pattern to provide personalization, convenience, and privacy control.
Regarding claim 13, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the central controller is configured to learn the use pattern of the one or more controllable items based on the vehicle being operated (Kwak at claim 1: “a macro generator configured to collect control values of a driver for a plurality of convenient devices for the vehicle to learn a control pattern of the driver, to collect environmental information after the control pattern is generated, and to generate a macro by matching the learned control pattern with the environmental information; and a macro provider configured to identify the driver in the vehicle, to collect the environmental information, to search for the macro corresponding to the identified driver and the environmental information, and to provide macro search results to the driver when the driver boards the vehicle”), thereby recommending one of the one or more integrated control items through the display device (Kwak at para. [0009]: “a macro recommender configured to search for drivers of other vehicles including driver information corresponding to the identified driver and search for macro information corresponding to the searched drivers of the other vehicles based on driver information of the other vehicles collected by the information collector and the macro information corresponding to the driver information of the other vehicles”; para. [0058]: “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating a macro guide screen according to an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concept”; para. [0059]: “driver and environmental information, such as a driver, date, time, and weather, and a macro list corresponding to the driver and environmental information are provided to the driver”).
Regarding claim 14, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the central controller is configured to store the use pattern of the one or more controllable items (Kwak at para. [0041]: “The control pattern learner 232 learns a control pattern of the driver for the convenient device 110 based on the control values collected by the control value collector 231. In this case, the control pattern includes at least one of a control order, control values, and a control frequency of the driver for a plurality of convenient devices 110”; para. [0043]: “The environmental information matcher 233 matches the control pattern learned by the control pattern learner 232 with the environmental information collected by the information collector 210 to generate a macro”; para. [0044]: “Then, the macro generated from the environmental information matcher 233 is stored in the storage 220”).
Buck further teaches:
store the use pattern of the one or more controllable items based on the request received from the user (Buck at para. [0035]: “When the adjustments are complete, the user may voice a second code phrase that may stop the recording process at 512 ( e.g., "Stop recording"). When the command is received by the speech recognition and control process, the method closes the files that enable the adjustment parameters which is then stored in a local or remote database”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the request of Buck with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck is to customize an in-vehicle system.
Regarding claim 16, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the central controller is configured to, in response to recording the user pattern (Kwak at para. [0041]: “The control pattern learner 232 learns a control pattern of the driver for the convenient device 110 based on the control values collected by the control value collector 231. In this case, the control pattern includes at least one of a control order, control values, and a control frequency of the driver for a plurality of convenient devices 110”; para. [0043]: “The environmental information matcher 233 matches the control pattern learned by the control pattern learner 232 with the environmental information collected by the information collector 210 to generate a macro”; para. [0044]: “Then, the macro generated from the environmental information matcher 233 is stored in the storage 220”; para. [0048]: “macro search results (macro list) are provided to the driver through the input and output 130 and the plurality of convenient devices 110 are automatically controlled without the manipulation of the driver by a controller 120 based on the macro selected by the driver”; The macro (i.e., “the recorded usage pattern as one of the one or more integrated control items”) is generated without further driver input (i.e., “without further user input”) which indicates the macro is generated automatically).
However, Kwak does not explicitly state:
in response to recording the user pattern based on the request from the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Buck teaches:
in response to recording the user pattern based on the request from the user (Buck at para. [0035]: “When the command is received by the speech recognition and control process, the method closes the files that enable the adjustment parameters which is then stored in a local or remote database” “Some databases retain relationship data that link the recorded data to a vehicle or user identifier, and in some alternative processes, to a wireless network”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the request of Buck with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck is to customize an in-vehicle system.
Regarding claim 17, Kwak discloses the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein one or more integrated control items generated from the recorded use pattern is stored in a memory and executable by the central controller to control the one or more controllable items according to the recorded use pattern (Kwak at para. [0041]: “The control pattern learner 232 learns a control pattern of the driver for the convenient device 110 based on the control values collected by the control value collector 231. In this case, the control pattern includes at least one of a control order, control values, and a control frequency of the driver for a plurality of convenient devices 110”; para. [0043]: “The environmental information matcher 233 matches the control pattern learned by the control pattern learner 232 with the environmental information collected by the information collector 210 to generate a macro”; para. [0044]: “Then, the macro generated from the environmental information matcher 233 is stored in the storage 220”; para. [0048]: “macro search results (macro list) are provided to the driver through the input and output 130 and the plurality of convenient devices 110 are automatically controlled without the manipulation of the driver by a controller 120 based on the macro selected by the driver”).
Claims 8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan et al. (US 2023/0106867 A1, hereinafter “Chan”).
Regarding claim 8, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state wherein the central controller is configured to provide the integrated control menu through a cluster or an audio/video/navigation (AVN) of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chan teaches wherein the central controller is configured to provide the integrated control menu through a cluster or an audio/video/navigation (AVN) of the vehicle (Chan at para. [0040]: “Processing circuitry 216 may be communicatively connected to display 232 and speaker 234 by way of output circuitry 222. Display 232 may be located at a dashboard of vehicle 206 and/or at a heads-up display at a windshield of vehicle 206”; para. [0055]: “such user profile may be loaded in response to receiving user selection of an identifier of the profile, e.g., generated for presentation at display 232 of vehicle 206 and/or display 269 of user device 204. The loading of the user profile of John at vehicle 406 may enable John to experience a personalized experience in vehicle 406 in a variety of ways. For example, the user profile associated with John's account may indicate preferred vehicle attribute settings (used to modify existing attributes of vehicle 406)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the cluster or the AVN of Chan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan is to provide a user interface for receiving and outputting information.
Regarding claim 10, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the terminal or the server is configured to transmit and receive information in linkage with (Kwak at para. [0046]: “the driver may be identified by a portable terminal of the driver which is connected by near field communication to control the convenient devices 110. Further, the driver may be identified based on a seat position, a smart key, or an identification (ID) number input from the driver”; para. [0048]: “The first macro searcher 243 searches for the macro corresponding to the driver identified by the driver sensor 241 and the environmental information collected by the environmental sensor 242”; para. [0062]: “the information collector 210 collects the driver information of other vehicles and the macro information corresponding thereto from a remote center or the other vehicles (S51)”).
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state an account set by the central controller.
In the same field of endeavor, Chan teaches an account set by the central controller (Chan at para. [0051]: “System 400, in response to determining that a vehicle has been acquired (e.g., purchased or leased), invites the new user associated with the newly acquired vehicle 406 to begin a user provisioning process. For example, the new user (e.g., accessing, on his or her mobile device, a mobile application provided by the vehicle manufacturer via cloud computing resources ("cloud") 412, which may correspond to or otherwise implement server 212) may select one or more prompts to create a user account associated with a user ID”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the account of Chan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan is to provide efficient management of profiles associated with vehicles.
Regarding claim 15, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the central controller is configured to, (Kwak at para. [0062]: “the information collector 210 collects the driver information of other vehicles and the macro information corresponding thereto from a remote center or the other vehicles (S51)”; para. [0063]: “The macro information corresponding to the collected driver information of the other vehicles is stored in the storage 220 (S52)”; para. [0064]: “The driver searcher 251 searches for the drivers of the other vehicles including the driver information corresponding to the driver identified in the identifying of the driver (S20) and searches for the macro information corresponding to the searched drivers of the other vehicles and provide the searched macro information to the driver through the input and output 130 (S53)”; para. [0070]: “it is possible to recommend or share the control information on the convenient devices among the drivers”).
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state:
based on the request received from the user, share one of the one or more integrated control items with an account associated with the vehicle through the server.
Nevertheless, Kwak at least suggests the idea of sharing the control information associated with other drivers (see Kwak at para. [0064]).
In the same field of endeavor, Chan teaches based on the request received from the user, share one of the one or more integrated control items with an account associated with the vehicle through the server (Chan at para. [0034]: “server 112 may be utilized to associate one or more user accounts (e.g., each associated with a particular user ID stored at server 112 associated with a vehicle manufacturer or distributor) with vehicle 106, associate one or more user profiles with a user account, and/or associate one or more user devices with a user account”; para. [0065]: “system 400 may enable user to share accounts or profiles, and/or certain preferences or settings indicated in the accounts or profiles, with another user”; para. [0066]: “a first user (e.g., a husband) may have a user account and/or user profile with a first set of preferences (e.g., music, ergonomics, etc.) and may be the owner of a first vehicle, while a second user ( e.g., a wife) may have a user account and/or user profile with a second set of preferences (e.g., music, ergonomics, etc.) and may be the owner of a second vehicle. System 400 including cloud 412 may enable the first user to grant the second user access to the first vehicle, and enable the second user to utilize her user account or profile while accessing the first vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the account of Chan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan is to provide efficient management of vehicle settings associated with vehicles.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Mansell et al. (US 2005/0076308 A1, hereinafter “Mansell”).
Regarding claim 9, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state further comprising:
a plurality of sub-function controllers configured to control operations of each of the one or more integrated control items, wherein the plurality of sub-function controllers are configured to control one or more controllable items transmitted from the central controller, based on one or more operation conditions set to the controllable items, respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Mansell further teaches further comprising:
a plurality of sub-function controllers configured to control operations of each of the one or more integrated control items, wherein the plurality of sub-function controllers are configured to control one or more controllable items transmitted from the central controller, based on one or more operation conditions set to the controllable items, respectively (Mansell at para. [0047]: “general or top-level menu structure may include menu selection items, such as "Controller", "Joystick Control", "Stand Alone joystick", "Seat Module", "S.C.I.M. Sip-n-Puff", "ECU module", and the like. By selecting one of these menu selection items, such as "Controller" the user may move to more and more specific menu selection items, such as "General Drive", "Creep Drive", or "Hand Control". Activating a particular control mode may require the selection of several menu selection items, as is clearly illustrated in FIG. 11 when setting "Forward Acceleration"”; para. [0049]: “In Table I, a main menu structure is depicted in the left column, a sub-menu structure is depicted in the center column, and an action menu structure is depicted in the right column”; para. [0051]: “This would be particularly important in "Environmental Controls", since such controls could control anything in the user's environment, such as appliances, doors, or room lights”; the ECU module inherently includes a controller, and the environmental controls inherently include at least one controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the plurality of sub-function controllers of Mansell with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Mansell is to provide individualized control.
Regarding claim 11, Kwak in view of Buck teaches the vehicle according to claim 7.
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state wherein a name of each of the one or more integrated control items is determined based on received information.
In the same field of endeavor, Mansell teaches wherein a name of each of the one or more integrated control items is determined based on received information (Mansell at para. [0036]: “Logical menu labels are presented to assist the user in understanding the appliance associated with the menu selection items. In other words, the menu labels have content that is associated with a particular action to be performed by selecting the menu selection item”; para. [0039]: “The latter permits menu selection items to be custom labeled. A custom label may be one that the user can easily identify. Once the items are entered, the menu structure may be saved, as shown in function step 66. After menu selection items are entered and saved into the main menu, those items can be assigned a function, as shown in function step 68”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the name of Mansell with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Mansell is to provide customizable menu structure that is unique to a particular user of a vehicle.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan and Cox et al. (WO 2018/002672 A1, hereinafter “Cox”).
Regarding claim 12, Kwak discloses the vehicle according to claim 7.
Kwak further discloses wherein the one or more integrated control items comprise (Kwak at para. [0039]: “The convenient device 110 includes a radio 110-1, an air conditioner 110-2, a driver or passenger side window 110-3, and the like”), a seat (Kwak at para. [0059]: “when the driver selects macro 3, the seat position is automatically controlled without the manipulation of the driver, and then the driver side and passenger side windows are opened”), (Kwak at para. [0039]: “The convenient device 110 includes a radio 110-1, an air conditioner 110-2, a driver or passenger side window 110-3, and the like”), and an operation time point of the vehicle (Kwak at para. [0036]: “The environmental information means information associated with vehicle external environment and includes at least one of date, day, time, weather, a position of a vehicle, a driving area of the vehicle, and weather information of the driving area of the vehicle”; para. [0044]: “the environmental information matcher 233 generates the macro based on at least one environmental information set by the driver”).
However, Kwak in view of Buck does not explicitly state a drive mode, steering sensitivity, a user assist function, and indoor and outdoor light.
In the same field of endeavor, Chan teaches a drive mode, a user assist function, and indoor and outdoor light (Chan at para. [0036]: “a particular user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions, HVAC climate control settings, radio preferences, exterior and interior lights preferences, locks preferences, maps ( e.g., historical navigation and traffic information), media (e.g., audio, radio, video, etc.), steering wheel position, driver assistance (e.g., ADAS), units/time, welcome experience, exit experience, intuitive settings (e.g., machine learning), heads-up display preferences, layout of dashboard panel icons, air suspension, braking, drive modes ( e.g., air suspension, braking preferences), adaptive cruise control, language preference, priority Bluetooth device, regenerative braking drive mode, auto hold drive mode, custom drive modes, sub modes creep, air suspension, driving efficiency metrics, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck by adding the control items of Chan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan is to provide efficient management of user preferences.
However, Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan does not explicitly state steering sensitivity.
In the same field of endeavor, Cox teaches steering sensitivity (Cox at pg. 29, ln. 21-27: “Such settings may relate to personal preferences of a user as set up on their car at home, which can be imported into any other car which they choose to drive. These personal preferences may include engine output, gear ratio, steering sensitivity, pre-set radio stations, driver seat position and rake, steering wheel position, gear change settings (for an automatic car), the position of a choke valve, positioning of internal and external mirrors, active headlights and/or favourite destinations saved in a navigation system, as well any other Engine Control Unit (ECU) or Engine Management System (EMS) settings”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan by adding the steering sensitivity of Cox with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Kwak in view of Buck further in view of Chan and Cox is to provide efficient management of user preferences.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666