CTNF 18/418,717 CTNF 101941 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 2014/0159675 A1) in view of Hu et al., (US 2017/0338522 A1) and in further view of Endo et al., (US 2021/0249645 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Kodoma teaches a secondary battery system comprising a secondary battery and a charging control unit ([0012]). Kodoma also teaches the secondary battery to include a cathode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and an anode active material layer ([0009]). Kodoma further teaches the cathode active material layer to contain a cathode active material and the solid electrolyte layer to contain a sulfide solid electrolyte material ([0009]). Kodoma differs from claim 1 because it is silent to the cathode active material layer including a fluorine-based liquid material. But Hu teaches an organic-based polymer, gel, and liquid ion conductors for use as interfacial layers in solid-state batteries (Abstract). Hu further teaches perfluoropolyether (PFPE)-based electrolytes and that functionalized PFPEs remain as liquids over a large temperature range ([0031]) (i.e., fluorine-based liquid). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode active material layer of Kodoma to include the fluorine-based liquid of Hu in order to improve electrolyte-electrode interfacial contact and enhance battery performance ([0031]). Kodoma also differs from claim 1 because it is silent to the control unit configured to control charging of the secondary battery to cause a cathode potential at a charging end potential of the secondary battery to be equal to or higher than 4.3 V (vs. Li/Li+). But Endo teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a positive electrode charged with electricity up to a positive electrode potential of 5.0 V (vs Li/Li+) and further teaches a positive range of 4.35 V (vs. Li/Li+) or higher and 4.6 V (vs. Li/Li+) or lower ([0030], [0039]-[0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging control unit of Kodoma to include the charging potential of Endo in order to provide a battery in which discharge capacity is high and a sudden increase in battery voltage is not observed until reaching a higher SOC, as taught by Endo ([0035]). Regarding claim 2 , Kodoma as modified teaches perfluoropolyether (PFPE) to be the fluorine-based liquid material in the cathode active material layer as explained above. See Hu ([0031]). Regarding claim 3 and 4 , Kodoma as modified teaches the cathode active material layer containing a cathode active material having lithium nickel-cobalt manganate represented by a general formula LiNi a Co b Mn c O 2 ([0009]) (i.e., the cathode active material is a Li containing oxide) (i.e., the Li containing oxide includes at least one kind of transition metal element among Mn, Ni, and Co as a constituent element) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xiao et al., US 20220344700 A1; Park et al., US 20160260979 A1; Otaki et al., US 20190267667 A1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sandra M Arias whose telephone number is (571)438-9468. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Insuk Bullock can be reached at 571-272-5954. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1772 /T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/418,717 Page 2 Art Unit: 1772 Application/Control Number: 18/418,717 Page 3 Art Unit: 1772 Application/Control Number: 18/418,717 Page 4 Art Unit: 1772 Application/Control Number: 18/418,717 Page 5 Art Unit: 1772