DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This communication is a first Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-18, as originally filed 11 JUN. 2026, are pending and have been considered as follows:
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
11 JUN. 26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARRY COLE US 1997809 A (Cole) in view of Hsieh US 11713576 B2.
As per claim 1 Cole teaches a structural panel comprising:
a first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) defining a first side;
a second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) spaced apart from the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6), the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) defining a second side;
wherein each C-shaped channel (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprises a web, a top flange, and a bottom flange,
a reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6) extending between the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6),
the reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6) having a first edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and a second edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6),
wherein a top portion of the reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6), the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6), and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) define an interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6); and
a concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) (block 43, FIG. 6) substantially filling the interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6) and extending above (see block 43 “extending above” as broadly claimed, FIG. 6)the top flanges of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6), the slab defining a top surface extending above (see block 43 “extending above” as broadly claimed, FIG. 6)and covering the top flanges of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6), the first and second C- shaped channels being located within the concrete slab (see portions within block 43, FIG. 6), wherein the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) extends between an outer surface of the web of each of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6).
Cole, however, fails to explicitly disclose:
the top flanges comprising a downwardly extending portion;
the reinforcing member is a corrugated deck
Hsieh teaches closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet, specifically:
the top flanges comprising a downwardly extending portion (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C)
the reinforcing member is a corrugated deck (see “profiled steel sheet 52 is a corrugated profiled steel sheet or a folded profiled steel sheet” 16:10; also FIG. 4-2A, 4-4A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole by substituting closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
As per claim 2 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Hsieh further discloses wherein the corrugated deck is manufactured from cold-formed steel (see “plate-shaped steel member... cold rolled” Cl. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by including the cold rolled as taught by Hsieh in order to provide the members with greater strength, tighter dimensional tolerances, and a smoother surface.
As per claim 3-4 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Cole further discloses wherein the corrugated deck is continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to the inner surface of the web of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) at a first vertical distance from the top flange, wherein the first vertical distance is smaller than a second vertical distance from the bottom flange (see FIG. 6); and the corrugated deck is continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to the inner surface of the web of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) at a first vertical distance from the top flange, wherein the first vertical distance is equal to a second vertical distance from the bottom flange (see FIG. 6).
In other words, the Examiner’s position is that Cole inherently teaches that the reinforcing member is closer to the top of the frame members or equidistant between the top and bottom of the frame members.
However, in the alternative, if Cole in view of Hsieh does not disclose that that the sheet metal layer is closer to the top of the frame, or equidistant between the top and bottom of the frame members, then it certainly would have been obvious to a skilled artisan art at the time of filing to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by including the vertical distances as claimed in order to provide a balance to the finished panel, which would allow for customization of the panel for its intended use.
As per claim 5 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1 and Cole further discloses wherein the web of each of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprises at least one interface component (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) for aligning the structural panel with at least one corresponding web of an adjacent structural panel.
As per claim 6 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 5, and Hsieh further discloses the corrugated deck has a width such that the bottom flanges of the first and second C-shaped channels and the corrugated deck define a cavity large enough to accommodate placement of one or more members selected from the group of: insulation, electrical wiring, water and/or gas piping, electrical boxes and electrical devices (FIG. 4-8A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by including the spacing as taught by Hsieh in order to allow insulation as is old and well known in the art.
As per claim 7 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1, and Hsieh further discloses the first and second C-shaped channels are made from cold-formed steel (see “plate-shaped steel member... cold rolled” Cl. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by including the cold rolled as taught by Hsieh in order to provide the members with greater strength, tighter dimensional tolerances, and a smoother surface.
As per claim 8 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1 and Cole further discloses the interaction between the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) and the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) provides a composite action (see “reinforcement of the concrete in the blocks is effected“ p. 1, right col., ln. 53).
As per claim 16 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 1, wherein the downwardly extending portions of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) are substantially parallel to the web of each of the first and second C-shaped channels (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by substituting closed C-shaped channels as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
As per claim 9 Cole teaches a flooring system (FIG. 1) comprising:
a first structural panel (FIG. 1, 6; note “Obviously this same plan of modified construction can a utilized for blocks 19 and 20” p. 2, left col., ln. 57-70); and
a second structural panel (FIG. 6);
wherein each structural panel (FIG. 6) comprises: a first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) defining a first side; a second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) spaced apart from the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6), the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) defining a second side; wherein each C-shaped channel (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprises a web, a top flange, and a bottom flange; a [corrugated deck] reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6) extending between the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) having a first edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and a second edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6), wherein a top portion of the [corrugated deck] reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6), the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6), and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) define an interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6); and a concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) substantially filling the interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6) and extending above (see block 43 “extending above” as broadly claimed, FIG. 6)the top flanges of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6), the slab defining a top surface extending above (see block 43 “extending above” as broadly claimed, FIG. 6)and covering the top flanges of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6), the first and second C- shaped channels being located within the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6), wherein the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) extends between an outer surface of the web of each of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6), wherein the web of each of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprise at least one interface component (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) for aligning the first structural panel (FIG. 6) with the second structural panel (FIG. 6), wherein an outer surface of the web of the first side of the second structural panel (FIG. 6) abuts against an outer surface of the web of the second side of the first structural panel (FIG. 6); wherein the at least one interface component (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) of the first structural panel (FIG. 6) aligns with the at least one interface component (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) of the second structural panel (FIG. 6), and wherein the respective interface components (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) of the first and second structural panel (FIG. 6)s are adapted to secure the first structural panel (FIG. 6) to the second structural panel (FIG. 6).
Cole, however, fails to explicitly disclose:
the top flanges comprising a downwardly extending portion;
the reinforcing member is a corrugated deck
Hsieh teaches closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet, specifically:
the top flanges comprising a downwardly extending portion (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C)
the reinforcing member is a corrugated deck (see “profiled steel sheet 52 is a corrugated profiled steel sheet or a folded profiled steel sheet” 16:10; also FIG. 4-2A, 4-4A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole by substituting closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
As per claim 10 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 9, and Cole further discloses a third structural panel (FIG. 1), wherein an outer surface of the web of the first side of the third structural panel (FIG. 1) abuts against an outer surface of the web of the second side of the second structural panel (FIG. 1), wherein the respective interface components (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) of the second and third structural panels (FIG. 1) align and are adapted to secure the second structural panel (FIG. 1) to the third structural panel (FIG. 1).
As per claim 11 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 9, and Cole further discloses wherein the structural panels (FIG. 1, 6) are supported by at least two primary support structures (FIG. 1).
As per claim 12 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 11, and Cole further discloses wherein the at least two support structures are support beams (FIG. 1).
As per claim 13 Cole in view of Hsieh teaches the limitations according to claim 11, and Cole further discloses wherein the at least two support structures are load bearing walls (FIG. 1).
As per claim 17. (New) The flooring system of claim 9, wherein the downwardly extending portions of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) are substantially parallel to the web of each of the first and second C-shaped channels (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by substituting closed C-shaped channels as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
Claim 14-15 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole in view of Hsieh and Siu US 7562500 B2.
As per claim 14 Cole teaches a method of assembling a flooring system (FIG. 1, 6; note “Obviously this same plan of modified construction can a utilized for blocks 19 and 20” p. 2, left col., ln. 57-70) comprising:
(a) aligning a first structural member (FIG. 6) with a second structural member (see FIG. 1, 6), wherein each structural member (see FIG. 1, 6) comprises:
a first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) defining a first side;
a second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) spaced apart from the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6),
the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) defining a second side;
wherein each C-shaped channel (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprises a web, a top flange, and a bottom flange, ; and
a reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6) extending between the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) having
a first edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6) and
a second edge continuously welded (see “electrically welded to the frame 23” p. 1, right col., ln. 55) to an inner surface of the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6), wherein a top portion of the reinforcing member (mesh 26, FIG. 6), the web of the first C-shaped channel (left channel 42, FIG. 6), and the web of the second C-shaped channel (right channels 42, FIG. 6) define an interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6);
wherein each web of the first and second C-shaped channel s (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) comprises at least one interface component (lead sealing strips 27, FIG. 1) for aligning the first structural member (FIG. 6)with the second structural member;
(b) abutting an outer surface of the web of the first side of the second structural member (FIG. 6) against an outer surface of the web of the second side of the first structural member (FIG. 6) such that the at least one interface component of the first structural member (FIG. 6) aligns with the at least one interface component of the second structural member(see at least first and second members 19, 20, 21 FIG. 1);
(c) securing the first structural member (FIG. 6) to the second structural member (FIG. 6) using the respective interface components of the first and second structural members (see aligned members, FIG. 1); and
wherein concrete material forms into a concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6),
wherein the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) substantially fills the interior volume (see “interior volume” between 42 and 42, FIG. 6) and covers the top flanges of each of the first and second structural members (see FIG. 6),
wherein the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6) defines a continuous top surface above the top flanges of each C-shaped channel (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6),
Cole, however, fails to explicitly disclose:
the top flange including a downwardly extending portion
the downwardly extending portions of each C-shaped being located within the concrete slab;
(d) after securing the first structural member to the second structural member, pouring a concrete material onto the first and second structural members.
Hsieh teaches closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet, specifically:
the top flange including a downwardly extending portion (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C)
the downwardly extending portions of each C-shaped channel (left and right channels 42, 42, FIG. 6) being located within the concrete slab (block 43, FIG. 6);
the reinforcing member is a corrugated deck (see “profiled steel sheet 52 is a corrugated profiled steel sheet or a folded profiled steel sheet” 16:10; also FIG. 4-2A, 4-4A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole by substituting closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
Siu teaches pouring, specifically:
(d) after securing the first structural member to the second structural member, pouring a concrete material onto the first and second structural members (“Concrete topping may be scheduled after the entire building enclosed as one continuous pour. Alternatively, concrete for each floor may be scheduled immediately after the floor deck above is installed” 11:47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh by including the method step as taught by Siu in order to expedite production.
As per claim 18 Cole in view of Hsieh and Siu teaches the limitations according to claim 14, and Hsieh further discloses the downwardly extending portions are substantially parallel to the web of each C-shaped channel (see continuous single beam 1, FIG. 2-1A through FIG. 2-1C).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Cole in view of Hsieh and Siu by substituting closed C-shaped channels and a corrugated reinforcing sheet as taught by Hsieh in order to form a stronger floor slab.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JJS/
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619