DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 4172255 A in view of D2 Liyuan (“A Low Complexity Asynchronous UWB TDOA Localization Method”, International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks, Volume 2015, Article ID 675490) (and evidenced by Fuller et al.US 3714650 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4 D1 US 4172255 A teaches
transceiver, comprising:
a transmitter;(fig. 5 P)
a receiver having a first antenna (first antenna) and a second antenna (second antenna fig. 5) separated by a first distance, d;
a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store computer executable instructions; and(col 7 line 45-63)
one or more processors, wherein, in response to executing the computer executable instructions, the one or more processors are configured to perform a method comprising the steps of: (col 7 line 45-63)
using the first antenna to receive a transmitted signal;(fig. 5) (col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)
using the second antenna to receive the transmitted signal; and(col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)
using the receiver to:
develop a range, r, between the transmitter and a selected one of the first antenna and the second antenna; (col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)(distance is calculated using two way propagation time)
develop a first time of flight value as a function of a complex baseband impulse response of the transmitted signal received by the first antenna; (col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)
develop a second time of flight value as a function of a complex baseband impulse response of the transmitted signal received by the second antenna; (col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)
develop a path difference value, p, as a function of the first time of flight value and the second time of flight value (col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25 phase difference is proportional to tof difference{evidenced by Fuller et al.US 3714650 A}) and
develop an (x, y) location of the transmitter relative to the receiver as a function of d, r, and p.(col 4 lines 47-55)
difference also is that P itself is not a transmitter but rather reflector and two way propagation time is calculated(col 4 line 56-col 5 line 25)
but does not explicitly teach
ultra-wide (UWB)
X and y coordinate
D2 teaches ultra-wide (UWB) (abstract) and transformation from r theta to X and y coordinate (page 6)
Instead of using reflector using two antennas for reception and one transmitter(passive listening type)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order make positioning in Ultra wide band domain and represent the position of the reflector in cartesian coordinates.
2, 5 (Original) The UWB transceiver of claim 1, wherein d is less than or equal to one half of a wavelength, of the transmitted signal.(D1 col 5 lines 12-14)
Claim(s) 3, 6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 4172255 A in view of D2 Liyuan (“A Low Complexity Asynchronous UWB TDOA Localization Method”, International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks, Volume 2015, Article ID 675490) (and evidenced by Fuller et al.US 3714650 A) also further in view of/evidenced by Royal US 3886555 A .
Regarding claims 3, 6 D1 teaches
3, 6 (Original) The UWB transceiver of claim 1, wherein a processor is configured to develop the path difference value, p, as the function of a first phase value and a second phase value by developing the path difference value, p, as the function of the first time of flight value, the second time of flight value, (implicit / obvious col 5 lines 3-24 .PHI.(.DELTA.)=k.sub.o *d *sin .alpha.(.DELTA.) as .PHI.(.DELTA.) depends on path difference which is the same as TOF difference and system should be calibrated although not explicit to obtain correct TOF hence calibration should be present in phase difference calculation but in any case Royal US 3886555 A explicitly teaches performing calibration to remove phase errors )
But does not explicitly say
of a selected calibration function
Royal US 3886555 A explicitly teaches performing calibration to remove phase errors (which inherently means using calibration function)(col 1 lines 10-24)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by Royal in order to remove phase errors.
Conclusion
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648