DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “114” has been used to designate both a memory and another element not mentioned in the specification. Also the camera is labeled with reference character “163” but referred to as “160” in the specification, and reference characters “122” and “165” are not mentioned in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mazzarella et al (US 20190281096 A1, hereinafter Mazzarella).
Consider claims 1 and 9, Mazzarella discloses a mobile radio device (computing device endpoints 630 can be any suitable type of computing device, such as. mobile device, smartphone,…mobile telephone, paragraph 69) comprising:
a housing including a Push-to-Talk (PTT) button (The PTT control element 218 can be a physical control element, such as a mechanical button, paragraph 42);
at least one display device; (touchscreen, paragraph 71)
at least one antenna (paragraph 72);
at least one microphone (paragraph 71);
at least one speaker (paragraph 71);
at least one processor (processor 632, Fig. 6); and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage mediums that includes machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device radio to (The memory 634 can include one or more computer-readable media and can store information accessible by the one or more processors 632, including instructions 636 that can be executed by the one or more processors 632 and data 638, paragraph 70):
connect to a video conferencing session including multiple participants (implementing a PTT mode in a conferencing session associated with a multimedia conferencing system. The conferencing session can include real time or near real time audio and/or video communications between two or more endpoints communicatively coupled to a conferencing platform, paragraph 44);
in response to connecting to the video conferencing session, automatically mute the at least one microphone (the method (300) can include blocking audio data from at least one other endpoint. When an endpoint has transmission capabilities, the other endpoints in the conferencing session can be blocked from transmitting audio data to the other endpoints…The blocked endpoints can implement the audio block in various suitable manners, such as for instance, by suspending operation of one or more microphone devices associated with the endpoints, muting the one or more microphone devices, refraining from sending audio data input by the user, or other suitable technique, paragraph 49);
receive, through the video conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, first audio data and first video data from another device of the multiple participants connected to the video conferencing session (the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15);
in response to receiving the first audio data and the first video data, output, using the at least one display device and the at least one speaker, the first audio data and the first video data received through the video conferencing session (the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15);
detect that the PTT button is pressed (The request can be provided, for instance, responsive to an interaction by a user of the first endpoint with a PTT control element associated with the first endpoint, paragraph 46);
in response to detecting that the PTT button is pressed, unmute the at least one microphone while the PTT button is pressed (granting transmission capabilities to the first endpoint based at least in part on one or more floor control parameters, paragraph 47);
capture, while the PTT button is pressed and using the at least one microphone, sound from an environment of the mobile radio device (upon receiving transmission capabilities, the first endpoint is permitted to transmit audio data to the other endpoints in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
generate second audio data based on the sound captured using the at least one microphone (upon receiving transmission capabilities, the first endpoint is permitted to transmit audio data to the other endpoints in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
transmit, through the video conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, the second audio data generated by the mobile radio device (providing audio data from the first endpoint to at least one other endpoint in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
detect that the PTT button is released (the first endpoint can release the transmission capabilities responsive to an interaction by the user with the PTT control element indicative of a request by the user to release transmission capabilities, paragraph 50); and
in response to detecting that the PPT button is released, mute the at least one microphone by default while the mobile radio device is connected to the video conferencing session (When an endpoint has transmission capabilities, the other endpoints in the conferencing session can be blocked from transmitting audio data to the other endpoints…The blocked endpoints can implement the audio block in various suitable manners, such as for instance, by suspending operation of one or more microphone devices associated with the endpoints, muting the one or more microphone devices, paragraph 49; transmission capabilities can be revoked responsive to a release of the transmission capabilities by the first endpoint. For instance, the first endpoint can release the transmission capabilities responsive to an interaction by the user with the PTT control element indicative of a request by the user to release transmission capabilities, paragraph 50).
Consider claim 18, Mazzarella discloses a mobile radio device comprising:
a housing including a Push-to-Talk (PTT) button (The PTT control element 218 can be a physical control element, such as a mechanical button, paragraph 42);
at least one antenna (paragraph 72);
at least one microphone (paragraph 71);
at least one speaker (paragraph 71);
at least one processor (processor 632, Fig. 6); and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage mediums that include machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device radio to (The memory 634 can include one or more computer-readable media and can store information accessible by the one or more processors 632, including instructions 636 that can be executed by the one or more processors 632 and data 638, paragraph 70):
connect to a conferencing session including multiple participants (implementing a PTT mode in a conferencing session associated with a multimedia conferencing system. The conferencing session can include real time or near real time audio and/or video communications between two or more endpoints communicatively coupled to a conferencing platform, paragraph 44);
in response to connecting to the conferencing session, automatically mute the at least one microphone (the method (300) can include blocking audio data from at least one other endpoint. When an endpoint has transmission capabilities, the other endpoints in the conferencing session can be blocked from transmitting audio data to the other endpoints…The blocked endpoints can implement the audio block in various suitable manners, such as for instance, by suspending operation of one or more microphone devices associated with the endpoints, muting the one or more microphone devices, refraining from sending audio data input by the user, or other suitable technique, paragraph 49);
receive, through the conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, first audio data from another device of the multiple participants connected to the conferencing session (the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15);
in response to receiving the first audio data, output, using the at least one speaker, the first audio data received through the conferencing session (the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15);
detect that the PTT button is pressed (The request can be provided, for instance, responsive to an interaction by a user of the first endpoint with a PTT control element associated with the first endpoint, paragraph 46);
in response to detecting that the PTT button is pressed, unmute the at least one microphone while the PTT button is pressed (granting transmission capabilities to the first endpoint based at least in part on one or more floor control parameters, paragraph 47);
capture, while the PTT button is pressed and using the at least one microphone, sound from an environment of the mobile radio device (upon receiving transmission capabilities, the first endpoint is permitted to transmit audio data to the other endpoints in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
generate second audio data based on the sound captured using the at least one microphone (upon receiving transmission capabilities, the first endpoint is permitted to transmit audio data to the other endpoints in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
transmit, through the conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, the second audio data generated by the mobile radio device (providing audio data from the first endpoint to at least one other endpoint in the conferencing session, paragraph 48);
detect that the PTT button is released (the first endpoint can release the transmission capabilities responsive to an interaction by the user with the PTT control element indicative of a request by the user to release transmission capabilities, paragraph 50) and
in response to detecting that the PPT button is released, mute the at least one microphone by default while the mobile radio device is connected to the conferencing session(When an endpoint has transmission capabilities, the other endpoints in the conferencing session can be blocked from transmitting audio data to the other endpoints…The blocked endpoints can implement the audio block in various suitable manners, such as for instance, by suspending operation of one or more microphone devices associated with the endpoints, muting the one or more microphone devices, paragraph 49; transmission capabilities can be revoked responsive to a release of the transmission capabilities by the first endpoint. For instance, the first endpoint can release the transmission capabilities responsive to an interaction by the user with the PTT control element indicative of a request by the user to release transmission capabilities, paragraph 50).
Consider claims 2, 10, and 19, and as applied to claims 1, 9, and 18 respectively above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to output the first audio data only while the PPT button is released (the PTT mode can be implemented responsive to detecting the one or more half duplex endpoints, paragraph 61).
Consider claims 3, 11, and 20, and as applied to claims 1, 9, and 18 respectively above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to output the first audio data regardless of whether the PPT button is pressed or released (the continuous mode can operate in accordance with the full duplex transmission capabilities of the full duplex communication devices, paragraph 16).
Consider claims 4 and 12, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to output the first video data regardless of whether the PPT button is pressed or released (a video camera source may be associated with a two-way radio communications device or PTT application such that the video stream from the associated camera source may transmitted to a conference hub and associated with the identity of the conference endpoint, where the associated video source may be relayed, or transcoded and relayed, retransmitted, rebroadcast, or distributed to conference application clients and the displayed video content associated with the two-way radio communications device, paragraph 84).
Consider claims 5 and 13, and as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively above, Mazzarella discloses further comprising at least one optical sensor, wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to:
capture, using the at least one optical sensor, one or more image frames from the environment of the mobile radio device;
generate, based on the one or more image frames from the environment of the mobile radio device, second video data; and
transmit, through the video conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, the second video data generated by the mobile radio device (the computing device endpoint 630 can have one or more camera devices, and/or microphone devices for capturing audio and/or video data to be communicated to one or more endpoints in the conferencing system, paragraph 71; the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15).
Consider claims 7 and 15, and as applied to claims 4 and 13 respectively above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to transmit the second video data generated by the mobile radio device regardless of whether the PPT button is pressed or released (the present disclosure are directed to implementing push-to-talk (PTT) audio communication techniques in a conferencing session associated with an interoperable multimedia conferencing system. The conferencing system can include a conferencing platform that facilitates multimedia communications between two or more endpoints in a conferencing session via one or more suitable networks. For instance, the endpoints can provide data (e.g. audio data and/or video data) to the conferencing platform, and the conferencing platform can distribute the data to one or more destination endpoints such that each endpoint can receive the data from the other endpoints in real-time or near real-time during a conferencing session, paragraph 15).
Consider claims 8 and 16, and as applied to claims 1 and 13respectively above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to:
receive, through the video conferencing session and using the at least one antenna, data indicative of an identity of the multiple participants of the video conferencing session, a chat room of the video conferencing session, or a meeting length of the video conferencing session; and
output, using the at least one display device, the data indicative of the identity of the multiple participants of the video conferencing session, the chat room of the video conferencing session, or the meeting length of the video conferencing session (The conference application GUI may visually display the presence of two-way radio communications device or a PTT application as a member conference endpoint in a conference by means of a graphical representation or other visually displayable information in a conference application GUI. The conference application GUI may identify or symbolize the conference endpoint as a two-way radio or PTT application member conference endpoint, which may be substituted for a source video stream associated with the two-way radio communications device or PTT application, where the graphical representation may include: … (c) the name or identity of the two-way radio client as transmitted from the two-way radio client, radio network or the radio gateway, including any identification information embedded in the radio message format or which may be transcoded or translated by a server or application to a message format readable by the conference hub or conference application, paragraph 82).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 9 above, Mazzarella discloses wherein the video conferencing session is hosted on a remote conferencing server (the conferencing platform can be implemented at a central server (e.g. conferencing platform 102 in FIG. 1), paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzarella in view of Do et al (US 20220295009 A1, hereinafter Do).
Consider claims 6 and 14, and as applied to claims 1 and 13 respectively above, Mazzarella does not expressly disclose wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to transmit the second video data generated by the mobile radio device only while the PPT button is pressed.
In the same field of endeavor, Do discloses wherein the mobile radio device is further caused to transmit the second video data generated by the mobile radio device only while the PPT button is pressed (For example, the video call may be performed by a push-to-talk (PTT) type application (e.g., an MCPTT application). In this case, the processor 220 may be configured to transmit the voice and image of the user in a time division manner after the video call is connected. For example, the processor 220 may transmit the voice and image of the user in the first time interval and stop transmitting the voice and image of the user in the second time interval. For example, the first time interval and the second time interval are distinguished form each other based on transmission request input. In this case, the processor 220 may be configured to transmit the voice and image of the user based on the transmission request input. For example, the processor 220 may be configured to transmit the voice and image of the user (e.g., an input to a button of the designated electronic device 201….), paragraph 74).
Therefore, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Do with the teachings of Mazzarella in order to improve the quality of a video call.
Conclusion
/GERMAN VIANA DI PRISCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642