Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1 (claims 1-12 and 18-28) in the reply filed on 16 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to purported merits of the invention (“A golf ball mold assembly for quickly and efficiently eliminating air from within a mold”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 20, 22, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 20, “opening” should be replaced with “the opening”.
In line 3 of claim 22, “the annular recess” should be replaced with “the at least one annular recess” for consistency with claim 21.
In line 2 of claim 28, “width” should be replaced with “a depth”. See [0070] of the specification and Figs. 19-20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,879,599 (“Inoue”) (cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 18, Inoue discloses a golf ball mold assembly (Figs. 1-2, Col. 3, Ln. 65-67), comprising:
a mold comprising a mold body and an arcuate inner surface (Figs. 1-2) comprising an inverted dimple and fret pattern (Col. 5, Ln. 56 to Col. 6, Ln. 2), the mold defining an interior spherical cavity for holding a golf ball subassembly (Figs. 1-2), the mold comprising a plurality of through holes including a center through hole (the vent pin hole 3, Figs. 1-2) and a plurality of surrounding through holes (the support pin holes 5, Figs. 1-2); and
a venting assembly, comprising:
a plurality of pins extending parallel to an axis (Fig. 1), the plurality of pins comprising a stationary center vent pin positioned in the center through hole (the vent pin 1, Figs. 1-2) and a plurality of retractable pins positioned in the plurality of surrounding through holes (the support pins 2, Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Ln. 16-26), wherein the center vent pin comprises a vent portion extending along a length thereof (the vent pin clearance 4, Fig. 1, Col. 4, Ln. 1-4 and 27-38); and
a vacuum bushing (the structure in which the cave 14 is formed, Fig. 2) comprising a cavity-side surface (the upper surface of the bushing, Fig. 2), a collection area (the cave 14, Fig. 2), and a center vent hole having an opening in the cavity-side surface and leading to the collection area (there is a hole in the bushing aligned with the vent pin 1, Fig. 2), wherein the center vent hole extends parallel to the axis (Fig. 2),
wherein the opening of the center vent hole includes a covered portion that is covered by the center vent pin and an uncovered portion that is not covered by the center vent pin (Figs. 1-2. The hole in the bushing that is aligned with the vent pin 1 would be covered by the vent pin 1 except at the portions corresponding to the clearance 4.), wherein the uncovered portion forms part of a vent path from the interior spherical cavity to the collection area of the vacuum bushing (Col. 4, Ln. 39-47), and wherein the covered portion of the opening of the center vent hole includes the center point of the opening (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Inoue discloses that the uncovered portion of the opening of the center vent hole includes an area at a perimeter of the opening of the center vent hole (the area corresponding to the clearance 4, Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of US 2021/0094210 (“Vora”) (corresponding to US 11,697,231, cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a golf ball mold assembly (Figs. 1-2, Col. 3, Ln. 65-67), comprising:
a mold comprising a mold body and an arcuate inner surface (Figs. 1-2) comprising an inverted dimple and fret pattern (Col. 5, Ln. 56 to Col. 6, Ln. 2), the mold defining an interior spherical cavity for holding a golf ball subassembly (Figs. 1-2), the mold comprising a plurality of through holes including a center through hole (the vent pin hole 3, Figs. 1-2) and a plurality of surrounding through holes (the support pin holes 5, Figs. 1-2);
a venting assembly comprising:
a plurality of pins extending parallel to an axis (Fig. 1), the plurality of pins comprising a stationary center vent pin positioned in the center through hole (the vent pin 1, Figs. 1-2) and a plurality of retractable pins (the support pins 2, Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Ln. 16-26), wherein the center vent pin comprises a vent portion extending along a length thereof (the vent pin clearance 4, Fig. 1, Col. 4, Ln. 1-4 and 27-38), wherein the plurality of retractable pins are positioned in the plurality of surrounding through holes (Fig. 1); and
a vacuum bushing (the structure in which the cave 14 is formed, Fig. 2) comprising a cavity-side surface (the upper surface of the bushing, Fig. 2), a collection area (the cave 14, Fig. 2), and a plurality of vent holes each having an opening in the cavity-side surface and leading to the collection area through the vacuum bushing (there is a hole in the bushing aligned with the vent pin 1 and two holes through which the support pins 2 pass, Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of vent holes extend parallel to the axis (Fig. 2) and comprise a center vent hole (the hole aligned with the vent pin 1, Fig. 2) and a plurality of surrounding vent holes (the holes through which the support pins 2 pass, Fig. 2),
wherein a plurality of vent paths are formed from the interior spherical cavity to the collection area of the vacuum bushing (Col. 4, Ln. 39-47), including at least one center vent path through the center through hole and the center vent hole (through the clearance 4 and into the cave 14) and at least one surrounding vent path through a surrounding through hole and a surrounding vent hole (through the clearance 6 and into the cave 14).
Inoue does not disclose a plurality of stationary flow-through pins, where each stationary flow-through pin comprises a vent portion extending along a length thereof, and the stationary flow-through pins are positioned in the plurality of surrounding through holes.
However, such an arrangement is well known in the art. For example, Vora is directed to molds for making golf balls ([0002]) and discloses a pin arrangement comprising: four stationary high venting inner pins 20, 22, 24, 26; four stationary high venting outer pins 30, 32, 34, 36; four retractable high venting pins 40, 42, 44, 46; and one stationary high venting center pin 50 (Fig. 5, [0102]). Additionally, Vora notes that essentially any pin arrangement may be suitable ([0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included additional stationary venting pins in Inoue and to have arranged these pins to surround the central vent pin 1 since Vora teaches that such a pin arrangement is suitable in a golf ball mold. Additionally, this would represent a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The stationary inner and outer pins of Vora (20, 22, 24, 26, 30, 32, 34, 36) comprise vent portions extending along their lengths ([0115], Figs. 6A and 7A) and are positioned in surrounding through holes (Figs. 4-5), as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, modified Inoue discloses that the plurality of through holes are parallel to the axis and extend from the interior spherical cavity through the mold body to a distal surface of the mold body (Figs. 1-2 of Inoue).
Regarding claim 3, modified Inoue discloses that the distal surface of the mold body is positioned adjacent to the cavity-side surface of the vacuum bushing (Fig. 2 of Inoue).
Regarding claim 4, modified Inoue discloses that the center vent pin partially covers the opening of the center vent hole (Figs. 1-2 of Inoue. The hole in the bushing that is aligned with the vent pin 1 would be covered by the vent pin 1 except at the portions corresponding to the clearance 4.).
With respect to the plurality of stationary flow-through pins, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the same arrangement for these pins as for the vent pin 1 since all these pins are stationary vent pins.
Regarding claim 5, modified Inoue discloses that the vacuum bushing comprises a plurality of retractable pin through holes extending from the cavity-side surface to a distal end of the vacuum bushing (Fig. 2 of Inoue), wherein the plurality of retractable pins are positioned in the plurality of retractable pin through holes in the vacuum bushing (Fig. 2 of Inoue).
Regarding claim 6, modified Inoue discloses that the collection area is between the cavity-side surface and the distal end of the vacuum bushing along a direction parallel to the axis (Fig. 2 of Inoue).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Vora states that essentially any pin arrangement may be suitable ([0103]) and also specifically discloses a pin arrangement comprising: four stationary high venting inner pins 20, 22, 24, 26; four stationary high venting outer pins 30, 32, 34, 36; four retractable high venting pins 40, 42, 44, 46; and one stationary high venting center pin 50 (Fig. 5, [0102]).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue to use a pin arrangement like that of Vora, which would result in the vacuum bushing comprising four surrounding vent holes (for the four stationary inner pins 20, 22, 24, 26 or for the four stationary outer pins 30, 32, 34, 36) and four retractable pin through holes (for the four retractable pins 40, 42, 44, 46).
Regarding claim 8, Inoue does not disclose that the cave 14 comprises an annular recess, as claimed. However, there is also nothing in Inoue to indicate that the shape of the cave 14 is important. See Col. 4, Ln. 41-47, which is the only discussion of the cave 14 in Inoue. Accordingly, claim 8 does not patentably define over modified Inoue. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), which discusses In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Alternatively, Vora discloses a collection area comprising an annular recess. See Fig. 15 and [0123], where air is exhausted at a base 235, and the area of the base 235 is recessed relative to the structure immediately above and below the base 235. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a collection area like that of Vora in place of the collection area of Inoue since Vora indicates that such an arrangement is suitable for exhausting air when a vacuum is applied ([0123]), which is the same functionality provided by the collection area of Inoue. This would represent a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue does not disclose that the vacuum bushing comprises an exit channel connecting the center vent hole to the collection area. In Inoue, the center vent hole is directly connected to the cave 14. See Fig. 2.
Vora discloses multiple arrangements for directing air from the stationary pins and out of the mold assembly. See the flow patterns 231 in Fig. 15 (embodiment of Figs. 15-16) and the channel portions 246 in Fig. 18 (embodiment of Figs. 17-18). While the air is directed along the exterior surfaces 233 of the retractable pins 234 on the way to the collection area ([0123], Fig. 15 or [0130], Fig. 18) unlike Inoue where the air travels directly from the vent pin 1 to the collection area (Fig. 2), the above embodiments of Vora teach that an indirect path, including channel portions below a mold half (Fig. 15, Fig. 18), is suitable for exhausting air from around stationary pins and out of a mold assembly, as desired by Inoue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue to include an additional channel along the path from the vent pin 1 to the cave 14, if desired, since Vora discloses that such an arrangement is suitable. This would represent a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 10, modified Inoue discloses that the exit channel extends in a direction perpendicular to the axis (Fig. 15 of Vora where the flow patterns 231 bend or Fig. 18 of Vora at the channel portions 246).
Regarding claim 11, modified Inoue discloses that the vacuum bushing comprises a plurality of exit channels connecting the center vent hole to the collection area (the channel portions 246, Fig. 18 of Vora).
Regarding claim 12, modified Inoue discloses that the surrounding vent holes connect to a portion of a respective exit channel (Fig. 18 of Vora).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue, as applied to claim 18 or 19 above, and further in view of US 2002/0079615 (“Puniello”) (cited in an IDS).
Regarding claim 20, Inoue does not disclose that the area at the perimeter of the opening of the center vent hole includes a plurality of separate areas spaced around the perimeter of opening of the center vent hole.
Puniello is directed to venting methods and an apparatus for use in golf ball injection molding systems ([0001]) and discloses several vent pin embodiments with increased ventilation capacity (Figs. 3A-D and 4A-D, [0033]-[0034]). In one embodiment, the vent pin has a plurality of secondary vents 56 on the outer surface of the pin (Figs. 3D and 4D, [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from among known vent pins for the vent pin 1 of Inoue. This would represent a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Additionally, the vent pins of Figs. 3A-D and 4A-D of Puniello provided an increased ventilation capacity ([0034]).
With respect to the limitation that the area at the perimeter of the opening of the center vent hole includes a plurality of separate areas spaced around the perimeter of opening of the center vent hole, the two secondary vents 56 shown in Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello would create corresponding uncovered areas spaced from one another and located at the perimeter of the opening of the center vent hole.
Regarding claim 21, Inoue does not disclose that the vent portion comprises at least one annular recess, at least one surface vent, and at least one exit vent.
Puniello is directed to venting methods and an apparatus for use in golf ball injection molding systems ([0001]) and discloses several vent pin embodiments with increased ventilation capacity (Figs. 3A-D and 4A-D, [0033]-[0034]). In one embodiment, the vent pin has a primary vent 52 and a plurality of secondary vents 56 (Figs. 3D and 4D, [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from among known vent pins for the vent pin 1 of Inoue. This would represent a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Additionally, the vent pins of Figs. 3A-D and 4A-D of Puniello provided an increased ventilation capacity ([0034]).
The resulting combination includes at least one annular recess (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided below), at least one surface vent (see id.), and at least one exit vent (see id.), as claimed.
Regarding claim 22, modified Inoue discloses that the center vent pin comprises along the axis a proximal section, a middle section, and a distal section, wherein the proximal section comprises the annular recess, the middle section comprises the at least one surface vent, and the distal section comprises a support block and the at least one exit vent formed in the support block (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided above).
Regarding claim 23, modified Inoue discloses that the support block is an enlarged end of the center vent pin relative to the proximal and middle sections of the center vent pin, the support block having a maximum diameter through the center axis of the center vent pin (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided above).
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Puniello, as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US 2008/0018020 (“Wilson”).
Regarding claim 24, in Inoue, the maximum diameter of the vent pin 1 is less than the diameter of the opening of the center vent hole due to the clearance 4. See Figs. 1-2.
Wilson relates to the molding of golf ball covers (title) and discloses a stationary vent pin 60 (Fig. 1, [0026]) located above an opening leading to a channel 34 for creating a vacuum (Fig. 1, [0024]). As can be seen in Fig. 1, the base of the vent pin 60 has a greater diameter than the remainder of the vent pin 60 and also a greater diameter than the opening leading to the channel 34. Note that the unhatched portion of the vent pin 60 in Fig. 1 corresponds to one of the walls of the gap vent 66, which enables venting of air from the cavity space 28 to the exterior (Figs. 5-6, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the opening of the center vent hole of Inoue so as to have a smaller diameter than the maximum diameter of the support block of the vent pin from Puniello. This would prevent the vent pin from moving downward into the cave 14 in the same manner that the shapes of the vent pins of Inoue and Puniello prevent their movement upward into the mold cavity, with the secondary vents 56 of Puniello still enabling the venting of air (like the gap vent 66 of Wilson).
Regarding claim 25, modified Inoue discloses that each exit vent is formed as a recess from the maximum diameter toward the center axis of the center vent pin (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided above).
Regarding claim 26, modified Inoue discloses that the support block comprises a first end adjacent to the middle section of the center vent pin, and an opposite second end, wherein each recess extends from the first end to the second end to form a complete path through the support block (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided above).
Regarding claim 27, modified Inoue discloses that each exit vent comprises an exit surface within the recess, the exit surface extending from the first end to the second end (see the annotated version of Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello provided above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
While Puniello and Wilson disclose vent pins with vents that extend through support blocks (the secondary vents 56 in Figs. 3D and 4D of Puniello and the gap vent 66 in Figs. 5-6 of Wilson), neither has a vent with an exit surface that is pitched toward the center axis of the vent pin such that the vent has a width/depth that increases along the length of the vent, as claimed. Note the objection to claim 28 above. The remaining prior art also fails to disclose or suggest this feature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, see Figs. 1-2 of US 2006/0269651 (“Hirao”) and Figs. 1-3 of WO 2019/230870 (“Tamaya”).
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744