DETAILED ACTION
1. This final Office action is responsive to amendment filed on 01/20/2026. Claims 1 and 3-16 are presented for examination and are still rejected for the reasons indicated herein below.
Response to arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed on 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and the claims are still rejected (see the rejection below).
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 11, 13-14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, recites “; and” it should be changed to “; . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 9, recites “the inverter system controller” it should be changed to “the inverter
Claim 11, line 4, recites “an inverter system controller connected between the traction battery and electric machine” it should be changed to “an inverter the electric machine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, line 7, recites “the inverter system controller” it should be changed to “the inverter
Claim 13, line 3, recites “the neutral point” it should be changed to “the center point”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14, line 2, recites “the inverter system controller” it should be changed to “the inverter
Claim 16, lines 2-3, recites “operate the inverter system controller via closed-loop control to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period” it should be changed to “operate the inverter the switches thereof at [[a]] the predefined temperature for [[a]] the predefined period”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kazaoka (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0048083 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “An automotive power system (e.g. see Figs. 1-12) comprising: a traction battery (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 20); an electric machine including Y-connected windings (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 40 and 41): an inverter (30) system controller connected between the traction battery (20) and electric machine (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 20, 30 and 40. Implicit); and a switch (61) having a terminal directly connected with a center point (B) of the traction battery (20) and a terminal directly connected with a neutral point (O) of the Y-connected windings (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 61, B, and O. Implicit); and a controller (50 and 70) programmed to, during a park mode, close the switch (61) and operate the inverter (30) system controller to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0049, 0061-0065, 0070-0073 and para. 0126-0127. Examiner’s note: based on the broadest reasonable interpretation and since “predefined temperature” and “predefined period” are not really defined to be any specific number or within any specific range, Kazaoka in fact teaches this limitation because the controller controls switch 61 and also controls the current via controlling the switches of the inverter 30 which in turns control the temperature. Another interpretation would be to control the inverter to be off and therefore, maintaining the switches of the inverter at a predefined temperature for a predefined period. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 3, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the controller (50 and 70) is further programmed to operate the inverter (30) via closed-loop control to maintain the switches at the predefined temperature for the predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 4, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the controller (50 and 70) is further programmed to, after expiration of the predefined period, open the switch (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 5, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the traction battery (20) includes two sets of battery cells (21 and 22) and wherein the center point (B) is between the two sets of battery cells (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 20-22 and B. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 6, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “further comprising a controller (50 and 70) programmed to, during a park mode, close the switch (61) and operate the inverter (30) to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period such that states of charge of the two sets of battery cells (21-22) are same (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 21-22, 50, 70, 61 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 7, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “A method comprising: during a park mode, closing a switch (61) to directly connect a center point (B) of a traction battery (20) and a neutral point (O) of Y-connected windings (41) of an electric machine (40), and operating an inverter (30) connected between the traction battery (20) and the electric machine (40) to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 8, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the operating is via closed-loop control (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 9, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “further comprising, after expiration of the predefined period, opening the switch (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 10, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the operating is such that states of charge of sets of battery cells (21-22) on each side of the center point are same (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 11, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “A vehicle (e.g. see Figs. 1-12, also see the abstract) comprising: a traction battery (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 20); an electric machine (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see40); an inverter (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 30) system controller connected between the traction battery (20) and electric machine (40); a switch (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 61) connected between the traction battery (20) and windings (41) of the electric machine (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 61, 20 and 40); and a controller (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50 and 70) programmed to, while the vehicle is not being driven, close the switch (61) and operate the inverter system controller to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 12, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the windings (41) are Y-connected windings, and the switch (61) is connected with a neutral point (O) of the Y-connected windings (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 40, 41, 61, 60 and O. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 13, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the traction battery (20) includes two sets of battery cells (21-22) and a center point (B) therebetween and wherein the switch (61) is connected with the neutral point (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 20-22, B and 61. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 14, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the controller (50 and 70) is further programmed to operate the inverter (30) system controller to maintain the switches thereof at the predefined temperature for the predefined period such that states of charges of the sets of battery cells (21-22) are same (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 21-22, 50, 70, 61 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 15, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the controller (50 and 70) is further programmed to open the switch (61) after expiration of the predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 16, Kazaoka (e.g. see Figs. 1-22) discloses “wherein the controller (50 and 70) is further programmed to operate the inverter (30) system controller via closed-loop control to maintain switches thereof at a predefined temperature for a predefined period (e.g. Figs. 1-12, see 50, 70, 61, 60 and 30, also see the abstract, para. 0004, 0028-0029, 0046-0048, 0062-0065, 0070-0071 and para. 0126-0127. Implicit)”.
5. Independent claims 1, 7 and 11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iyasu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0231619 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7 and 11, Iyasu et al. discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 11 (e.g. see Figs. 1-17, also see the abstract, background of the invention, and the summary of the invention. Examiner’s note: see Figs. 1-17 for the details of the system which includes, a traction battery (20-22), an electric machine (40), and inverter (30) a switch (61) and a controller (50 and 70). Moreover, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation and since “predefined temperature” and “predefined period” are not really defined to be any specific number or within any specific range, Iyasu et al. in fact teaches this limitation because the controller controls switch 61 and also controls the current via controlling the switches of the inverter 30 which in turns control the temperature. Another interpretation would be to control the inverter to be off and therefore, maintaining the switches of the inverter at a predefined temperature for a predefined period. Also see para. 0060 which shows that control can be performed when vehicle is not moving. Implicit).
6. Independent claims 1, 7 and 11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0375547 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7 and 11, Lian et al. discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 11 (e.g. see Figs. 1-9, also see the abstract, background of the invention, and the summary of the invention. Examiner’s note: see Figs. 4-8 for the details of the system which includes, a traction battery (70-72), an electric machine (320), and inverter (310) a switch (330) and a controller. Moreover, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation and since “predefined temperature” and “predefined period” are not really defined to be any specific number or within any specific range, Lian et al. in fact teaches this limitation because the controller controls switch 330 and also controls the current via controlling the switches of the inverter 310 which in turns control the temperature. Another interpretation would be to control the inverter to be off and therefore, maintaining the switches of the inverter at a predefined temperature for a predefined period. Implicit).
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUSEF A AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838