DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. The Election filed July 16, 2026, in response to the Office Action of April 17, 2026, is acknowledged and has been entered. Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
4. Claims 1-13 are currently under consideration.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). In particular, the antisense nucleic sequences in Figures 7-9. Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
5. Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by US 2009/0148449 A1 (De Weers et al. June 11, 2009, effectively filed July 1, 2005), “De Weers”.
De Weers teaches human antibodies to CD38 for use in therapeutic methods. See abstract.
De Weers teaches treating disease expressing CD38, including rheumatoid arthritis, lupus nephritis, and systemic lupus erythematosus with the anti-CD38 antibodies. See ¶¶ 0125-0127, 0553, 0554, 1034, 1035, 1037 and 1057-1061 and claims 76 and 77.
De Weers teaches the CD38 antibody can be a Fab fragment, F(ab') 2 fragment, or a scFv. See ¶¶ 0581, 0784, and 0805.
De Weers teaches the CD38 antibody can be an IgG1 antibody. See ¶¶ 0073 and 0306.
6. Claim(s) 1, 4 and 11-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US 2002/0164788 (Ellis et al. Nov. 7, 2002), “Ellis”.
Ellis teaches a CD38 antibody for the treatment of cancer and autoimmune diseases. See abstract and ¶¶ 0062-0067.
Ellis teaches treating rheumatoid arthritis with a CD38 antibody. See ¶¶ 0069 and 0071 and claims 15 and 17.
Ellis that CD38 is expressed on the surface of cells, which allows the antibody to target CD38 expressing cells for lysis. See ¶¶ 0071-0072.
Ellis teaches the CD38 antibody can be a Fab fragment, F(ab') 2 fragment, or a scFv. See ¶¶ 0024.
Ellis teaches the CD38 antibody can be an IgG1 antibody. See ¶¶ 0024-0025.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1, 5, and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 8,486,394 (Tesar et al. July 16, 2013) evidenced by Saluja et al. (Frontiers Oncol. March 2024), “Saluja”.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘394 claims are drawn to a method for treating a haematological malignancy associated with CD38+ cells, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of an isolated antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that binds to CD38 and which comprises an H-CDR1, H-CDR2 and H-CDR3 region having at least 90% identity to that depicted in SEQ ID NO: 21 and an L-CDR1, L-CDR2 and L-CDR3 region having at least 90% identity to that depicted in SEQ ID NO: 51, wherein said haematological malignancy is taken from the list of multiple myeloma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, chronic myelogenous leukemia, acute myelogenous leukemia and acute lymphocytic leukemia.
Cancer and hematological malignancies are inflammatory diseases. See Saluja, abstract and pp. 03-11. Thus, ‘394 claims are treating inflammatory disease.
The ‘394 claims also teach:
10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the antigen binding fragment is an scFv, Fab or F(ab')2 fragment.
11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the antibody is an IgG.
12. The method according to claim 11, which is an IgG1.
8. Claims 1, 5, and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,184,005 (Tesar et al. Jan. 22, 2019) evidenced by Saluja et al. (Frontiers Oncol. March 2024), “Saluja”.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘ 005 claims are drawn to a method of inducing specific killing of tumor cells that express CD38, comprising the step of contacting said cells with a sufficient amount of an isolated anti-CD38 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, which comprises the three variable heavy chain complementarity determining regions (H-CDRs) and the three variable light-chain complementarity determining regions (L-CDRs) that are in the variable heavy chain and variable light chain pairs selected from: (i) SEQ ID NO: 18 and 48, (ii) SEQ ID NO: 20 and 50, (iii) SEQ ID NO: 21 and 51, (iv) SEQ ID NO: 22 and 52, and (v) SEQ ID NO: 25 and 55, wherein said antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof binds CD38 and has the ability to mediate killing of a CD38+ target cell.
Cancer and hematological malignancies are inflammatory diseases. See Saluja, abstract and pp. 03-11. Thus, ‘005 claims are treating inflammatory disease.
The ‘005 claims also teach:
22. The method according to claim 1, wherein the antigen binding fragment is an scFv, Fab or F(ab')2 fragment.
23. The method according to claim 1, wherein the antibody is an IgG.
24. The method according to claim 11, which is an IgG1.
Conclusion
9. Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected. Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
No claims allowed.
/PETER J REDDIG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646