DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 and 17-18 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 26-27 reads “being configured integral”, --being integral-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 12 reads “a cam disk (13) which is rotatable about the gear mechanism axis (11) and is intended to drive the teeth (9) along the respective longitudinal axis of the teeth (9)”. Merriam-Webster defines intended as “expected to be such in the future”. Therefore it is unclear what is required by this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 lines 2-3 recite the limitation “at least one axial bearing running surface”. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the at least one axial bearing running surface recited in claim 1, or if this limitation requires an additional axial bearing running surface.
Claim 6 lines 2-3 recite the limitation “at least two bearing running surfaces”. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to each of the at least one axial bearing running surfaces recited in claims 1 and 5, or if this limitation requires additional bearing running surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm (US 8480528 B2) in view of Capoldi (US 20220065296 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilhelm discloses gear mechanism (see Fig. 1a, 1b; R1), comprising a housing (10, 11, 13) with a fixedly arranged toothing (2), a tooth carrier (3) which is rotatable about a gear mechanism axis (M) relative to the housing and has guides (4), teeth (5), which are received in the guides for engagement with the toothing (see Fig. 1a), wherein the teeth are mounted in the guides so as to be displaceable in the direction of their longitudinal axis relative to the tooth carrier (see Fig. 1a), a cam disk (8) which is rotatable about the gear mechanism axis and is intended to drive the teeth along the respective longitudinal axis of the teeth (see Fig. 1a), and a bearing row (right side 15) between the tooth carrier and the housing for mounting the tooth carrier in the housing (see Fig. 1b). Wilhelm fails to disclose the bearing row comprises axial rolling bodies, the axes of rotation of which are aligned perpendicularly in relation to the gear mechanism axis, and radial rolling bodies, the axes of rotation of which are aligned parallel to the gear mechanism axis. However, Capoldi teaches the bearing row (see Fig. 1-3; bearing row comprising 20, 24) comprises axial rolling bodies (20), the axes of rotation of which are aligned perpendicularly in relation to the gear mechanism axis (see Fig. 1; axis of 12), and radial rolling bodies (see Fig. 2, 24), the axes of rotation of which are aligned parallel to the gear mechanism axis (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Wilhelm with the bearing row as taught by Capoldi, to provide a bearing which can be loaded both axially and radially with a relatively large load (see paragraph [0004]); to limit radial deformation of the rolling-element bearing and a gap opening between the inner ring and outer ring due to radial and axial forces (see paragraph [0006] and [0014]); to provide a single row having both radial and axial rollers which can perform two functions, i.e., accommodate radial load and accommodate axial loads (see paragraph [0015]); and to replace an angled bearing which can only support a limited axial and radial load with a bearing that can support a larger axial and radial load, in other words, to allow for larger axial and radial loads without deformation of the gear mechanism. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: the tooth carrier (Wilhelm; 3) has at least one axial bearing running surface (Wilhelm; axial bearing running surface of 16) for at least one of the axial rolling bodies (Capoldi; 20), the at least one axial bearing running surface being configured integral with the tooth carrier (Wilhelm; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Wilhelm discloses the gear mechanism (R1) is a coaxial gear mechanism (see Fig. 1b; see column 2 line 56, wherein a coaxial transmission is disclosed).
Regarding claim 3, Wilhelm discloses the housing (10, 11, 13) has a multi-part form (see Fig. 1b) and comprises a first housing part (11) in the form of a bearing outer ring (12), and wherein a ring gear (13) with the inner toothing (2) forms a second housing part of the housing (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 4, Wilhelm discloses the tooth carrier (3) has a one-part form (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the tooth carrier (Wilhelm, 3) has at least one radial bearing running surface (Wilhelm; radial bearing running surface of 16) and at least one axial bearing running surface (Wilhelm; axial bearing running surface of 16).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the tooth carrier (Wilhelm, 3) has at least two bearing running surfaces (Wilhelm; axial and radial bearing running surface of 16).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the bearing row is a first bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 20, 24) of a bearing of the tooth carrier (Wilhelm, 3), and wherein the bearing comprises a second bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 18) which has at least axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 18).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the two bearing rows (Wilhelm; right side 15 and left side 15) are arranged on either side of a portion of the tooth carrier (Wilhelm; middle portion of 3), which portion defines the at least one axial bearing running surface as two oppositely facing axial bearing running surfaces for the two bearing rows (Wilhelm; axial bearing surfaces of the right and left 15) spaced in the direction of the gear mechanism axis (Wilhelm; M).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the radial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 24) and/or the axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 18, 20) respectively of the first bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 20) and/or the second bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 18) each have a cylindrical shape (Capoldi, paragraph [0016], wherein cylindrical rollers are disclosed) with a diameter which is larger than a length of the cylindrical shape (Capoldi, Fig. 1 and 2, wherein the diameter of 18, 20 and 24 is larger than the respective length).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 20) has axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 20) and radial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 24). Wilhelm in view of Capoldi fail to disclose the second bearing row has axial rolling bodies and radial rolling bodies. However, it has been held that a duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In this instance, providing a second bearing row that has axial rolling bodies and radial rolling bodies would produce the expected result of a bearing capable of accommodating increased axial and radial loads. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: the second bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 18) has axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 18) and radial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 24).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second bearing row (Capoldi, bearing row comprising 18) has exclusively axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 18).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the bearing outer ring (Wilhelm, 12) has at least one axial (Wilhelm, axial surface of 12) and at least one radial bearing running surface (Wilhelm, radial surface of 12).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: an axial bearing ring (Wilhelm, 16) which has an axial bearing running surface (Wilhelm, axial surface of 16).
Regarding claim 14, Wilhelm discloses the cam disk (8) is in the form of a hollow shaft (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: spacing means (Capoldi, 50) are inserted between adjacent rolling bodies of the axial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 20) and the radial rolling bodies (Capoldi, 24).
Regarding claim 17, Wilhelm discloses the housing (10, 11, 13) has a multi-part form (see Fig. 1b) and comprises a first housing part (11) in the form of a bearing outer ring (12), and wherein a ring gear (13) with the inner toothing (2) forms a second housing part of the housing (see Fig. 1b). The combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the bearing outer ring (Wilhelm, 12) has at least one axial (Wilhelm, axial bearing surface of 12) and at least one radial bearing running surface (Wilhelm, radial bearing surface of 12) integral with the first housing part (Wilhelm, 11).
Regarding claim 18, Wilhelm fails to disclose at least one of the first bearing row and the second bearing row has 30% radial rolling bodies and the first and the second bearing rows have at least 30% axial rolling bodies. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular claimed ratios thereof, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this instance, paragraph [0027] of the instant application reads “By varying the fitting of the two bearing rows with radial or axial rolling bodies, the properties of the mounting in terms of load-bearing capacity and rigidity in the radial and axial direction, respectively, can be varied, which enables individual adaptation to usage applications. Typically, the following boundary condition must be satisfied: at least one bearing row must have a minimum number of radial rolling bodies, in order to ensure a radial guide. The two bearing rows must have a minimum number of axial rolling bodies, in order to enable an axial preload.” The specification sets forth varying the load capacity and rigidity per application of the gear mechanism. Therefore, the percentage of axial rolling bodies and percentage of radial rolling bodies is a result effective variable, and the optimum value of such only requires routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Wilhelm in view of Capoldi fail to disclose at least one axial bearing surface configured integral with the tooth carrier, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, MPEP 2111.01(I) states “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.” Merriam-Webster defines the term integral as “formed as a unit with another part”. In this instance, the bearing receptacle 16 of Wilhelm is fixed with the driven element 3, and is considered to be formed as a unit with another part.
Second, MPEP 2144(V)(B) states “The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”, and MPEP 2144(III) states “If the applicant has demonstrated the criticality of a specific limitation, it would not be appropriate to rely solely on the rationale used by the court to support an obviousness rejection.” In this instance, the originally filed disclosure fails to set forth any criticality of the bearing running surface being integrally formed with the tooth carrier. As such, forming the bearing running surfaces in a one piece construction would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Third, MPEP 2141.03(I) states "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.” In this instance, Capoldi discloses bearings that run directly on the supporting surfaces without the use of bearing receptacles or rings. Given both the prior art of Wilhelm and Capoldi, one having ordinary skill in the art would be able to fit the teachings of Capoldi, i.e., not using bearing receptacles, with the teachings of Wilhelm.
Given at least the arguments presented above, it is clear that (1) Wilhelm discloses an axial bearing surface that is integral with the tooth carrier, (2) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the tooth carrier and the bearing receptacle a single piece construction and (3) Capoldi teaches bearings that do not use receptacles or rings.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Wilhelm in view of Capoldi fail to disclose two oppositely facing axial bearing running surfaces, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wilhelm discloses two bearing rows, i.e., the right 15 and the left 15 in the figure, and Capoldi teaches a bearing row with axial and radial rolling bodies. Therefore, the combination of Wilhelm and Capoldi results in two oppositely facing axial bearing running surfaces.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that claim 17 is not rendered obvious by Wilhem and Capoldi, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes the rejection of claim 17 above which maps each of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618