DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 17; “a second-connection-flow-path” in line 8 is unclear; whereas the term has grammatical errors and “a second connection flow path” is already asserted and thus it cannot be readily ascertained if the same or multiple second connection flow paths is intended. Regarding Claim 19; “the body part” is unclear; whereas the term is not previously asserted and thus it cannot be readily ascertained if the intended to denote the main body, a portion of the main body or a different part. Note: deemed as an additional portion extending from the main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by (Fukuchi 2023/0292474).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1; Fukuchi discloses a power conversion apparatus (as depicted by Fig. 5) comprising: a converter configured to transform direct current power input from a direct current power source (a converter--as constituted by 20 and/or 30—as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5, and/or 6; whereas para. 0045 further discloses the converter is a boost converter on the input side of the inverter to boost DC power input from the DC power supply or where para. 0047 discloses 30 is a DC/DC converter to step up/step down voltage from the DC power supply); an inverter configured to convert the direct current power transformed by the converter into alternate current power and to supply the converted alternate current power to a load (as constituted by switching element module-11 which includes inverter unit-10 supplying power to a load—as set forth by para. 0044, and whereas para. 0045 further discloses the converter is a boost converter on the input side of the inverter); and a cooler arranged between the inverter and the converter (as constituted by 60 which includes 62-63 and/or 12 assembled between the inverter-11 and the converter-203—as depicted by Fig. 5), wherein the cooler includes, inside thereof, a cooling flow path having an inverter-side flow path and a converter-side flow path connected to the inverter-side flow path (as depicted by Fig. 4-5—whereas respective flow path portions respectively disposed proximate to each of the converter and inverter which are fluidly connected and in part separated by a portion between 61a which cools the converter—para. 0067 and 61b which cools the inverter—para. 0066); a plurality of protrusions is formed in a part of the inverter-side flow path (as constituted via pillars 12b which protrude into the cooling flow path 61—as set forth by para. 0074; and/or as constituted by raised side portion of 62, as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5); and the converter-side flow path is connected to the inverter-side flow path (as already set forth) so that cooling liquid passes through the entire inverter-side flow path and then passes through the converter-side flow path in the cooling flow path (as depicted by Fig. 4, wherein the converter are relatively low in heat resistance on an upstream side and the highest heat resistance based priority component is cooled first—as set forth by para. 0070).
Regarding Claim 2; Fukuchi discloses the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cooling flow path further includes a first connection flow path arranged in one end part in a longitudinal direction in which the cooler extends, to connect the converter-side flow path to the inverter-side flow path in the cooler (via 61c—as depicted by Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10, 12-13, 15, and 19-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Fukuchi 2023/0292474).
Regarding Claim 3; Fukuchi discloses the power conversion apparatus according to claim 2, except explicitly wherein the cooler has a flow inlet through which the cooling liquid flows into the cooler, and a flow outlet through which the cooling liquid flows out of the cooler; and the cooling flow path is arranged such that the flow inlet, the inverter-side flow path, the first connection flow path, the converter-side flow path, and the flow outlet are connected in this order, and turns in the first connection flow path, which is arranged in the one end part in the longitudinal direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify, as depicted by Fig. 3 inlet from the pump to 60 at the upstream side in which disposes the high cooling priority components defined by the inverter and the inverter side flow path at 61b, as set forth by para. 0070 and subsequently through the first connection flow path i.e. 612 or 61c—para. 0063, via the converter-side flow path—61a downstream past low priority converter components, and the flow outlet via 619 connected in this order since it was known in the art that enhanced cooling capacity will be provided for high heat resistance priority components defined by the inverter so as to cool the inverter before cooling heating the cooling liquid with heat generated by the lower heat resistance priority components defined by the converter.
Regarding Claim 4; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the cooling flow path is formed so that the inverter-side flow path and the converter-side flow path overlap each other as viewed in a facing direction in which the inverter and the cooler face each other (as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5).
Regarding Claim 5; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the inverter-side flow path is formed linearly in the longitudinal direction as viewed in a facing direction in which the inverter and the cooler face each other; and the converter-side flow path is formed so that a flow of the cooling liquid meanders as viewed in the facing direction (as depicted by Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the cooling flow path is formed so that the cooling liquid branches into a plurality of flow paths in the converter-side flow path (as least in-part branching via spaces defined by fins 63b—as depicted by Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 3, except explicitly wherein the flow inlet and the flow outlet are arranged in another end part of the cooler in the longitudinal direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inlet and outlet at another end since it was known in the art that that the aforementioned configuration will be employed in accordance with a desired system layout of the pump and heat dissipation unit also being located at the another end which may allow for easy install or repair means.
Regarding Claim 8; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the cooler includes a main body where the inverter-side flow path and the converter-side flow path are formed, and a flat-plate-shaped inverter lid to which the inverter is attached, and which forms the inverter-side flow path formed linearly as viewed in the facing direction together with the main body (as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5—whereas the inverter 11 is attached to 60 via a flat plate 12).
Regarding Claim 9; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of protrusions is arranged in the inverter-side flow path to protrude toward an interior of the inverter-side flow path (as already set forth).
Regarding Claim 10; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the inverter includes a first switching element module (11a including 10a) and a second switching element module (11b including 10b) configured to convert the direct current power into the alternate current power (as already set forth); and the inverter-side flow path includes a first inverter flow path formed corresponding to the first switching element module and a second inverter flow path formed corresponding to the second switching element module (as constituted by Fig. 5—whereas a space defines a first path by 12b at a first plate 12a of 11a; and a second space defined by 12b at a second plate 12a of 11b), and the first inverter flow path and the second inverter flow path arranged linearly in the longitudinal direction are connected to each other (whereas each path of 11a and 11b are fluidly connected along 60b of the cooling plate—as depicted by Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the second inverter flow path is arranged downstream of the first inverter flow path; and the plurality of protrusions is arranged in the second inverter flow path (as depicted by Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of protrusions is arranged in the second inverter flow path to protrude toward an interior of the second inverter flow path and to adjust a flow of the cooling liquid (as depicted by Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the cooler further includes a converter lid forming the converter-side flow path, which meanders as viewed in the facing direction, together with the main body (as depicted by Fig. 6—whereas visible meandering across 63b and the main body of 60 at 63 is depicted from the facing direction); the converter is attached to the converter lid; and the converter lid includes a plurality of walls protruding toward an interior of the converter-side flow path to meander the flows of the cooling liquid (as constituted by 22b and/or 21b comprising walls 22c and 21c extending toward the interior of the cooling path—as depicted by Fig.’s 5-6).
Regarding Claim 19; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the cooler includes a main body where the inverter-side flow path and the converter-side flow path are formed, and a flat-plate-shaped inverter lid to which the inverter is attached, and which forms the inverter-side flow path together with the main body: and the plurality of protrusions is arranged in the body part to protrude toward an interior of the inverter-side flow path (as depicted by Fig. 5—whereas the inverter includes a lid 12 is attached to a main body of 60 at 62, whereas 62 comprises raised side portions defining protrusions3 extending into a portion of the cooling path).
Regarding Claim 20; Fukuchi discloses the already modified power conversion apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the inverter lid includes a fin (via 12b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14, 16, and 21, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 11; the power conversion apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the cooling flow path further includes a second connection flow path curved toward a side where the converter is arranged, and connecting the first inverter flow path and the second inverter flow path to each other.
Regarding Claim 14; the power conversion apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the second inverter flow path is formed downstream of the first inverter flow path; and the second inverter flow path has a flow depth shallower than a flow depth of the first inverter flow path.
Regarding Claim 16; the power conversion apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the converter includes a direct current/direct current converter configured to transform a voltage of the direct current power into a different, and a boost converter configured to boost the direct current power input from the direct current power source and to supply the boosted direct current power to the inverter; and the converter-side flow path includes a first converter flow path formed corresponding to the boost converter, and a second converter flow path formed corresponding to the direct current/direct current converter.
Regarding Claim 21; the power conversion apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the inverter includes a first switching element module and a second switching element module configured to convert the direct current power into the alternate current power; the inverter-side flow path includes a first inverter flow path formed corresponding to the first switching element module and a second inverter flow path formed corresponding to the second switching element module; the cooler includes a main body where the inverter-side flow path and the converter-side flow path are formed, and flat-plate-shaped first and second inverter lids to which the first and second switching element modules are attached and which form the first and second inverter flow paths, respectively; and the plurality of protrusions is arranged in at least one of the first and the second inverter flow paths.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20180142968-A1
DEGUCHI; Masataka
Fig.’s 2, 6, and 9A-11B
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835