DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received January 22nd, 2024. Claims 1-20 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Priority
Application 18/418,915 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2022/101373 06/27/2022 and claims benefit of Chinese Application 202111266392.2 10/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 15th, 2025, January 17th, 2025, and December 27th, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. PCT/CN2020/114421 (as translated by US 20220200722) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20200204499).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Yi et al. discloses a method, implemented by a first communication apparatus serving as a receiving end (see Abstract and Figure 8 [RX, A transmitter sends a first FlexE overhead frame to a receiver, to request active/standby calendar switching. When the receiver is in a restart state, the receiver does not respond to the received first FlexE overhead frame]), the method comprising: sending request information to a second communication apparatus serving as a transmitting end (see Abstract and Figure 8, S303 and paragraphs 0114-0118 [network device 2 sends a FlexE overhead frame 2 to the network device 1; That the network device 1 determines that the FlexE overhead frame 2 is not the response to the request information 1 means that the network device 1 can correctly identify that a received FlexE overhead frame is not a trustworthy response made by the network device 2 to the slot negotiation request 1 sent by the network device ]); and receiving the negotiation request sent by the second communication apparatus (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 0121-0122 [the network device 1 sends a slot negotiation request to the network device 2 again; S307: The network device 2 receives the FlexE overhead frame 3]).
Yi et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the request information requests the second communication apparatus to initiate a negotiation request for switching a flexible Ethernet (FlexE) slot.
However, Zhang et al. suggests wherein the request information requests the second communication apparatus to initiate a negotiation request for switching a flexible Ethernet (FlexE) slot (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 0067,0176-0177 [communications device; the APS protocol request and the indication information may be carried in one FlexE overhead frame; an APS protocol request initiated by a communications device that detects a fault may be transmitted in an entire network]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault.
Regarding claims 2, 12, the references as combined disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 11.
However, the references as combined above further make obvious wherein the request information requests the second communication apparatus to initiate a negotiation request for switching a FlexE Slot table.
Yi et al. discloses in the existing FlexE overhead frame slot negotiation mechanism, when a transmit end sends a slot allocation table switching request (which may alternatively be referred to as a slot negotiation request) to a receive end and the receive end resets for some reasons (for example, a device is powered off, a unicast fault of a related service occurs, or a cold reset on a board is triggered because a fault is rectified), the receive end mistakenly responds, and consequently a service from the transmit end to the receive end is interrupted (paragraph 0004).
Zhang et al. discloses the APS protocol request and the indication information may be carried in one FlexE overhead frame wherein an APS protocol request initiated by a communications device that detects a fault may be transmitted in an entire network (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 0067,0176-0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault.
Regarding claims 4, 14, the references as combined above discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, 11.
However, the references as combined further make obvious wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus serving as the transmitting end comprises: sending the request information to the second communication apparatus after a fault of a link between the second communication apparatus and the first communication apparatus is recovered.
Yi et al. discloses in the existing FlexE overhead frame slot negotiation mechanism, when a transmit end sends a slot allocation table switching request (which may alternatively be referred to as a slot negotiation request) to a receive end and the receive end resets for some reasons (for example, a device is powered off, a unicast fault of a related service occurs, or a cold reset on a board is triggered because a fault is rectified), the receive end mistakenly responds, and consequently a service from the transmit end to the receive end is interrupted (paragraph 0004).
Zhang et al. discloses the APS protocol request and the indication information may be carried in one FlexE overhead frame wherein an APS protocol request initiated by a communications device that detects a fault may be transmitted in an entire network (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 0067,0176-0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault.
Regarding claims 5, 15, the references as combined above make obvious all the recited subject matter in claims 4, 14.
However, Zhang et al. further discloses wherein that the fault of the link is recovered comprises at least one of the following (paragraph 0121 [if the communications device 2303 detects that the fault on the link corresponding to the FlexE group 2401 is rectified]): optical signal jitter of the link disappears; a bit error rate of the link is less than or equal to a bit error rate threshold (); a packet loss rate of the link is less than or equal to a packet loss rate threshold (paragraph 0117 [the communications device may detect an alarm status (including a loss of signal (LOS), a local fault (LF), a high bit error rate (High BER) (where the high bit error rate indicates that most of transmitted bits are error bits), loss locking, and the like) of a FlexE group layer and/or a PHY port; suggesting less threshold when rectified]); or a link layer fault of the link disappears.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a fault has been rectified when a bit error rate associated with a link or node is below a threshold. The motivation for this is to avoid traffic interruption.
Regarding claims 6, 16, the references as combined above discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 11.
Yi et al. further discloses wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus serving as the transmitting end comprises: sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when a slot configuration used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with a slot configuration used by the first communication apparatus (paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0102 [ in FIG. 7, communication connection is established between the TX and the RX at both ends of the FlexE group. For some reasons (for example, a device is powered off, a related service board is removed and inserted, or a cold reset on a board is triggered by fault self-healing), the RX device is restarted. On the RX side, all negotiation data about the FlexE group is cleared. The active slot table of the RX is the calendar A by default. In this case, values of a CA field, a CR field, and a CCC field in an overhead frame sent by the RX are all 0. On the TX side, the current active calendar of the TX is the calendar B. When a PCS layer of PHYs in the FlexE group is restored to UP during the restart of the RX direction and preparations of the TX are ready, a slot negotiation request is triggered for performing slot negotiation with the RX]).
Regarding claims 7, 17, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 6, 16.
However, the references as combined make obvious wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when the slot configuration used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with the slot configuration used by the first communication apparatus comprises: sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when a slot table used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with a slot table used by the first communication apparatus.
Yi et al. discloses slot information of the physical MAC on the RX side is empty or inconsistent with the slot configuration on the TX side, which leads to a traffic interruption (paragraph 0101).
Zhang et al. discloses the APS protocol request and the indication information may be carried in one FlexE overhead frame wherein an APS protocol request initiated by a communications device that detects a fault may be transmitted in an entire network (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 0067,0176-0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault wherein the fault is a calendar inconsistency.
Regarding claims 9, 19, the references as combined above discloses the recited subject matter in claims 2, 11.
However, Zhang et al. further discloses wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus comprises: sending a FlexE overhead to the second communication apparatus, wherein the FlexE overhead comprises the request information (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 0067,0176-0177 [communications device; the APS protocol request and the indication information may be carried in one FlexE overhead frame; an APS protocol request initiated by a communications device that detects a fault may be transmitted in an entire network]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault.
Regarding claims 10, 20, the references as combined above discloses the recited subject matter in claims 9, 19.
However, Zhang et al. further discloses wherein the FlexE overhead comprises a reserved field, and the reserved field carries the request information (paragraph 0107 [APS protocol request in the reserved bits of overhead]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, the overhead frame of Yi could be used to carry a request when a fault is detected in order to perform a slot negotiation to overcome the fault.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. PCT/CN2020/114421 (as translated by US 2022/0200722) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0204499) as applied to claims 1, 6, 11 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (WO 2021/218231).
Regarding claims 3, 13, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 11, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the request information requests the second communication apparatus to initiate a slot negotiation request of a fine granularity service.
However, Chen et al. discloses wherein the request information requests the second communication apparatus to initiate a slot negotiation request of a fine granularity service (pages 8, 9 [Redivide; Further, when the second communication device determines that it is not allowed to implement time slot granularity for time slot division, the time slot negotiation request response message fed back to the first communication device may also carry: time slot granularity support information, The time slot granularity support information may exist in the form of a time slot granularity support list. When the first communication device parses and obtains the time slot granularity support information of the second communication device, it can also prompt the user of the time slot granularity support information, so that the user can perform implementation based on the time slot granularity support information of the second communication device Reconfiguration operation of time slot granularity]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a request with supported time slot granularities can be sent to the transmitting device in order to setup a granularity that will work for both devices.
Regarding claims 8, 18, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 6, 11, but do not explicitly disclose wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when the slot configuration used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with the slot configuration used by the first communication apparatus comprises: sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when a slot configuration of a fine granularity service used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with a slot configuration of a fine granularity service used by the first communication apparatus.
However, Chen et al. discloses wherein sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when the slot configuration used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with the slot configuration used by the first communication apparatus comprises: sending the request information to the second communication apparatus when a slot configuration of a fine granularity service used by the second communication apparatus is inconsistent with a slot configuration of a fine granularity service used by the first communication apparatus (page 9 [if it is determined that the second communication device has not completed the time slot division and switching operation matching the implementation time slot granularity for the target protocol interface bundling group, then according to the time slot granularity support information fed back by the second communication device , Execute the reconfiguration prompt operation of the time slot granularity; , the time slot negotiation request response message fed back to the first communication device may also carry: time slot granularity support information, The time slot granularity support information may exist in the form of a time slot granularity support list]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a request with supported time slot granularities can be sent to the transmitting device in order to setup a granularity that will work for both devices.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE whose telephone number is (571)270-3937. The examiner can normally be reached 4 pm - 11:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465