DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–4 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0250258 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 January 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 22 January 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COPPER SELENIDE POSITIVE ELECTRODE ACTIVE MATERIAL AND FLUORIDE ION BATTERY INCLUDING THE SAME.
Claim Interpretation
Statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention, which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art, do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP §§ 2111.02, 2112.02 and 2114–2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adachi et al. (US 2019/0296338 A1, hereinafter Adachi).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi discloses a positive electrode active material (1, [0023]) for a fluoride ion battery, comprising:
copper selenide (4p, [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Adachi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode active material:
wherein the copper selenide is Cu2Se (4p, [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Adachi discloses a fluoride ion battery (see fluoride ions, [0042]) comprising a positive electrode active material layer, an electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a positive electrode active material (see battery, [0040]), wherein the positive electrode active material (1, [0023]) comprises:
copper selenide (4p, [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Adachi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a fluoride ion battery:
wherein the electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte (see solid, [0042]).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 106920989 A, hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a positive electrode active material for a fluoride ion battery, comprising:
copper selenide (see Cu2Se; [0039], [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode active material:
wherein the copper selenide is Cu2Se (see Cu2Se; [0039], [0043]).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (KR 2020-0143860 A, hereinafter Ahn).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a positive electrode active material (see cathode, [0049]) for a fluoride ion battery (see fluoride, [0049]), comprising
copper selenide (FIG. 27, [0136]).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn discloses a fluoride ion battery (see fluoride, [0049]) comprising a positive electrode active material layer, an electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a positive electrode active material (see battery, [0095]), wherein the positive electrode active material (see cathode, [0049]) comprises:
copper selenide (FIG. 27, [0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (KR 2020-0143860 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Zhao (CN 106920989 A).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a fluoride ion battery:
wherein the electrolyte layer comprises a solid electrolyte.
Zhao discloses a battery having an electrolyte layer including a solid electrolyte ([0017], [0019]). While Ahn does disclose said electrolyte layer, it does not explicitly disclose said solid electrolyte. As the reference is not limited to any specific examples of electrolyte layers, electrolyte layers comprising solid electrolyte were well known in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by Zhao. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use any electrolyte, including solid electrolyte in the electrolyte layer of Ahn. Said combination would amount to use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725