Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,9-13,16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoda et al (PG Pub 2017/0140679 A1) and Okada et al (PG Pub 2010/0277919 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tomoda teaches a display device comprising: a support (240, figs. 3, 4, 10) including conductors (118, which is connected to drive circuit 111, figs. 10 and 11, paragraph [0073]); a substrate (212/223) disposed on the support and electrically connected to the support (wire 219 connects to 118 to transmits image signals, paragraphs [0073][0076]); and a light emitter (LEDs in pixels 211, fig. 3, paragraph [0060]) disposed on the substrate and configured to emit light, wherein the substrate includes a recess (224, fig. 8) depressed from a side surface of the substrate, wherein a connection electrode (225 to 227, fig. 8) is formed in the recess, wherein an upper pad (219, fig. 11) is formed on an upper region of the substrate adjacent to the recess (219 near the recess where connection electrode 225 is formed, fig. 11; connection electrode 225 is formed in recess 224, fig. 8) and electrically connects the connection electrode to the light emitter (drive circuit 111 transmit image signals from 118 and 216 through 219 and 225 from one panel to the next, paragraphs [0076][0077]); the connection electrode is disposed on the substrate (fig. 11), wherein a region of the protection insulative material is exposed to the outside (exposed to the viewer, fig. 11); and wherein the light emitter is electrically connected to the conductors through the connection electrode (to receive image signals, paragraphs [0073][0076][0077]).
Tomoda does not teach explicitly use the terms “an upper pad”.
Comparing “upper pad” 123a in fig. 3 of Applicant’s drawing and element 219 in fig. 11 of Tomoda, they appear analogous. Thus, 219 in Tomoda reads on the claimed “an upper pad.” “The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required.” In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Tomoda does not teach the upper pad intersecting a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports the light emitter.
Tomoda teaches image signals are transmitted through side electrodes (in recessed region 224, paragraph [0078]), implying that electrodes 225-227 in recessed region 224 are electrically connected to LEDs/pixels 210 (fig. 3) through wiring 219 (fig. 11).
In the same field of endeavor, Okada teaches an upper pad (21Rc and 21Rb, fig. 7) intersecting a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports a light emitter (3R, paragraph [0045]), for the benefit of electrically connecting the pad to the light emitter (fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the upper pad intersect a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports the light emitter for the benefit of electrically connecting the pad to the light emitter for the light emitter to receive the image signal to display image.
Tomoda does not teach that the substrate includes a protection insulative material.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the wherein the substrate to include a protection insulative material (by making the glass insulative, paragraph [0061] of Tomoda), such as on the upper surface where wires 219 are disposed (fig. 11a) and on the side surfaces of the display panels where connectors 225 are disposed, for the known benefit of preventing (or protecting against) shorting wires 219 and connectors 225. As a result, the at least one of the connection electrodes is disposed on the protection insulative material, wherein a region of the protection insulative material (top surface) is exposed to the outside.
Regarding claim 2, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrode includes a side electrode (227 of 225 in recess 224, figs. 8 and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the side electrode is disposed on the side surface of the substrate (figs. 8 and 11).
Regarding claim 4, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the side electrode is connected to the upper pad (drive circuit 111 transmit image signals from 118 and 216 through 219 and 225 from one panel to the next, paragraphs [0076][0077]).
Regarding claim 5, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a protrusion on an end surface thereof (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the recess is filled with the connection electrode (figs. 7 and 11).
Regarding claim 9, Tomoda (see claims 1-3) teaches a display device comprising: a support including conductors; a substrate electrically connected to the support; and a light emitter disposed on the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a recess depressed from at least one side surface of the substrate, wherein a connection electrode is formed in the recess, wherein the connection electrode includes a side electrode (conductive coating 227 of 225 formed in recess 224, fig. 8) disposed on a side surface of the substrate and that includes a region (227) that is disposed in the recess, is wherein the substrate includes a protection insulative material, wherein the connection electrode is disposed on the protection insulative material, wherein a region of the protection insulative material is exposed to the outside, and wherein the light emitter is electrically connected to one of the conductors through the connection electrode.
Regarding claim 10, Tomoda teaches (see claim 1) the display device of claim 9, wherein the substrate includes an upper pad electrically connected to the connection electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Tomoda teaches (see claim 4) the display device of claim 10, wherein the side electrode is connected to the upper pad.
Regarding claim 12, Tomoda teaches (see claim 5) the display device of claim 9, wherein the substrate includes a protrusion on an end surface.
Regarding claim 13, Tomoda teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the recess is filled with the connection electrode (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 16, Tomoda (see claims 1-3) teaches a display module comprising: a substrate including a recess depressed from at least one side surface of the substrate; a connection electrode formed in the recess; a light emitter disposed on the substrate and including a plurality of semiconductor io layers, wherein the substrate comprises a conductive region and a non-conductive region including a protection insulative material, wherein an upper pad is formed on an upper region of the substrate adjacent to the recess and electrically connects the connection electrode to the light emitter, wherein the connection electrode includes a side electrode disposed on a surface of the substrate and that includes a region that is disposed in the recess, and wherein the connection electrode is disposed on the non-conductive region.
Tomoda does not teach the upper pad intersecting a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports the light emitter.
Tomoda teaches image signals are transmitted through side electrodes (in recessed region 224, paragraph [0078]), implying that electrodes 225-227 in recessed region 224 are electrically connected to LEDs/pixels 210 (fig. 3) through wiring 219 (fig. 11).
In the same field of endeavor, Okada teaches an upper pad (21Rc and 21Rb, fig. 7) intersecting a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports a light emitter (3R, paragraph [0045]), for the benefit of electrically connecting the pad to the light emitter (fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the upper pad intersect a same location on the upper region of the substrate that supports the light emitter for the benefit of electrically connecting the pad to the light emitter for the light emitter to receive the image signal to display image.
Regarding claim 17, Tomoda (see claim 1) teaches the display module of claim 16, wherein the side electrode is connected to the upper pad.
Regarding claim 18, Tomoda teaches (See claim 5) the display module of claim 16, wherein the substrate includes a protrusion on an end surface.
Regarding claim 19, Tomoda teaches (see claim 6) the display module of claim 16, wherein the recess is filled with the connection electrode.
Regarding claim 20, Tomoda teaches (see claim 8) the display module of claim 16, further comprising: a connection wire (219, fig. 11) disposed on an upper surface of the substrate and connected to the connection electrode.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoda et al (PG Pub 2017/0140679 A1) and Okada et al (PG Pub 2010/0277919 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Su et al (PG Pub 2020/0111771 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Tomoda remains as applied in claim 1.
Tomoda further teaches the connection electrode electrically contacts the conductor (drive circuit 111 transmit image signals from 118 and 216 through 219 and 225 from one panel to the next, paragraphs [0076][0077]).
Tomoda does not teach the conductors of the support are disposed on a surface of the support facing the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Su teaches the conductors (246a, 242, fig. 5) of the support (210) are disposed on a surface of the support facing the substrate (222), for the benefit of interconnecting an element on the support (driver 230) and elements on the substrate (pads/wiring 246c on top surface of substrate 222).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose the conductors of the support on a surface of the support facing the substrate, for the benefit of interconnecting an element on the support (drive circuit 111 in Tomoda) and elements on the substrate (pads/wiring 219 in fig. 11 of Tomoda), through via interconnect (connection electrode 225, fig. 11 of Tomoda).
Regarding claim 8, Tomoda remains as applied in claim 1.
Tomoda further teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a connection wire (219, fig. 11, paragraphs [0073][0076]) disposed on an upper surface of the substrate and connected to the connection electrode.
Tomoda does not teach a back connection wire disposed on a lower surface of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Su teaches a back connection wire (246a, fig. 5) disposed on a lower surface of the substrate (222) and connected to the through electrodes (246b), wherein the back connection wire is connected to the support via a ball grid array (BGA) or a conductive material (244), for the benefit of interconnecting an element on the support (driver 230) and elements on the substrate (pads/wiring 246c on top surface of substrate 222).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose a back connection wire on a lower surface of the substrate and connected to the at least one of the connection electrodes, wherein the back connection wire is connected to the support via a ball grid array (BGA) or a conductive material, for the benefit of interconnecting an element on the support (drive circuit 111 in Tomoda) and elements on the substrate (pads/wiring 219 in fig. 11 of Tomoda) to send image signals from driver 111 to light emitting elements in the pixels (paragraphs [0073][0076][0077] of Tomoda).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoda et al (PG Pub 2017/0140679 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Su et al (PG Pub 2020/0111771 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Tomoda in view of Su teaches (see claim 7) the display device of claim 9, wherein the conductors of the support are disposed on a surface of the support facing the substrate, and the connection electrode electrically contacts at least one of the conductors.
Regarding claim 15, Tomoda in view of Su teaches (see claim 8) the display device of claim 9, further comprising: a connection wire disposed on an upper surface of the substrate and connected to the connection electrode; and a back connection wire disposed on a lower surface of the substrate and connected to the connection electrode, wherein the back connection wire is connected to the support via a ball grid array (BGA) or a conductive bonding material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the currently cited Okada teaches the added features. See rejection above.
Applicant's arguments filed October 31, 2025 regarding “the substrate includes a protective insulative material” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (pages 3 and 4)
However, the asserted benefit of preventing shorting wires 219 and connectors 225 in Tomoda does not necessarily lead to all of the features of "the substrate includes a protection insulative material, wherein the connection electrode is disposed on the protection insulative material, wherein a region of the protection insulative material is exposed to the outside," as required by Claim 9.
In response, Tomoda teaches the connection electrode is disposed on the substrate (fig. 11), wherein a region of the protection insulative material is exposed to the outside (exposed to the viewer, fig. 11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899