DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the material structure” which lacks antecedent basis since claim 1 only recites “a structure”.
Claim 10 recites “laser-splittable structure,” “material structure,” and “input structure.” Applicants should choose to use either the term material structure or laser-splittable structure for consistency. Additionally, it is unclear if “input structure” is a different portion of the material structure or if it is the same as the material structure. For examination, “input structure” is interpreted as an arbitrary chosen portion of the material structure.
Claim 10 repeats “a second laser ablation threshold” twice. It is unclear if the second recitation is referring to the first recitation.
Claim 20-21 recites “the material structure” which lacks antecedent basis since claim 19 recites “a structure”.
Pending claims rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-12, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (US 2020/0224332 A1).
Claim 1. Hu discloses a method of laser-splitting a structure (method of separating a film from an object, title), the method comprising: receiving the structure (crystalline object 1, Fig. 1), where the structure comprises:
a first layer (main body 2, Fig. 2), where the first layer is characterized by a first laser ablation threshold (all material inherently have an ablation threshold);
a second layer (ion damage layer 3, Fig. 2), where the second layer is characterized by a second laser ablation threshold that is less than the first laser ablation threshold (laser fluence is between the fluence threshold of ion damaged layer and the undamaged layer’s fluence threshold, claim 3, wherein the laser fluence is higher than the fluence threshold of the ion damaged layer, par. 64); and
a third layer (substrate film 4, Fig. 2), where the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer (Fig. 2); and
splitting the material structure by, at least in part, applying a laser to the second layer (separation is caused in part by a short pulse laser beam, par. 40, Fig. 5).
Claim 10. Hu discloses a method of forming a laser-splittable structure (method of separating a film from an object, title), the material structure comprising
a first layer characterized by a first laser ablation threshold (main body 2, fluence threshold of undamaged material, Fig. 2, claim 3),
a second layer characterized by a second laser ablation threshold (ion damage layer 3 with a fluence threshold, Fig. 2, claim 3), and
a third layer characterized by a third laser ablation threshold (substrate film 4, wherein all material inherently have an ablation threshold), the method comprising:
receiving an input structure (main body 1, Fig. 2), where the input structure comprises at least a portion of the first layer (main body 1, Fig. 2); and
forming the second layer, where the second layer is characterized by a second laser ablation threshold that is less than the first laser ablation threshold (laser fluence is between the fluence threshold of ion damaged layer and the undamaged layer’s fluence threshold, claim 3, wherein the laser fluence is higher than the fluence threshold of the ion damaged layer, par. 64), and the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer (layer 3 is between layer 2 and 4, Fig. 2).
Claim 19. Hu discloses a structure for laser splitting (crystalline object 1, Fig. 1), the structure comprising:
a first layer (main body 2, Fig. 2), where the first layer is characterized by a first laser ablation threshold (fluence threshold of undamaged material, Fig. 2, claim 3);
a second layer (ion damage layer 3 with a fluence threshold, Fig. 2, claim 3), where the second layer is characterized by a second laser ablation threshold that is less than the first laser ablation threshold (laser fluence is between the fluence threshold of ion damaged layer and the undamaged layer’s fluence threshold, claim 3, wherein the laser fluence is higher than the fluence threshold of the ion damaged layer, par. 64); and
a third layer (substrate film 4), where the third layer is characterized by a third laser ablation threshold that is greater than the second laser ablation threshold (laser fluence is between the fluence threshold of ion damaged layer and the undamaged layer’s fluence threshold, claim 3, wherein the laser fluence is higher than the fluence threshold of the ion damaged layer, par. 64; where it is understood by the examiner that the undamaged material can include layer 2 and 4) and the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer (layer 3 is between layer 2 and 4, Fig. 2).
Claims 2 and 11. Hu discloses the method of claim 1, where the third layer is characterized by a third laser ablation threshold that is greater than the second laser ablation threshold (laser fluence is between the fluence threshold of ion damaged layer and the undamaged layer’s fluence threshold, claim 3, wherein the laser fluence is higher than the fluence threshold of the ion damaged layer, par. 64; where it is understood by the examiner that the undamaged material can include layer 2 and 4).
Claim 5. Hu discloses the method of claim 1, comprising forming the second layer, where said forming the second layer comprises performing ion implantation (ion damaged layer 3, par. 16).
Claim 7. Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said splitting the material structure comprises, after applying the laser to the second layer, performing split activation (separation is caused in part by a short pulse laser beam, par. 40, Fig. 5).
Claim 8. Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said applying the laser to the second layer comprises: focusing the laser on the second layer (laser beam is focused on layer 3, Fig. 5); and
transmitting the laser to the second layer through the first layer and/or the third layer (beam passes through layer 2, Fig. 5).
Claims 9 and 16. Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the material structure comprises a semiconductor wafer (claim 7).
Claim 12. Hu discloses the method of claim 10, wherein said forming the second layer comprises utilizing ion implantation to increase an optical absorption characteristic of the second layer (ion damage layer 3, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 13-15, 17-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nie (CN 114334607 A)
Claims 3 and 20. Hu does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the first layer is characterized by a first doping level; and
the second layer is characterized by a second doping level that is greater than the first doping level.
Nie discloses a multi-layer semiconductor material wherein a sacrificial layer 12 is sandwich between a base 11 and functional layer 13 (Fig. 1) wherein a laser is used to corrode the sacrificial layer (par. 54). Nie further discloses that the base layer has a different doping concentration than the sacrificial layer (par. 29), wherein the substrate has a zero doping level and that the sacrificial layer has a doping concentration of In that is greater than 20% (par. 30-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu to incorporate the teachings of Nie and dope the base and sacrificial layers at different levels. Doing so would have the benefit of creating a band gap greater than 3.4 eV in the base and functional layer, while the sacrificial layer 12 has a bandgap less than 2.5 eV to accelerate the corrosion of the sacrificial layer (par. 57, Nie).
Claims 4 and 21. The method of claim 1, wherein: the first layer is characterized by a first bandgap; and the second layer is characterized by a second bandgap that is narrower than the first bandgap.
Nie discloses a multi-layer semiconductor material wherein a sacrificial layer 12 is sandwich between a base 11 and functional layer 13 (Fig. 1) wherein the base layer 11 and functional layer 13 have a band gap greater than 3.4 eV while the sacrificial layer 12 is less than 2.5 eV (par.56) because it allows the light source to accelerate the corrosion of the sacrificial layer 12 instead of the base and functional layer (par. 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu to incorporate the teachings of Nie and have different bandgaps for the layers. Doing so would have the benefit of creating a band gap greater than 3.4 eV in the base and functional layer, while the sacrificial layer 12 has a bandgap less than 2.5 eV to accelerate the corrosion of the sacrificial layer (par. 57, Nie).
Claims 6 and 13. Hu does not disclose the method of claim 1, comprising forming the second layer, where said forming the second layer comprises growing the second layer.
Nie discloses a multi-layer semiconductor material wherein a sacrificial layer 12 is sandwich between a base 11 and functional layer 13 (Fig. 1) wherein the sacrificial layer is grown on the base GaN layer (par. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu to incorporate the teachings of Nie and grow the second layer. Nie demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the sacrificial layer can be grown on the base substrate.
Claim 14. Hu in view of Nie discloses the method of claim 13, wherein said growing the second layer on the first layer comprises growing the second layer to have a higher level of doping than the first layer (sacrificial layer is grown on the GaN layer, par. 81, Nie).
Claim 15. Hu in view of Nie discloses the method of claim 13, wherein said growing the second layer on the first layer comprises growing the second layer to have a narrower bandgap than the first layer (sacrificial layer has a smaller bandgap than the base layer, par. 56, Nie).
Claim 17. Hu does not disclose the method of claim 10, wherein: the first layer comprises bulk semiconductor material (claim 7); and the third layer comprises
Nie discloses a multi-layer semiconductor material wherein a sacrificial layer 12 is sandwich between a base 11 and functional layer 13 (Fig. 1) wherein the functional layer 13 is for the semiconductor chips (par. 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu to incorporate the teachings of Nie and have the functional layer be the semiconductor chip. Nie demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the functional layer can comprise the semiconductor circuitry.
Claim 18. Hu does not disclose the method of claim 10, comprising forming the third layer on the second layer by growing at least a portion of the third layer on the second layer.
Nie discloses a multi-layer semiconductor material wherein a sacrificial layer 12 is sandwich between a base 11 and functional layer 13 (Fig. 1) wherein the functional layer is grown on the sacrificial self-supporting layer (par. 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hu to incorporate the teachings of Nie and grow the third layer. Nie demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the functional layer can be grown on the sacrificial layer.
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761