NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This non-final Office action addresses U.S. Application Serial No. 18/418,986, entitled COIL DEVICE.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
I. PRIORITY
Examiner acknowledges the claim of foreign priority to Japanese Patent Application No. JP2023-044378, filed March 20, 2023 and JP2023-008551, filed January 24, 2023.
II. CLAIM INTERPRETATION
After careful review of the original specification, the prosecution history, and unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, the Examiner is unable to locate any lexicographic definitions (either express or implied) with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision with regard to pending and examined claims. Because the Examiner is unable to locate any lexicographic definitions with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision, the Examiner concludes that Applicant is not his own lexicographer for the pending and examined claims. See MPEP §2111.01(IV).
The Examiner further finds that because the pending and examined claims herein recite neither “step for” nor “means for” nor any substitute therefore, the examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I). Because all examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I), the Examiner concludes that all examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f). See also Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1215-16 (B.P.A.I. 2008)(precedential)(where the Board did not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because “means for” was not recited and because applicant still possessed an opportunity to amend the claims).
Because of the Examiner’s findings above that Applicant is not his own lexicographer and the pending and examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) the pending and examined claims will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification since patentee has an opportunity to amend claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP §2111.01(I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(II).
Special Interpretations
Claims 4-7 recite that the “core comprises a first wound portion,…a second wound portion…” However, Examiner first does not find support in the specification for a core to be “wound.” Second, based on the material making up the core as stated in the specification, Examiner find one having ordinary skill in the art would know that cores are not wound. It appears to recite in the claims and state in the specification that the core is wound is a translation error. Nevertheless, based on the context of the specification, Examiner finds to state the core has a wound portion merely refers to that part of the core on which the coils are wound. Examiner will interpret these phrases in this manner. Such an interpretation would be consistent with the specification and the knowledge of ordinary skill in the art.
III. CLAIM OBJECTIONS
Claim 10 is objected to because “the inner end surface” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
IV. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. §102
IV.A. Anticipation Rejections Applying Misaki
Claims 1-6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0176175 to Takashi Misaki et al., published on June 4, 2020 (hereinafter “Misaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Misaki discloses:
1. A coil device comprising:
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2, reprinted below:
Misaki FIG. 1
Misaki FIG. 2
a first wire connected to a first terminal and a second wire connected to a second terminal;
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, first wires 2w connected to first and second terminals 20.
a terminal block anchoring the first terminal and the second terminal;
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, terminal block 4 anchoring terminals 20.
a bobbin including a first cylindrical portion wound around with the first wire and extending along a first axis, a second cylindrical portion wound around with the second wire and extending along the first axis, and
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, bobbin 5 comprising cylindrical portions 51, each of which covers the central core portions 31.
a flange portion connecting the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion; and
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, bobbin 5 comprising structure/flange portions 52 which connect the cylindrical portions 51.
a core accommodated in the bobbin, wherein
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, core comprising items 31 and 32.
the terminal block at least partly covers the flange portion of the bobbin.
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above and FIG. 5, terminal block 4 with terminals 20 covers the end of bobbin 5.
Regarding claim 2, Misaki discloses the device of claim 1 as evidenced above and further discloses:
2. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the bobbin comprises a first bobbin and a second bobbin; the first bobbin and the second bobbin are connected at a first abutting portion of the first cylindrical portion and a second abutting portion of the second cylindrical portion; and the first abutting portion is disposed at a location shifted along the first axis from a location of the second abutting portion.
See Misaki FIG. 2, reprinted below (Examiner notes Misaki has two FIG. 2s).
Misaki FIG. 2 (annotated by Examiner)
As identified in FIG. 2 of Misaki above, bobbin 5 has multiple abutting sections, two of which are laterally shifted from each other. Examiner also notes that the claim is written in open form, i.e., comprises.
Regarding claim 3, Misaki discloses the device of claim 1 as evidenced above and further discloses:
3. The coil device according to claim 2, wherein the core comprises a first core and a second core; the first core and the second core comprise respective opposing surfaces opposing each other along the first axis; and the opposing surfaces are disposed at a location shifted from the location of the first abutting portion and the location of the second abutting portion.
See Misaki FIG. 2 above as annotated by Examiners which as identified has core opening surfaces shifted from the abutting surfaces.
Regarding claim 4, Misaki discloses the device of claim 1 as evidenced above and further discloses:
4. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the core comprises a first wound portion accommodated in the first cylindrical portion, a second wound portion accommodated in the second cylindrical portion, and
See claim interpretation of “wound” core portions above. Thus, see Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, core wound portions 31 provided within the bobbin 5.
a connecting portion connecting the first wound portion and the second wound portion; the connecting portion comprises an inner end surface connected to respective proximal ends of the first wound portion and the second wound portion, an outer end surface opposite the inner end surface along the first axis, and a side surface connecting the inner end surface and the outer end surface;
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, connecting core portions 32.
the flange portion comprises a flange inner end wall covering the inner end surface and a flange side wall covering the side surface; and
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, note flange portion 52 has recess 525 for receiving the core connecting portion 52 and covers the inner end wall and covers at least partially the side surface.
the terminal block comprises a terminal block outer end wall covering the outer end surface and a terminal block side wall covering the flange side wall.
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2, note terminal block 4 which covers the outer sides of the flange 52 and the core connecting portion 32.
Regarding claim 5, Misaki discloses the device of claim 4 as evidenced above and further discloses:
5. The coil device according to claim 4, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal each comprise a terminal main piece anchored to the terminal block outer end wall and a base piece disposed over a top surface of the terminal block side wall; and the base piece is disposed with a predetermined space from the top surface.
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above, terminals 20 extending along the top surface of the terminal block 4.
Regarding claim 6, Misaki discloses the device of claim 4 as evidenced above and further discloses:
6. The coil device according to claim 4, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal each comprise a mounting piece disposed with a predetermined space from a bottom surface of the terminal block side wall.
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2 above and FIG. 7, mounting piece/terminal end 21.
Regarding claim 8, Misaki discloses the device of claim 1 as evidenced above and further discloses:
8. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal block comprises a terminal block uneven portion between the first terminal and the second terminal so that the terminal block uneven portion enhances a creepage distance between the first terminal and the second terminal.
See Misaki FIGS. 1 and 2, partition wall 62.
Regarding claim 11, Misaki discloses the device of claim 1 as evidenced above and further discloses:
11. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal block is made from a thermosetting resin; and the bobbin is made from a thermoplastic resin.
See Misaki ¶¶0052 and 0061.
IV.B. Anticipation Rejections Applying Nomura
Claims 1, 8, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0222100 to Yosushi Nomura et al., published on August 29, 2013 (hereinafter “Nomura”).
Regarding claim 1, Nomura discloses:
1. A coil device comprising:
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4, reprinted below:
Nomura FIG. 2 Nomura FIG. 4
a first wire connected to a first terminal and a second wire connected to a second terminal;
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, first and second terminals 82.
a terminal block anchoring the first terminal and the second terminal;
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, terminal block 4 which anchors the terminals in association with fixing member cover 9.
a bobbin including a first cylindrical portion wound around with the first wire and extending along a first axis, a second cylindrical portion wound around with the second wire and extending along the first axis, and
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above and FIG. 7, bobbin 5 comprising cylindrical portions 51, each of which covers the central core portions 31.
a flange portion connecting the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion; and
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above and FIG. 7, bobbin 5 comprising structure/flange portions 52 which connect the cylindrical portions 51.
a core accommodated in the bobbin, wherein
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, core comprising items 31 and 32.
the terminal block at least partly covers the flange portion of the bobbin.
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, note terminal block 4 with fixing member/cover 9, which surrounds and covers the bobbin members 51 and 52.
Regarding claim 8, Nomura discloses the device of claim 1 as evidence above and further discloses:
8. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal block comprises a terminal block uneven portion between the first terminal and the second terminal so that the terminal block uneven portion enhances a creepage distance between the first terminal and the second terminal.
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, note uneven portion of terminal block 41 at terminals comprising slots shown at 410 which prevent creepage of the terminals 82.
Regarding claim 9, Nomura discloses the device of claim 1 as evidence above and further discloses:
9. The coil device according to claim 1 further comprising a cover attached to the terminal block so as to cover the first wire and the second wire from above.
See Nomura FIGS. 2 and 4 above, FIG. 1 and ¶0044 wherein the case/terminal block 4 is filled with a sealing resin, which would read as a cover, which would be attached to the terminal block 4 and would cover the first and second wires forming the coils.
Regarding claim 11, Nomura discloses the device of claim 1 as evidence above and further discloses:
11. The coil device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal block is made from a thermosetting resin; and the bobbin is made from a thermoplastic resin.
See Nomura ¶¶0061, 0084-0086 and 0137.
V. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. §103
V.A. Obviousness Rejections Applying Misaki and Yoshikawa
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaki as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338032 to Kouhei Yoshikawa et al., published on November 23, 2017 (hereinafter Yoshikawa”).
Regarding claim 7, Misaki teaches the features of claim 4 as evidenced above. However, Misaki does not teach a partition portion. Nevertheless, Yoshikawa teaches a bobbin including a first cylindrical portion wound around with the first wire and extending along a first axis, a second cylindrical portion wound around with the second wire and extending along the first axis and a flange portion connecting the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion. See Yoshikawa FIG. 4, reprinted below, illustrating a bobbin 4 comprising first and second cylindrical portions 42A and 42B and flange
Yoshikawa FIG. 4
flange portions 41A and 41B. Furthermore, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the flange inner end wall comprises a flange partition portion between the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion so that the flange partition portion enhances a creepage distance between the first wire and the second wire. See Yoshikawa FIG., 4 above, partitions 41d on each of flange portions 41A and 41B. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the partition portions as taught by Yoshikawa for the flange portions of the bobbin of Misaki. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so because such partition portion “keeps both of the wound portions 2A and 2B separate from each other.” See Yoshikawa ¶0051.
V.B. Obviousness Rejections Applying Nomura and Yoshikawa
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yoshikawa.
Regarding claim 10, Nomura teaches the features of claim 9 as evidenced above. However, Nomura does not teach a partition portion. Nevertheless, Yoshikawa teaches a bobbin including a first cylindrical portion wound around with the first wire and extending along a first axis, a second cylindrical portion wound around with the second wire and extending along the first axis and a flange portion connecting the first cylindrical portion and the second cylindrical portion. See Yoshikawa FIG. 4, reprinted below, illustrating a bobbin 4 comprising first and second cylindrical portions 42A
Yoshikawa FIG. 4
and 42B and flange portions 41A and 41B. Furthermore, Yoshikawa teaches wherein the flange portion comprises a flange inner end wall covering the inner end surface; the flange inner end wall comprises a flange partition portion between the first wire and the second wire. See Yoshikawa FIG., 4 above, partitions 41d on each of flange portions 41A and 41B. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the partition portions as taught by Yoshikawa for the flange portions of the bobbin of Nomura. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so because such partition portion “keeps both of the wound portions 2A and 2B separate from each other.” See Yoshikawa ¶0051.
Furthermore, as a result of this combination, the cover comprises a cover partition portion fitted to the flange partition portion to isolate a coil portion of the first wire from a coil portion of the second wire. Note as discussed above, Nomura at ¶0008 and ¶0044 discloses the case/terminal block 4 is filled with a sealing resin, which would read as a cover, which would be attached to the terminal block 4 and would cover the first and second wires forming the coils and would further fill the space down to the partition portions in view of the modification with Yoshikawa which would further isolate the coil portion wires.
VI. INFORMATION MATERIAL TO PATENTABILITY
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 C.F.R. §1.56 to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
VII. CONCLUSION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
The prior art made of record which is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure is listed on the document titled ‘Notice of Reference Cited’ (“PTO-892”). Unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiners, all documents listed on the PTO-892 are cited in their entirety.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer, SPE Art Unit 3992, can be reached at (571) 272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-9900.
/KENNETH WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992