DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “battery cells of which positive electrodes and negative electrodes which are formed at one end portions thereof are alternatively stacked” is unclear if the individual electrodes are stacked, the battery cells are stacked or both are stacked. For purposes of examination the examiner is interpreting “battery cells of which positive electrodes and negative electrodes which are formed at one end portions thereof are alternatively stacked” to mean that either the electrodes are stacked or the battery cells are stacked.
Claim 2 recites “front ends of a pair of battery cells disposed on one side end of the battery module have positive electrodes… a rear end of the battery cell disposed on the other side end has a negative electrode” is unclear as to whether multiple positive electrodes are required at one end and only one negative electrode at another end. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting the claim language to mean any structure with a positive electrode at the front end and a negative electrode at the rear end.
Claim 3 recites “the end plates are formed to be thick” is unclear as what thickness “thick” is referring to. The examiner further notes that “formed to be thick” is relative terminology. For purposes of examination the examiner is interpreting “formed to be thick” to mean any end plate with a thickness. Claim 3 further recites “the battery module are removed from the battery cells” is unclear how the battery module is a battery module with cells removed. For purposes of examination the examiner is interpreting this claim language to include any structure where the cells can be removed.
Claim 4 recites “an inner plate… disposed between the battery cells and the end plates” is unclear because the claim language is claiming a singular inner plate but requires being placed between the battery cells and end plates which is more than one location. For purposes of interpretation the examiner is interpreting Claim 4 to mean any structure where one inner plate is disposed between one battery cell and one end plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US20210104804) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on October 9th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a battery module ([005]) comprising:
Battery cells of which positive and negative electrodes which are formed at one end portions thereof are alternately stacked in a stacking direction (see 112 rejection above for interpretation, battery cells includes first electrode sheet and second electrode sheet, [0018]);
A pair of end plates coupled to both side ends of the stacked battery cells (end plates on either side of the battery cell arrangement structure, [0094]); and
Module busbars electrically connected to the lead tabs provided on the battery cells (bus bars-3, [007]),
Wherein, among the battery cells, front ends and rear ends of the battery cells disposed at both side ends of the battery module have the same electrode, respectively (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. See Claim 112 rejection above for interpretation. Chen further discloses wherein among the battery cells:
Front ends of a pair of battery cells disposed on one side end of the battery module have positive electrodes (first output electrode is positive electrode, [0090], Fig. 3); and
A rear end of the battery cell disposed on the other side end has a negative electrode (second output electrode is negative electrode, [0090], Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. See 112 rejection above for interpretation. Chen further discloses wherein a pair of battery cells disposed at an outer side of the battery module are removed from among the battery cells (the examiner notes that Claim 3 is dependent on Claim 1 which is directed toward a battery module product claim, and therefore “wherein a pair of battery cells disposed at on outer side of the battery module are removed” is a process by process claim, Chen discloses wherein the first out electrode and second output electrode are easily removable, [0085], therefore Chen discloses this limitation);
Chen further discloses wherein the front ends and the rear ends of the battery cells disposed at both ends of the battery module have the same electrode, respectively (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1); and
The end plates are formed to be thick (see 112(a) rejection above for interpretation, very thick end plate, [0094]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses a battery module ([005]) comprising:
Battery cells of which positive and negative electrodes which are formed at one end portions thereof are alternately stacked in a stacking direction (battery cells includes first electrode sheet and second electrode sheet, [0018]);
A pair of end plates coupled to both side ends of the stacked battery cells (end plates on either side of the battery cell arrangement structure, [0094]); and
Module busbars electrically connected to the lead tabs provided on the battery cells (bus bars-3, [007]),
Wherein, among the battery cells, front ends and rear ends of the battery cells disposed at both side ends of the battery module have the same electrode, respectively (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1),
An inner plate for electrical connection with module busbars is disposed between the battery cells and the end plates (see 112 rejection above for interpretation, fixing plate acts as inner plate, [0025], [0074]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the inner plate includes: insulating plates (fixing plate has insulating portion, [0025], [0079]); and a conductor which is disposed between the insulating plates and of which an upper end portion is in contact with the module busbars and a lower end portion is in contact with a pack busbar for electrical connection between battery packs (fixing plate-4 is conductive material, insulating layer is provided on surface of sixing plate, [0079]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein a protruding portion for preventing short circuit is formed to protrude from one surface of the insulating plate facing the battery cell (portion of insulating plate is located between first out electrode and second output electrode to prevent short-circuits, [0025], protrusion-41, [0096]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses the limitation as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein an extending portion which extend downward further than a lower end of the insulating plate to be exposed and is in contact with the pack busbar is formed on the conductor (protrusion-41, Fig. 10, [0096]); and
The extending portion is in contact with a gap filler disposed under the battery cell ([0096], Fig. 4/6).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a battery pack ([0022]) comprising:
A plurality of first battery modules which are stacked and coupled ([0073], Fig. 1); and
A battery module stacked on and couple to one side end of the first battery module, ([0073]), the battery module including:
Battery cells of which positive electrodes and negative electrodes which are formed at one end portions thereof are alternately stacked in a stacking direction (battery cells includes first electrode sheet and second electrode sheet, [0018]);
A pair of end plates coupled to both side ends of the stacked battery cells (end plates on either side of the battery cell arrangement structure, [0094]); and
Module busbars electrically connected to the lead tabs provided on the battery cells (bus bars-3, [007]),
Wherein, among the battery cells, front ends and rear ends of the battery cells disposed at both side ends of the battery module have the same electrode, respectively, or front ends and rear ends o the battery cells is disposed at both side ends of the battery module have different electrodes, the battery module includes a second battery module or third battery module in which a positive electrode and a negative electrode are formed at a front end and rear end thereof (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the second battery module and the third battery module are alternately disposed on both side ends of the first battery module in a front-rear direction (Fig. 1, [0073]), and
The second battery module and the third battery module are electrically connected by a pack busbar (plurality of bus bars-3, [0074]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein in the second battery module, a positive electrode is formed at a front left end, and a negative electrode is formed at a rear right end (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1, [0073]); and in the third battery module, a positive electrode is formed at a front right end, and a negative electrode is formed at a rear left end (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein among the battery cells: front ends of a pair of battery cells disposed on one side end of the battery module have positive electrodes; and a rear end of a battery cell disposed on the other side end has a negative electrode ([0073-0074]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein a pair of battery cells disposed at an outer side of the battery module are removed from among the battery cells (the examiner notes that Claim 3 is dependent on Claim 1 which is directed toward a battery module product claim, and therefore “wherein a pair of battery cells disposed at on outer side of the battery module are removed” is a process by process claim, Chen discloses wherein the first out electrode and second output electrode are easily removable, [0085], therefore Chen discloses this limitation);
The front ends and the rear ends of the battery cells disposed at both side ends of the battery module have the same electrode, respectively (first output electrode-5 and second output electrode-6 are arranged at the same end of the battery module are arranged at the same end of the battery module, [0072], Fig. 1); and
The end plates are formed to be thick (see 112(a) rejection above for interpretation, very thick end plate, [0094]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the battery further includes an inner plate for electrical connection with module busbars is disposed between the battery cell and the end plates (fixing plate acts as inner plate, [0025], [0074]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the inner plate includes: insulating plates (fixing plate has insulating portion, [0025], [0079]); and a conductor which is disposed between the insulating plates and of which an upper end portion is in contact with the module busbars and a lower end portion is in contact with a pack busbar for electrical connection between battery packs (fixing plate-4 is conductive material, insulating layer is provided on surface of sixing plate, [0079]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein a protruding portion for preventing short circuit is formed to protrude from one surface of the insulating plate facing the battery cell (portion of insulating plate is located between first out electrode and second output electrode to prevent short-circuits, [0025], protrusion-41, [0096]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen discloses the limitation as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein an extending portion which extend downward further than a lower end of the insulating plate to be exposed and is in contact with the pack busbar is formed on the conductor (protrusion-41, Fig. 10, [0096]); and
The extending portion is in contact with a gap filler disposed under the battery cell ([0096], Fig. 4/6).
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728