DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, of which, claims 3-12 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 35 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 04-15-2026.
Claim Objections
Claim objections presented during the Non-Final Office Action are withdrawn, in light of the amendment filed by Applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn, in light of the amendment set forth by Applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0223808 (hereinafter, “Barna”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0092520 (hereinafter, “Robinson”)
As per claim(s) 1, 13, 14, 151, Barma discloses a measurement device comprising:
a network unit for remotely activating and deactivating the measurement device, and (wireless control system 10 allows users via network 28 to control devices 26 (i.e., dimmer switch that includes communication modules ¶ [0056]) in the on or off position: Fig’s 1-2, ¶ [0060] )
a remote control interface for controlling at least one of the functions, settings of the measurement device, or a combination thereof, remotely after the measurement device has been activated through the network unit, (¶ [0062] discloses how a use may control power/dimmer settings for one or more control devices. For further detail, see Fig’s 10, 12-21)
Barna does not distinctly disclose wherein the wake-on network unit is configured to operate at an ultra-low power state when the measurement device is deactivated.
However, Robinson explicitly discloses wherein the wake-on network unit is configured to operate at an ultra-low power state when the measurement device is deactivated. ( ¶ [0021] discloses the process of waking a smart watch in response to certain functions. Furthermore, ¶ [0019] further discloses the process where “While in the sleep mode, the watch can power down a majority of the sensors” ) .
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Barna and Robinson because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Robinson’s teaching of powering sensor during a power saving mode would enhance Barma's system by allowing the system to conserve even more energy, thus improving power management for the system.
As per claims 2, 16, a measurement device wherein the wake-on network unit comprises or is a wake-on local area network unit. (Barna: ¶ [0037] )
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04-15-2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per independent claim(s) 13-15, these claims are substantially equivalent to measurement device claim 1, because the additional feature(s) are present on any off the shelf general-purpose computer. Therefore, for at least this reason, claims 13-15 also stand rejected. Indeed, at least Fig’s 1-5 of the cited prior arts illustrates the feature of processor and memory for storing instructions.