DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species shown in Figures 4-5, the species shown in Figure 22, the species in which the propellant heats as it flows inwardly, the species in which the coating is at least one of tungsten tantalum, zirconium carbide, niobium carbide, and hafnium, and the species in which the central flow channel is open, in the reply filed on 9/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the Double Patenting rejections set forth in this Office action. Please note that, if amendments made to overcome these rejections make the claim more broad or permit different interpretation(s), then an updated search may be performed that produces applicable prior art, and the claim may no longer be allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claim 1 is allowable over the prior art for the same reasons that the same features were determined allowable in parent case 17/472,148 on page 2 of the 08/29/2023 Non-Final Rejection.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities: please update the claims to provide proper indentation, e.g., in claim 1, each feature that is a sub-component of a previous feature should be additionally indented. For example, “a housing” should be indented under “wherein each subcore comprises.” Additionally, in claim 1, the spacing is improper following the term “between”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 15 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 26 be found allowable, claim 28 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each said fuel plate" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein propellant flows". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No propellant has yet been introduced. It is unclear if the recited propellant is a new feature or an already previously recited feature by another name.
Claim 7 recites “or other methods.” Therefore, the claim recites methods. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
In claim 8, it is unclear what the subject of “without utilizing a working fluid” is. Which feature or component is not utilizing a working fluid?
Claim 11 recites “where moderator, reflector, or gap thicknesses are varied in order to generate a specific neutron field outside of the plurality of subcores.” The varying is a method step. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II). Additionally, the moderator, reflector, and gap thicknesses have insufficient antecedent bases in the claims.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "each said fuel plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites “wherein moderator material or reflector material is placed between each of the plurality of subcores.” It is unclear if this means the material is placed between each single subcore, or if the material is placed between each plurality of subcores, i.e., the material separates multiple sets of subcores.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein moderator material or reflector material". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein propellant flows". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No propellant has yet been introduced. It is unclear if the recited propellant is a new feature or an already previously recited feature by another name.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 18 recites “or other methods.” Therefore, the claim recites methods. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
In claim 19, it is unclear what the subject of “without utilizing a working fluid” is. Which feature or component is not utilizing a working fluid?
Claim 22 recites “where moderator, reflector, or gap thicknesses are varied in order to generate a specific neutron field outside of the plurality of subcores.” The varying is a method step. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II). Additionally, the moderator, reflector, and gap thicknesses have insufficient antecedent bases in the claims.
The final limitation of claim 23 is not properly linked with the rest of the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "each said fuel plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "wherein propellant flows". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No propellant has yet been introduced. It is unclear if the recited propellant is a new feature or an already previously recited feature by another name.
Claim 29 recites “or other methods.” Therefore, the claim recites methods. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claim 24 recites the limitation "wherein propellant flows". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No propellant has yet been introduced. It is unclear if the recited propellant is a new feature or an already previously recited feature by another name.
In claim 30, it is unclear what the subject of “without utilizing a working fluid” is. Which feature or component is not utilizing a working fluid?
Claim 33 recites “where moderator, reflector, or gap thicknesses are varied in order to generate a specific neutron field outside of the plurality of subcores.” The varying is a method step. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II). Additionally, the moderator, reflector, and gap thicknesses have insufficient antecedent bases in the claims.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,923,098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 1 only differs from the patented claim 1 in that it recites that the core produces thermal power through fission (which is implicit considering the invention is a nuclear fission reactor) and in that it lacks the limitation “wherein additional moderator material is placed between the subcores,” which makes the instant claim broader than the patented claim. Therefore, the instant claim 1 could be anticipated by the subject matter found in patented claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,923,098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 12 is broader than the patented claim. Therefore, the instant claim 12 could be anticipated by the subject matter found in patented claim 1.
Claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,923,098 in view of Malloy (US 5,089,219). Claim 23 could be rejected under USC 103 over of the subject matter found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,923,098, needing Malloy only to teach the listed materials in the final clause: (“graphitized carbon,” col. 3, l. 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 12, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malloy (US 5,089,219) in view of Hocker (US 3,189,524).
Regarding claim 12, Malloy discloses a reactor core (Fig. 2) comprising: a plurality of subcores (10, individually shown in Fig. 1) that are spaced apart, wherein each subcore comprises: a housing (14); a plurality of stacked sections contained within the housing, each section comprising: a plurality of fuel plates (disks 12); wherein each said fuel plate (12, Fig. 3) comprises: a center flow channel (18); a fuel region (“a matrix material such as carbon to bind nuclear fuel particles into a disk,” col. 2, ll. 35-36) having a plurality of flow channels (grooves 20) carved into at least one of a top surface and a bottom surface of the cermet fuel region; and a coating (“coated fuel particles,” col. 3, l. 43) that covers the fuel region for containing any byproducts; and wherein moderator material (38, Fig. 2) or reflector material is placed between each of the plurality of subcores.
Malloy teaches the fuel region as cited above but does not explicitly state that the fuel region is cermet.
Hocker does teach these features. Hocker is also in the art area of fuel elements for nuclear reactors and teaches a fuel element formed from a plurality of fuel plates wherein the fuel can be a cermet fuel (“Suitable as nuclear fuels…cermets,” col. 2, ll. 47-51). A purpose for the use of a cermet-type fuel is, as explained by Hocker (col. 2, ll. 47-56), these types of fuels “will remain in its solid state even at a temperature of 2450 degrees C; and, in particular, the desirable physical properties of the graphite are preserved.”
The combination of the cermet-type fuel of Hocker with the fuel plates of Malloy would have produced a core with a plurality of annular stacked cermet fuel plates, i.e., Applicant's claimed invention.
This combination would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as it produces no unexpected results. In view of the prior art teachings of Malloy, a person of ordinary skill would have predicted that combining Hocker’s material choices with Malloy would have produced Applicant's claimed invention of a subcore comprising stacked sections of cermet fuel plates and a moderator plate surrounded by a sheath.
Regarding claim 15, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Malloy further discloses wherein a working fluid (“gas,” abstract) flows through the core and extracts heat from the core with the heat being used for electrical power generation (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 17, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Malloy further discloses wherein a working fluid (“gas,” abstract) extracts heat from the core with the heat being used for electrical power generation (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 18, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. The electrical power generation taught by modified Malloy is capable of being used in a power cycle such as an expanding gas cycle, a Brayton cycle, or other methods such as a Rankine cycle or thermoelectric generation.
Regarding claim 19, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. The electrical power generation taught by modified Malloy is capable of being used with a thermoelectric converter for electrical power generation without utilizing a working fluid.
Regarding claim 20, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. Malloy further discloses a working fluid is used to extract heat from the core and wherein the working fluid is used to provide heat (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 21, the above-described combination of Malloy and Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the fluid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the fluid material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered reactor fluids.
Regarding claim 22, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that the phrase “in order to generate…” is an intended use phrase as currently drafted. Malloy further discloses where moderator, reflector, or gap thicknesses are varied (e.g., in Fig. 2, numerous gaps around the elements 10 are shown, and some are larger than others) in order to generate a specific neutron field outside of the plurality of subcores (Malloy’s reactor is capable of fulfilling this intended use).
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malloy and Hocker, as combined above, further in view of Bingham (US 4,759,911).
Regarding claim 13, the above-described combination of Malloy with Hocker teaches all the elements of the parent claim but does not explicitly disclose the claimed propellant. Bingham does. Bingham is also is the art area of gas cooled nuclear reactors and teaches wherein propellant flows through the core to extract heat from the core and to provide thrust for rocket propulsion (“the heated gas may be directed through a nozzle for rocket propulsion applications,” col. 3, ll. 32-34). The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the gas of above-combined Malloy and Hocker for rocket propulsion as suggested by Bingham in order to power a rocket, as taught by Bingham in col. 3, ll. 32-34.
Regarding claim 14, the above-described combination of Malloy and Hocker with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim including the propellant, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the propellant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the propellant material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered rockets.
Regarding claim 16, the above-described combination of Malloy and Hocker with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim including the propellant, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the propellant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the propellant material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered rockets.
Claims 23–33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malloy (US 5,089,219) in view of Bingham (US 4,759,911).
Regarding claim 23, Malloy discloses a reactor core (Fig. 2) comprising: a plurality of subcores (10, individually shown in Fig. 1) that are spaced apart, wherein each subcore comprises: a housing (14); a plurality of stacked sections contained within the housing, each section comprising: a plurality of fuel plates (disks 12); wherein each said fuel plate (12, Fig. 3) comprises: a center flow channel (18); a matrix fuel region (“a matrix material such as carbon to bind nuclear fuel particles into a disk,” col. 2, ll. 35-36) having a plurality of flow channels (grooves 20) carved into at least one of a top surface and a bottom surface of the matrix fuel region; and a coating (“coated fuel particles,” col. 3, l. 43) that covers the fuel for containing any byproducts; and wherein the matrix fuel region comprises one or more of the following: graphite, silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, boron nitride, or hafnium carbide (“graphitized carbon,” col. 3, l. 60);wherein moderator material (38, Fig. 2) or reflector material is placed between the subcores.
Malloy does not explicitly teach that the entire matrix fuel region is coated. In other words, Malloy does not explicitly state that both the fuel particles and the matrix are coated.
However, it was already known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to disperse fuel particles within a matrix and then coat the entire combined material, as evidenced by Bingham.
Bingham is in the same art area of stacked fuel elements for nuclear reactors (abstract) and teaches a coating that covers both the matrix material in which the fuel is dispersed as well as the fuel itself—Bingham teaches dispersing fuel particles within the surface of cylinders 12 or within a matrix foam, and then coating the entire thing after the fuel has been distributed in or on each cylinder: “Application of the nuclear fuel to cylinders 12 may be accomplished by…impregnating the cylinder base material with the desired fuel. An open pore foam material which can serve as the skeleton on which the fissile material may be deposited is reticulated vitreous carbon (RVC)…. Protective coatings such as carbon or zirconium carbide for the nuclear fuel may be accomplished by means known in the art such as vapor deposition coating after the fuel has been distributed on each of cylinders 12,” col. 2, ll. 53-68.
A purpose for this teaching is, as explained by Bingham (col. 2, ll. 64-68), that the coatings applied in this manner provide protection for each piece of the entire element. As understood by the ordinary skilled artisan, a coating of Bingham’s exemplary zirconium carbide will protect each layer of the fuel element from fission product corrosion, a widespread problem in nuclear reactors.
The combination of the coating of Bingham with the fuel plate of Malloy would have produced a fuel plate having a fuel region with a fuel embedded within a matrix material and a coating over the fuel region, i.e., Applicant's claimed invention.
This combination would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as it produces no unexpected results. In view of the prior art teachings of Malloy, a person of ordinary skill would have predicted that combining Bingham’s coating with Malloy's fuel plate would have produced Applicant's claimed invention of a coated fuel plate. The skilled person’s motivation for the combination would have been the expectation of, as explained by Bingham (col. 2, ll. 64-68), that the coatings applied in this manner provide protection for each piece of the entire element. As understood by the ordinary skilled artisan, a coating of Bingham’s exemplary zirconium carbide will protect each layer of the fuel element from fission product corrosion, a widespread problem in nuclear reactors.
Regarding claim 24, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Bingham additionally teaches wherein propellant flows through the core to extract heat from the core and to provide thrust for rocket propulsion (“the heated gas may be directed through a nozzle for rocket propulsion applications,” col. 3, ll. 32-34). The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the core with a propellant for rocket propulsion as suggested by Bingham in order to power a rocket, as taught by Bingham in col. 3, ll. 32-34.
Regarding claim 25, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Bingham additionally teaches the propellant, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the propellant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the propellant material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered rockets.
Regarding claim 26, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Malloy further discloses wherein a working fluid (“gas,” abstract) flows through the core and extracts heat from the core with the heat being used for electrical power generation (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 27, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim including the working fluid, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the fluid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the fluid material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered reactor fluids.
Regarding claim 28, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Bingham additionally teaches wherein a working fluid extracts heat from the core with the heat being used for electrical power generation (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 29, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. The electrical power generation taught by modified Malloy is capable of being used in a power cycle such as an expanding gas cycle, a Brayton cycle, or other methods such as a Rankine cycle or thermoelectric generation.
Regarding claim 30, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. Examiner notes that this is an intended use claim as currently drafted. The electrical power generation taught by modified Malloy is capable of being used with a thermoelectric converter for electrical power generation without utilizing a working fluid.
Regarding claim 31, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Bingham additionally teaches wherein a working fluid is used to extract heat from the core and wherein the working fluid is used to provide heat (“The coolant is then directed to a power conversion device that converts the heat into useful energy,” col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 32, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim, including the working fluid, as cited above, but does not suggest a particular material for the fluid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used hydrogen, ammonia, water, carbon dioxide, air, helium, or xenon for the fluid material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Examiner notes that the listed materials are typical for nuclear powered reactor fluids.
Regarding claim 33, the above-described combination of Malloy with Bingham teaches all the elements of the parent claim. Examiner notes that the phrase “in order to generate…” is an intended use phrase as currently drafted. Malloy further discloses where moderator, reflector, or gap thicknesses are varied (e.g., in Fig. 2, numerous gaps around the elements 10 are shown, and some are larger than others) in order to generate a specific neutron field outside of the plurality of subcores (Malloy’s reactor is capable of fulfilling this intended use).
Conclusion
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646