DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the closed loop delivery algorithm" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the time of the termination" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as "the time of the determination".
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the predetermined amount of time from the determination" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 is rejected at least because it depends from claim 13.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the closed loop delivery algorithm" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandro et al. (Mandro), US 2011/0040247 A1 in view of Kircher, JR. et al. (Kircher) US 2010/0292634 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Mandro discloses an ambulatory infusion pump system, comprising: a pump mechanism (pump assembly 100, P0086) configured to facilitate delivery of insulin to a user (P0080); a communications interface (companion, P0069) adapted to receive glucose levels from a continuous glucose monitor (receiver for receiving continuous glucose monitor signals from the at least one continuous glucose monitor sensor, P0069); at least one processor (microprocessors, P0087) functionally linked to the pump mechanism and the communications interface (P0104), the at least one processor configured to: calculate insulin doses with a delivery algorithm based on glucose levels received from the continuous glucose monitor (P0081); determine that the first target glucose range should be modified from the first target glucose range to a second target glucose range (2 hours post food bolus, P0264); determine an amount of time elapsed since a most recent bolus delivery of insulin has been delivered by the pump mechanism (2 hours post food bolus, P0264); and alter the first target glucose range based on the amount of time since the most recent bolus delivery of insulin (target ranges for glucose altered based on 2 hours post food bolus target, P0264).
Mandro does not explicitly teach the delivery algorithm configured to calculate the insulin doses to maintain a user's glucose levels within a first target glucose range.
However, Kircher teaches a system and method for controlling the dispensing of insulin wherein the delivery algorithm configured to calculate the insulin doses to maintain a user's glucose levels within a first target glucose range (fasting range, P0015 and P0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the delivery algorithm of Mandro to to calculate the insulin doses to maintain a user's glucose levels within a first target glucose range for the purpose of achieving the glucose ranges of Mandro.
Regarding claim 12, Mandro in view of Kircher teaches the ambulatory infusion pump system of claim 11, wherein if the amount of time since the most recent bolus delivery of insulin is greater than a predetermined amount of time (Mandro, 2 hours post food bolus, P0264) from the determination to modify the first target glucose range, the processor is configured to alter the first target glucose range to the second target glucose range at the time of the termination to modify the first target glucose range (Mandro, target ranges for glucose altered based on 2 hours post food bolus, P0264).
Regarding claim 15, Mandro in view of Kircher teaches the ambulatory infusion pump system of claim 11, where the at least one processor is configured to determine the most recent bolus delivery of insulin based only on meal boluses manually programmed by a user (Mandro, P0225).
Regarding claim 19, Mandro in view of Kircher teaches the ambulatory infusion pump system of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically determine that the first target glucose range should be modified from the first target glucose range to the second glucose target range (Mandro, target ranges for glucose altered based on 2 hours post food bolus, P0264).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,284 B2 (see table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the features of application claims can be found in the patent claims. The difference between claim 1 of the application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent includes more features and is therefore more specific regarding the configuration of the processor. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claim 1 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of application patent. Similar rationale applies to the remainder of the listed claims.
Claim
Patent
Citation
1
1
2
1
C 12 ln 42-47
3
1
C 12 ln 48-54
4
2
5
3
6
4
7
5
8
6
9
7
10
9
11
11
12
11
C 14 ln 4-8
13
12
14
13
15
14
16
15
17
16
18
17
19
18
20
19
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are potentially allowed, subject to the §112(b) and double patenting rejections above.
Claims 13-14, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be potentially allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, subject to the §112(b) and double patenting rejections above.
Reasons for Potential Allowance
The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for potential allowance: the claims in this application are potentially allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singularly or in combination the claimed ambulatory infusion pump system.
The closest prior art is Mandro et al. (Mandro), US 2011/0040247 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mandro fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious an ambulatory infusion pump system as claimed, which includes varying a transition from a first target glucose range to the second glucose range based on the amount of time since the most recent bolus delivery of insulin, in combination with the total structure and function of the ambulatory infusion pump system as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Mandro fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious an ambulatory infusion pump system as claimed, which includes wherein the second target glucose range has a lower low glucose threshold and a lower high glucose threshold than the first glucose target range, in combination with the total structure and function of the ambulatory infusion pump system as claimed.
Conclusion
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783