DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 8-12, 14-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 8, and 15 each recite the limitation “a threaded cylindrical shaft” followed by “the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread”. This combination of limitations is indefinite as it is unclear how the shaft can still be a cylinder if it also has a thread as part of it (e.g. as opposed to being on the shaft, or as opposed to the shaft being substantially cylindrical). Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposed Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “a threaded substantially cylindrical shaft”.
Additionally Examiner notes that other interpretations may necessitate a 112(a) rejection and drawing objection, and/or 112(b) rejections of dependent claims that add additional non-cylindrical shapes (e.g. the discontinuities, etc.).
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16-19, and 21 are indefinite at least by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 15-19, and 21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brietich et al. (US 2003/0082026).
With regard to claim 1, Brietich discloses a screw (10, as seen in Figs. 1, etc.) comprising: a head (16); and a threaded cylindrical shaft (12) mechanically coupled to the head (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Fig. 1 at 14), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (20) configured to: sufficiently deform when a linear mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (i.e. as it is disclosed as a material that is flexible (see para. [0030], etc.) it is capable of such/has a configuration for such); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as any threads are when used with an appropriately sized threaded insert); wherein a portion of the helical thread furthest from the head joins a bottom surface of the threaded cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 at 32, which is considered a bottom surface of the threaded substantially cylindrical shaft (as interpreted in light of the 112(b) rejection above)).
With regard to claim 2, Brietich discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs. 1 as the tapered portion above the thread is not threaded).
With regard to claim 3, Brietich discloses that a non-threaded portion of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 1, it can clearly be used with such a threaded insert).
With regard to claim 4, Brietich discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity in the helical thread (36).
With regard to claim 5, Brietich discloses that a bottom surface of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft tapers from an edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 as it tapered from the underside edge of the screw head to the substantially cylindrical shaft).
With regard to claim 7, Brietich discloses that a top surface of the head comprises at least one feature (44) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 5 it has a Phillips head drive recess which is capable of the claimed intended use).
With regard to claim 15, Brietich discloses a method (as described in the abstract, seen in Fig. 1, etc. it discloses a method or using/providing) comprising: mechanically coupling a head (16) of a screw (10, as seen in Figs. 1, etc.) to a threaded cylindrical shaft (12) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Fig. 1 at 14), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (20) configured to: sufficiently deform when a linear mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (i.e. as it is disclosed as a material that is flexible (see para. [0030], etc.) it is capable of such/has a configuration for such); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as any threads are when used with an appropriately sized threaded insert); wherein a portion of the helical thread furthest from the head joins a bottom surface of the threaded cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 at 32, which is considered a bottom surface of the threaded substantially cylindrical shaft (as interpreted in light of the 112(b) rejection above)).
With regard to claim 16, Brietich discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs. 1 as the tapered portion above the thread is not threaded).
With regard to claim 17, Brietich discloses that a non-threaded portion of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 1, it can clearly be used with such a threaded insert).
With regard to claim 18, Brietich discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity in the helical thread (36).
With regard to claim 19, Brietich discloses that a bottom surface of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft tapers from an edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 as it tapered from the underside edge of the screw head to the substantially cylindrical shaft).
With regard to claim 21, Brietich discloses that a top surface of the head comprises at least one feature (44) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 5 it has a Phillips head drive recess which is capable of the claimed intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchanan et al. (US 4,900,210) alone.
With regard to claim 8, Brietich discloses a screw (10, as seen in Figs. 1, etc.) comprising: a head (16); and a threaded cylindrical shaft (12) mechanically coupled to the head (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.) such that an axis of the threaded cylindrical shaft extends from the head (as seen in Fig. 1 at 14), wherein the threaded cylindrical shaft comprises a helical thread (20) configured to: sufficiently deform when a linear mechanical force drives the screw into a threaded insert due to mechanical interaction of the helical thread with a thread of the threaded insert (i.e. as it is disclosed as a material that is flexible (see para. [0030], etc.) it is capable of such/has a configuration for such); and sufficiently engage with the thread of the threaded insert (as any threads are when used with an appropriately sized threaded insert); wherein a portion of the helical thread furthest from the head joins a bottom surface of the threaded cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 at 32, which is considered a bottom surface of the threaded substantially cylindrical shaft (as interpreted in light of the 112(b) rejection above)).
Brietich is silent as to what device the screw is used in and thus fails to disclose an information handling system comprising: an information handling resource; a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource; and the screw mechanically coupling the information handling resource to the carrier.
However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used the screw of Brietich in an information handling system to mechanically couple an information handling resource to a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with information handling system to mechanically couple an information handling resource to a carrier configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource and a screw mechanically coupling the information handling resource to the carrier (e.g. any of the plethora of well-known hdds, ssds, io drives, etc. that screwed to a carrier).
As applicant has not traversed examiner’s assertion of official notice, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement relied upon in examiner’s assertion of official notice is hereby taken to be admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP 2144.03.
With regard to claim 9, the combination (Brietich) discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft is partially threaded (as seen in Figs. 1 as the tapered portion above the thread is not threaded).
With regard to claim 10, the combination (Brietich) discloses that a non-threaded portion of the partially threaded cylindrical shaft is configured to fit securely within the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 1, it can clearly be used with such a threaded insert).
With regard to claim 11, the combination (Brietich) discloses that the threaded cylindrical shaft further comprises at least one discontinuity in the helical thread (36).
With regard to claim 12, the combination (Brietich) discloses that a bottom surface of the screw head adjacent to the cylindrical shaft tapers from an edge of the screw head to the cylindrical shaft (as seen in Fig. 1 as it tapered from the underside edge of the screw head to the substantially cylindrical shaft).
With regard to claim 14, the combination (Brietich) discloses that a top surface of the head comprises at least one feature (44) for facilitating engagement of a tool head to facilitate removal of the screw from the threaded insert (as seen in Fig. 5 it has a Phillips head drive recess which is capable of the claimed intended use).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Recommendations
In the interest of advancing prosecution, Examiner recommends claiming that the thread has a cross-section with two parallel sides inclined radially outward from the shaft towards the head, and that the threaded substantially cylindrical shaft comprises a conical surface at an end opposite the head that ends at a flat bottom surface of the shaft, and that it is the flat bottom surface that the helical thread joins.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675